翻譯: English 简体中文

信中的喜樂平安

“但愿使人有盼望的神,因信將諸般的喜樂平安充滿你們的心,使你們借著聖靈的能力大有盼望。”【羅馬書 15:13】

我們信福音的人就已經被賜予永恆的生命。從被定罪的命運堿@救出來這件事已經完成了,而且那不是基于我們的表現,完全是因為我們信基督和基督的保証。耶穌保証說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,那聽我話,又信差我來者的,就有永生,不至于定罪,是已經出死入生了。”【約翰福音 5:24】其結果就是我們因那為我們牢固建立的命運而喜樂,因為我們相信神樂意并且能夠做到他所保証的。所以,“也要堅守我們所承認的指望,不至搖動,因為那應許我們的是信實的。”【希伯來書 10:23】“他也必堅固你們到底,叫你們在我們主耶穌基督的日子無可責備。神是信實的,你們原是被他所召,好與他兒子,我們的主耶穌基督,一同得分。” 【哥林多前書 1:8-9】懷疑神的應許就是懷疑神。信基督就應該去掉懷疑。故此信中的喜樂平安是使人得救的信的固有性質。

“我們既因信稱義,就借著我們的主耶穌基督得與神相和。我們又借著他,因信得進入現在所站的這恩典中,并且歡歡喜喜盼望神的榮耀。”【羅馬書 5:1-2】

從使人得救的信的這些性質可以看出誰已經蒙揀選到永生。對于神的應許,亞伯拉罕“并且仰望神的應許,總沒有因不信心堸_疑惑,反倒因信心堭o堅固,將榮耀歸給神。且滿心相信神所應許的必能作成。”【羅馬書 4:20-21】同樣,保羅對帖撒羅尼迦教會說:“被神所愛的弟兄啊,我知道你們是蒙揀選的﹔”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:4】之後他接著說他是如何知道的。其中一個証據就是:“并且你們在大難之中,蒙了聖靈所賜的喜樂,領受真道,就效法我們,也效法了主。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:6】他還說:“因盼望我們主耶穌基督所存的忍耐。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 1:3b】

這樣的盼望的一個指標就是沒有懼怕和焦慮。耶穌說:“我留下平安給你們,我將我的平安賜給你們。我所賜的,不像世人所賜的。你們心堣ㄜn憂愁,也不要膽怯。”【約翰福音 14:27】保羅說:“應當一無挂慮,只要凡事借著禱告,祈求和感謝,將你們所要的告訴神。神所賜,出人意外的平安,必在基督耶穌堳O守你們的心懷意念。”【腓立比書 4:6-7】那些為他們是否將得救而焦慮的人不但不信福音,也不服從福音。服從福音意味著信福音。否則,“平安的路,他們未曾知道。”【羅馬書 3:17】

有些人與帖撒羅尼迦的聖徒不同,“撒在石頭地上的,就是人聽了道,當下歡喜領受。只因心堥S有根,不過是暫時的。及至為道遭了患難,或是受了逼迫,立刻就跌倒了。”【馬太福音 13:20-21】從真正地信恩典的福音而來的喜樂經得住患難。

加拉太聖徒歡喜地領受了神的道,但受到奉割禮的基督教教宗的挑戰,結果保羅注意到:“你們當日所夸的福氣在哪堜O?” 【加拉太書 4:15a】那個教宗是現代新奉割禮的教宗的先行者,比如天主教和其他靠做工得救的基督教教宗。關于奉割禮的,保羅說:“因為有偷著引進來的假弟兄,私下窺探我們在基督耶穌堛漲菪恁A要叫我們作奴仆。” 【加拉太書 2:4】就是沒有喜樂的靠做工得救的救贖論的奴仆。與之相反,“如今,那些在基督耶穌堛煽N不定罪了。因為賜生命聖靈的律,在基督耶穌媊孺韙F我,使我脫離罪和死的律了。”【羅馬書 8:1-2】靠做工得救的基督教教宗仍然是罪和死的律的奴仆,他們得救取決于完美無罪。

很多靠做工得救的教宗誤導別人,讓別人以為他們不信靠做工得救。在很多例子中,比如天主教,他們把得救分成兩種。第一種是“初始得救”或者他們也許會稱其為“稱義”,他們說這是單靠信,不靠做工。但對他們來說,那只是得救過程的開始,這個過程的積累是“最後得救”,而這個過程要靠做工。他們不相信如果一個最初靠信“得救”的人最終一定會得救。如果一個人最後落在地獄堙A那麼得救也不能稱之為得救。所以,如果人在信基督時得到的救贖不是最後的救贖,那就不是得救。

但關于天主教的最後得救。根據《天主教教理》,在最後得救這個主題之下:


特倫特大公會教導說基督徒必須遵守十誡,稱義的人仍然要守它們。第二次梵蒂岡大公會議肯定說:“主教,使徒的繼承者,從主得到……教導所有人的使命,把福音傳給每個文化,這樣所有人可通過信、受洗和遵守誡命得救。”
──譯自Cathechism of the Catholic Church 第2068條

事實上天主教所說的“誡”完全超過了十誡,他們添加了很多誡,比如,戴避孕套是下地獄的罪。這在十誡中是找不到的。同樣,其它非天主教的新奉割禮的宗派,比如五旬節運動也有他們自己的很多誡,他們必須遵守這些誡才能得救。這是另外一個不同的福音。是的,他們聲稱那是符合聖經的。但他們不得不曲解聖經才能得出他們的結論。

