'>


翻譯: English 中文 GB

你咋知道神的確存在?

聖經說: 是有道理的。因為如果不給人提供他存在的証據,神因為人所不知道的就給他們定罪則是不公義的了。關於“我們怎么知道聖經是神的話?”這個問題也同樣。要求一個公義的神在讓我們負責之前給我們足夠的証據是合理的。

人是不是承認神的存在不可必免地會產生兩種根本不同的世界觀。要么,我們是神創造的產物﹔要么,我們的起源是純粹自然的,完全基於隨機的化學過程,全無超自然的參與。

這兩種觀點意味著什么?

如果我們的起源純粹是自然的,那么我們是以什么為基礎得出諸如公正、人權、愛或甚至恨這樣的概念呢?它們基本上只能是人造的,取決於個人的觀點或甚至取決於我們生活在其中的、不斷變化的文化。我覺得很是奇怪,許多人居然會在,比如生命的意義和目的,這樣的問題上有深深的信念。因為如果我們不是被造的話,我們就沒有絕對的意義和目的。

但如果我們的起源是神的創造的話,那么神就定義了我們的意義和目的,就如任何設計師會為他的設計定義這些一樣。在這種情形下,公正、人權、愛或甚至恨的概念都是絕對的,如果我們知道神在這類問題上的觀點的話。

我要指出,神存在的第一個“証據”,是那些拒絕承認神存在的人作的見証。許多,如果不是一切,生活在假冒為善的哲學里的人,宣稱神不存在,然而卻有絕對的是與非的標准﹔雖然宣告人純粹是化學過程的產物,卻不愿讓他所愛的女人相信他們的愛不過是化學而已。甚至連宣告神不存在,這本身是個絕對的命題,也固有地是自相矛盾的。有些人說神的存在違背科學,所以即使他真的存在,他們也不相信,除非有科學的証據。然而,這也固有地是自相矛盾的,因為如果只相信在實驗室里能夠重復的事情,就否認了歷史。因為歷史是不可能重復的,時間總是不斷向前推進的。但無疑同樣這些人相信歷史的存在。再則,諸如公正和愛這樣的概念,就連科學的宗旨本身,都是無法由科學方法來“証明”的。

然而,在許多事上,人們并不求絕對意義上的,或者“科學”意義上的(許多人常用的辭藻)“証據”。甚至在科學本身里面,直覺也常常用來提出假說,之後再來驗証。那么,假說是從哪里來的呢?科學家常常用有限的知識,加上他的直覺來推斷出別的知識。

這也解釋了上面引用的羅馬書1:20里的佯謬。“雖是眼不能見……就可以曉得”。看不見的東西怎么可以曉得呢?通過人的直覺。直覺是在社會中很受尊敬的能力,是我們所有人在我們生活的許多方面都使用的。所以,那些要求絕對証明的人把所有有直覺性質的“証據”都視作是純粹無理的,也許是假冒為善的哲學的又一個例子。

假設兩個人被困在一個荒島上。其中一個看見不屬於他們中的任何一人的腳印,於是告訴他的朋友島上除了他們以外還有別的人。“你咋知道還有別人? ”他的朋說:“你看見別人了嗎? ”這人回答道:“沒有,但我看見沙灘上有腳印。”他的朋友是個好懷疑的人,查看過了“腳印”,然後說:“這也許是風刮沙子形成的。”這人回答道:“不大可能。”但疑惑的人說:“除非你給我算出這不是由風刮沙子形成的几率,我就不信這是人的腳印。”

那些抱定我們的起源純粹是自然觀點的人常常這樣拒絕自然中有設計的証據。因為對有些人來說是“明顯的”和“合理的”東西,對另一些人來說是卻不然。所以,當基督徒指出自然中生命形式里功能的復雜性是有一位設計師存在的証據時,懷疑的人卻指著這里面極端簡化的例子說這可以是隨機的產物。但必須區別同一復雜程度以內的變化和新的復雜程度的出現。比如,一台車螺絲的機器也許會偶然地制出一顆逆螺紋的螺絲釘。但是,它怎么也不可能制出一電視來!

