翻譯: English 中文 GB

芥菜種

馬太福音13:31,32馬可福音4:30-32

路加福音13:18,19 耶穌說:“神的國好像什么?我拿什么來比較呢?好像一粒芥菜種,有人拿去種在園子堙A長大成樹,天上的飛鳥,宿在它的枝上。”


問題討論

我們是否能夠根據一個運動的大小或受歡迎程度來判它是不是正確呢?
龐大的機構化的教會所面臨的危險是什么?
在這媥藆N表什么?
飛鳥與樹的本質相同嗎?
飛鳥代表什么?


注釋

1.大小

芥菜種在當地屬于最小的一種種子。耶穌所指的很可能是黑芥子,一種油料作物。這種植物生長高度可達五米,有很粗的主干,強壯的枝子可以承受得住鳥的重量。

耶穌在別的寓言堣]用芥菜種打比方。

路加福音17:6主說:“你們若有信心像一粒芥菜種,就是對這棵桑樹說:‘你要拔起根來栽在海堙A’它也必聽從你們。”
從這個寓言能夠得出的一點就是基督教會──基督的身體──從很小長大。也就是說在判斷一個運動的正確與否時不能太注重其大小。因為有的運動雖然很受歡迎,但卻是錯誤的。有些運動雖然很不受歡迎,但卻是正確的。還有,聖經的一個主題就是那些真正屬于神的人常常被描寫成“剩下的”。也就是說,他們只在那些從名義上稱為屬于神的人中占少數。甚至使徒保羅都用那種方式在羅馬書11:1-5奡y寫他自己。我們還注意到聖經常常聚焦到個人:挪亞,亞伯拉罕,摩西,大衛,等等。事實上,聖經堛漱j部分書都是以個人命名的。神應許他的人:
“至小的族要加增千倍,微弱的國必成為強盛。我耶和華要按定期速成這事。” 以賽亞書60:22

2.飛鳥

這是關于唯名主義──可見的教會是真正的和唯名的基督徒的混合──的又一寓言。

當一個運動擴大,受到歡迎,成為機構化以後,它不可避免地會吸引飛鳥來在它的枝子上筑巢。飛鳥不是樹的一部份,而是外來的。耶穌在撒種的寓言婸”鴙董鴃A用它們代表把落在路旁的道奪走的魔鬼。

飛鳥常常在高枝上筑巢,在可見的教會堨e據高位,但卻是外來的。有些則利用可見教會,修筑他們產卵的窩。在他與以弗所教會的長老的告別講演堙A保羅警告說:

“我知道我去之後,必有凶暴的豺狼進入你們中間,不愛惜羊群。” 使徒行傳20:29
這些飛鳥也可代表存在于基督徒中的錯誤想法。有些教會因人數而感到安全。其實那種安全是不存在的。受歡迎的想法往往是與聖經的真理相悖的。機構化的哲學給基督的身體帶來了很大的敗壞。但一般說來,任何受歡迎的,成為機構化的運動都是這樣。

結論

所以,讓我們不要因為基督教受到歡迎,或我們某個教會的規模增大而太舒服。因為當事情變大,受到歡迎時,就會受到飛鳥的侵害,受到他們敗壞的影響。


Rap

The kingdom is like a mustard seed
Small at first but it did succeed
To grow with branches far and wide
Onto which birds did abide

The visible church started quite small
But popular today with buildings quite tall
But beware of the birds that nest in its branches
who take advantage of the circumstances



Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
The Mustard Seed

Matt 13:31,32; Mk 4:30-32;

Lk 13:18,19 He said, "What is the Kingdom of God like? To what shall I compare it?  It is like a grain of mustard seed, which a man took, and put in his own garden. It grew, and became a large tree, and the birds of the sky lodged in its branches."  (web)


Discussion Questions

Should we validate movements by their size or popularity?
What kinds of dangers do large institutional churches face?
What is the tree?
Are the birds of the same nature as the tree?
What do the birds represent?


Comments

1. Size

A mustard seed is in the category of the smallest of all seeds in the area. Jesus was most likely referring to the black mustard, which was grown for its production of oil. They may grow up to fifteen feet and have a thick main stem with branches strong enough to bear the weight of a bird.

Jesus had elsewhere used the mustard seed in his parables for its small size.

Lu 17:6 He replied, "If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, 'Be uprooted and planted in the sea,' and it will obey you."
Therefore one inference one can make from this parable is that Christianity - the body of Christ - grew from a small size to large. The point being that one should not make too much of the size of a movement to validate it. For there are movements that are popular, but wrong. And there are movements which are unpopular which are correct. Also one of the themes of the Bible is that those who are truly God's people are often described as a "remnant". That is, they compose a minority of those who are nominally considered God's people. The apostle Paul even describes himself that way in Romans 11:1-5. We also notice that the Bible often focuses on individuals - Noah, Abraham, Moses, David, etc. In fact most of the books of the Bible are named after individuals. And God promises his people:
"The least of you will become a thousand, the smallest a mighty nation. I am the LORD; in its time I will do this swiftly." Isa 60:22

2. Birds

This is another parable on nominalism - the fact that the visible Church is mixture of true and nominal Christians.

When a movement becomes large and popular and institutionalized, it is inevitable to attract birds which will make nests in its branches. The birds are not part of the tree, but aliens to it. Jesus speaks of birds in the parable of the sower, equating them to the devil who takes away the word which is sown along the path.

The birds often nest high in the branches, taking an exalted position in the visible church, yet being foreign to. And there are those who try to build a nest egg from their association with the visible church. Even in his farewell speech speaking to the Ephesian elders, Paul warns:

"I know that after I leave, savage wolves will come in among you and will not spare the flock." Acts 20:29
These birds may also represent false ideas being integrated into Christian community. There are churches that think that there is safety in numbers. There isn't. Popular ideas are often contrary to the Biblical truth. And institutional philosophy has resulted in a great deal of corruption in the body of Christ. But this is generally true of any movement which becomes popular and institutionalized.

Conclusion

Therefore, let's not get too comfortable if Christiantity is popular, or if our particular institutional church becomes large. For things which are large and popular are much more subject to birds and their corrupting influence.


Rap

The kingdom is like a mustard seed
Small at first but it did succeed
To grow with branches far and wide
Onto which birds did abide

The visible church started quite small
But popular today with buildings quite tall
But beware of the birds that nest in its branches
who take advantage of the circumstances


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015