神的國不在乎遵從一些誡律。“因為神的國不在乎吃喝,只在乎公義、和平,并聖靈中的喜樂。” 【羅馬書 14:17】與此相反,我在與靠做工得救的基督徒的對話中發現他們不鼓勵平安和喜樂。對于我們因信得救的人對我們的得救狀態和歸宿的自信,他們頗有微詞。“你們雖然沒有見過他,卻是愛他﹔如今雖不得看見,卻因信他就有說不出來,滿有榮光的大喜樂,”【彼得前書 1:8】

“那能保守你們不失腳,叫你們無瑕無疵、歡歡喜喜站在他榮耀之前的我們的救主獨一的神,愿榮耀、威嚴、能力、權柄,因我們的主耶穌基督歸與他,從萬古以前,并現今,直到永永遠遠。阿們。”【猶大書 1:24-25】


2020年09月30日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Joy and Peace in Believing

Rom 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Those of us who believe the gospel are outright given eternal life right now. Salvation from condemnation has already been accomplished, and that not based upon our performance, but rather simply because we believe in Christ and Christ's promise. Jesus promised, "whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life." John 5:24 And consequently we rejoice the fate firmly established for us because we believe that God is willing and able to do what He promised. Therefore "Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful." Heb 10:23 and "He will keep you strong to the end, so that you will be blameless on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. God, who has called you into fellowship with his Son Jesus Christ our Lord, is faithful." 1Cor 1:8,9 Doubting the promise of God is doubting God. Faith in Christ should eliminate doubt. And as such joy and peace in believing are inherent qualities of saving faith.

"Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God." Rom 5:1,2

Such qualities of saving faith are indicative of those elect to eternal life. Regarding the promise of God Abraham "did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised." Rom 4:20,21 Likewise of the Thessalonians Paul says, "we know, brothers loved by God, that he has chosen you" 1Th 1:4 He then goes on to explain how he knows that. One such evidence is "in spite of severe suffering, you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit." 1Th 1:6 He also speaks of "your endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ." 1Th 1:3

An indication of such hope is freedom from fears and anxieties. Jesus said, "Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid." John 14:27 and Paul, "Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus." Php 4:6,7 Those who are anxious about whether or not they will be saved are those who not only don't believe the gospel, they don't obey it. Obedience to the gospel means to believe it. "The way of peace they do not know." Rom 3:17

Now there are those who, unlike the Thessalonians, are onee "who hear the word and at once receives it with joy. But since he has no root, he lasts only a short time. When trouble or persecution comes because of the word, he quickly falls away." Mt 13:20,21 The joy that comes from believing the gospel of grace endures in the midst of opposition.

The Galatians received the word with joy but were challenged with opposition from the Christian sect of the Circumcision and consequently Paul noticed, "What has happened to all your joy?" Gal 4:15 That sect was the forerunner of the Neo-Circumcision sects of today, like Catholicism and other salvation by works Christian sects. Paul says of the Circumcison, "This matter arose because some false brothers had infiltrated our ranks to spy on the freedom we have in Christ Jesus and to make us slaves." Gal 2:4 Slaves to a joyless salvation by works soteriology. In contrast "there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death." Rom 8:1,2. Salvation by works Christianity is enslaved to the law of sin and death, their salvation being contingent upon sin.

Many of the Salvation by Works Christians sects attempt to mislead people into thinking they don't believe in salvation by works. In many cases, like with Catholicism, they'll parse between two types of salvation. The first being "initial salvation" or they may refer to it as "justification" which they say is by faith alone apart from works, but for them that is just the start of the process of salvation culminating in "Final salvation" which involves works. They don't believe that if a person is initially "saved" by faith he will finally be saved. Salvation is not actually salvation if the person ends up in hell. So if salvation is not finalized upon coming to faith in Christ, it's not salvation.

But concerning Final Salvation, take Catholicism. According to the Catholic Catechism it says under the topic "Final Salvation"
http://www.vatican.va/archive/ccc_css/archive/catechism/p3s2.htm#2068
The Council of Trent teaches that the Ten Commandments are obligatory for Christians and that the justified man is still bound to keep them; the Second Vatican Council confirms: "The bishops, successors of the apostles, receive from the Lord . . . the mission of teaching all peoples, and of preaching the Gospel to every creature, so that all men may attain salvation through faith, Baptism and the observance of the Commandments.
In fact what the Catholics refer to as "Commandments" go beyond the 10 Commandments as they add a plethora of commandments like if you wear a condom you're guilty of a mortal sin. Can't find that in the 10 Commandments. Likewise other Neo-Circumcision non-Catholic sects, like the holiness Pentecostals will have their own plethora of commands they have to comply with in order to be saved. It's a different gospel. Yes, they'll claim it's scriptural. But they'll misread scripture to get at it.

The kingdom of God is not a matter of conforming to regulations. "For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit" Rom 14:17  In contrast in my dialogues with salvation by works Christians they discourage peace and joy. They're trouble by the fact that, unlike themselves, we of the faith are confident of our salvation status and our destiny. "Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy" 1Peter 1:8 

"To him who is able to keep you from falling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy— to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen." Jude 1:24,25

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2019