如果在沙灘上發現的不是腳印,而是寫的字呢?那是不是更可信呢?如果不僅僅是几個字,而是大量的編碼的信息寫在沙灘上呢?要到哪一步這纔似乎是“合理”的和“直覺上很明顯”的源於智慧,而不需要准確地計算其几率呢?

考慮編碼的信息。在天文學中,SETI(尋找外星智慧)課題假定含編碼的信息就意味著智慧的存在。遍布全世界的射電望遠鏡都在“頃聽”發自宇宙深處的這種信息。但看看自然本身吧。所有的生物都含有這樣的信息,DNA編碼──關於物種的建造和維護的龐大的信息。我們由此得出的結論是什么呢?對有些人來說,這在直覺上是很明顯的。


你咋知道聖經是神的話?

如果神要與我們交流信息他怎么做呢?答案很簡單。他會用他給我們設計的交流方式與我們交流。至於復雜的事情,他就使用文字或言語的形式。如果不用語言,我們怎么能知道他說的是什么呢?雖然許多事情可以由他所設計的自然本身推斷出來,但要清楚地交流,他就使用語言,就像我們一樣。考慮到他設計了我們,考慮到他放在自然中的復雜的編碼,他當然有能力這么做。

我首先想到的是他在此有兩個方法繼續進行。他可以不斷地與每一個人交流﹔他也可以先與几個人交流,再由他們把他的話通過人的普通交流渠道傳出去。

無論哪種情形,都會有一個問題,那就是:神果真說話了嗎? 你咋知道那是神在說話呢? 因為也許這些話不過是人自己的想像,或出自神以外的靈。所以,必須要有証據証明這些話的確是神說的。除了神跡以外,還有什么能夠做為証據呢?因為要証明的確是神在說話,需要有顯示他的獨特的能力的征兆。

可是如果神是與每一個人交流的話,這就有一個有意思的問題。因為如果是那樣的話,他就必須不斷地行神跡來証明的確是他在說話。那么神跡就成了普通的事情,也就算不得是神跡了。所以,更為“合理”的是神選擇與某些人(讓我們把這些人稱做“先知”)說話,并用神跡証明先知的確是神的先知。

有人認為任何含有神跡的記載都不是史實。這樣的記載常被歸於神話而不是歷史。這么做的依據是什么呢?這斷然不是以科學為依據的。因為科學只能描述尋常發生的事情。它只能說神跡一般不會發生。但它不能說神跡是不是曾經發生過。因為科學是從屬於歷史的。歷史高於科學,因為歷史是事實,而科學只是對事實的描述。所以不能因為歷史的記載里有神跡就把它拋在一邊。否則你就不給神任何証明他自己的機會。就算神今天給你行了神跡,明天那還是要成為歷史。那么,明天你還會因為他今天所行的神跡而信服嗎?那么許多年以前的神跡又有什么區別呢?

然而考証這些記載的准確性是合理的。因為就像人不應該基於含有神跡就否認一個歷史的記載,“聽見什么就信什么”也是不對的。因為有許多虛構的、假的歷史記載。但難到神會看不到那一點嗎?他能做些什么來向那些在許多年以後聽到這些神跡的人肯定,那些事的確發生了呢?從某種意義上來講,這在一個訴訟律師算不得是個罕見的問題,他必須使陪審團相信他對曾發生事件的描述是准確的。他怎么做呢?這要看他有些什么樣的証據。如果他有人証,就可以請他們出庭,他們將在庭上作見証,并且受到檢驗,看他們是不是可靠。他還可以提交物証。在他提交了這些証據後,陪審團就根據給他們提供的証據,推斷出到底發生了什么。


歷史的証據

從這几點上說,聖經給我們提供了些什么呢?它有大量的神跡來証明先知的話。那么人証呢?考慮使徒行傳第二章里的例子。當時正是五旬節,那是個一年一度的重要節日,猶太人都要慶祝。它還是一個國際性的節日,因為猶太人要從許多國家趕到耶路撒冷來過節,使徒行傳第二章第五節說明了這一點。

“那時,有虔誠的猶太人,從天下各國來,住在耶路撒冷。”

在此一個多月以前,耶穌被釘十字架,盡管冒著生命危險,耶穌的門徒彼得還是在眾人里站出來發表了一席演講。他說:“以色列人哪,請聽我的話:神藉著拿撒勒人耶穌,在你們中間施行異能、奇事、神跡,將他証明出來,這是你們自己知道的。他既按著神的定旨、先見,被交與人,你們就藉著無法之人的手,把他釘在十字架上殺了。神卻將死的痛苦解釋了,叫他復活,因為他原不能被死拘禁。”使徒行傳2:22-24“故此,以色列全家當確實的知道:你們釘在十字架上的這位耶穌,神已經立他為主為基督了。”使徒行傳2:36

他說的基本上就是:

眾人對這席話的反應是什么呢?

眾人聽見這話,覺得扎心,就對彼得和其余的使徒說:“弟兄們,我們當怎樣行?”彼得說:“你們各人要悔改,奉耶穌基督的名受洗,叫你們的罪得赦,就必領受所賜的聖靈﹔因為這應許是給你們和你們的兒女,并一切在遠方的人,就是主我們神所召來的。”彼得還用許多話作見証,勸勉他們說:“你們當救自己脫離這彎曲的世代。”於是領受他話的人,就受了洗。那一天,門徒約添了三千人使徒行傳2:37-41

看來,盡管事實上彼得說那些人一個月前殺了耶穌,說他們知道他行了神跡,還是有三千人當時就信了。如果彼得說的是假話會如何呢?如果他們知道耶穌沒有行神跡會如何呢?他們難道會信嗎?不太會吧!

在當時,成為基督徒是一件非常不容易的事。猶太人的領袖們纔把耶穌釘了十字架,對基督徒充滿了敵意。他們將會被社會所拋棄,只有與其它基督徒共同生活,就連他們自己的家庭都會把他們趕出來。如果他們明明知道是假的難道會信嗎?如果他們那么容易受騙的話,他們也同樣會很容易地被拽回到別的猶太人那里,那些猶太人會給他們揭穿謊話。

但我們怎么知道這件事的確發生了呢?整個這件事會不會全是編出來的呢?如過是編出來的話,每個人都會知道的。因為貫穿羅馬帝國,到處的猶太人都知道這件事是不是真地發生了,因為這是一個國際性的事件,他們都在那里。還有,如果這件事未曾發生的話,就沒有教會了。不然這么多基督徒是從哪來的呢?

貫穿四本福音書和使徒行傳,隨處可見這類的事件向喜歡獨立思考的、誠實的懷疑者提出挑戰。這種問題是合宜的,因為神理當為歷史的事情提供適當的証據。當查考過新約里的這前五本書里所給的証據以後,如果你覺得証據還不夠充足的話,你也許該反過來問一下你自己,什么樣的証據對你來說纔算是充足的呢?或者說,如果你是神的話,你怎么纔能提供充足的証據呢?你是不是對你所認定的哲學或宗教要求過同樣的証據呢?



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:11 EDT

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

How do you know God exists?

It would seem only reasonable that as the Bible says: For to not provide evidence of His existence, God would be unjust in condemning people for what they didn't know. And the same goes for the issue of "How do we know the Bible is the Word of God?" It is reasonable to expect sufficient evidence for a just God to hold us accountable to.

Whether one accepts the existence of God or not inevitably results in two basic world views. Either we are the product of creation by God, or our origin is purely naturalistic, based soley on stochastic chemical processes devoid of the supernatural.

What are the implications of these two positions?

If our origin is purely naturalistic, then what is the basis upon which we derive concepts of justice and human rights and love or even hate, for that matter? These would have to be essentially man-made and subject to the opinions of the individuals or the ever changing cultures in which we live. I find it strange, therefore, that most people have very strong convictions concerning these subjects even though there really is no basis for saying anything absolute about, for example, the meaning and purpose in life. For if we are not created, then we have no meaning and purpose in an absolute sense.

But if our origin is one born of creation by God, then God defines our meaning and purpose, as any designer defines such for what he has designed. Under such circumstances, concepts of justice, human rights, love and hate can be thought of in an absolute sense, if we have God's opinion on such matters. A lecture was given Harvard University by a panel of renowned scientists under the topic "Life: Cosmic Accident or Cosmic Destiny" It appears that the physical laws of the universe are precisely tuned for life to be possible. It is amazing that any slight deviation from such laws would make life impossible. However one of the scientists objected to terms such as "tuned or designed" being used in a scientific discussion. But later this same man inadvertently made the statement that RNA "invented" proteins.

So the first "evidence" of God's existence I would point out, is the testimony of those who even reject the existence of God. For many, if not all, live a life of philosophical hypocrisy, declaring that God doesn't exist, yet having absolute standards of right and wrong; while declaring that man is purely a product of chemical processes, yet reluctant to convince the woman they love that their love is nothing more than chemistry, rejecting God but using terms only consistent with there being a Creator. Even the declaration that God doesn't exist, being an absolute statement, is inherently self-contradictory. There are also those who say that God's existence contradicts science and therefore, even if He does exist, they won't believe unless given evidence in the form of scientific proof. Yet again this is inherently self-contradictory, for to only believe those things which can be reproduced in the laboratory is to deny the existence of history itself. For history cannot be reproduced as time always progresses forward. Yet no doubt these same people do believe in the existence of history. And yet again, the concepts of justice and love and even the tenets of science itself cannot be "proven" using the scientific method.

Yet it seems that with most things, people really don't require "proof" in an absolute or even "scientific" sense (as many so often use the phrase). Even in science itself intuition is often used in developing a hypothesis which can then be tested. But where does the hypothesis come from? Often a scientist will take limited information and using his intuition infer other information. In fact in the 1930's a mathematician, Kurt Godel, proved that not all mathematical truths are provable. And later this principle of Godel's was applied to many areas of science. It has been essentially proven and accepted by informed members of the scientific and mathematical communities that intuition plays a legitimate role in determining what is true even in the exact sciences.

This explains the apparent contradiction in Romans 1:20, quoted above. That "God's invisible qualities ... have been clearly seen". How can something invisible be clearly seen? Simply by using one's intuition. Intuition is a highly valued quality in society, and is used by all of us every day in most aspects of our lives. So to consider "evidence" which may be of an intuitive nature as purely irrational by those who demand absolute proof, may be yet again another example of philosophical hypocrisy.

Consider two people stranded on a desert island. One sees a footprint in the sand that doesn't belong to either of them. He then tells his friend that someone else has been there. "How do you know someone has been here?" says his friend, "Have you seen anyone else?" The man replies, "No, but I have found a footprint in the sand." His friend, being a skeptic, examines the "footprint" and says, "It could have just been made by the wind blowing the sand around." The man replied, "That's unlikely." But the skeptic said, "Well unless you show me the exact probability calculation of this not being made by the wind, I won't believe that it is a man's footprint."

This kind of objection against evidence of design in nature is often proposed by those who hold a purely naturalistic view of our origin. For what seems "obvious" and "reasonable" to one, may not be so to another. So when Christians point out the functional complexity operating within life forms in nature as evidence of a designer, skeptics may point out extreme simplifications of such can be a product of chance. But a distinction must be made between change within given levels of complexity, versus the emergence of new levels of complexity. For example, a screw cutting machine may accidentally produce a backward threaded screw. However, it will not produce a T.V.!

And just to digress on another point often brought up - namely Ockham's Razor. That idea is that the simplest explanation is the best. But then again what constitutes "simplest"? One could say "God did it" is the simplest explanation for all things and therefore is the best, but others view that as not a "simple" explanation at all. The problem lies in what constitutes "simple". Therefore the concept of Ockham's Razor is not particularly helpful, contrary to some who take it as the be all and end all of explanations.
Now continuing on, what if instead of a footprint, writing were found in the sand? Would that be more convincing? What if not just a few words, but volumes of coded information were impressed within the sand? At what point would it seem "reasonable" and "intuitively obvious" that such was of intelligent origin, without having to calculate the exact probability?

Consider coded information. In astronomy, the SETI program (the search of extraterrestrial intelligence) presumes that coded information implies intelligent life. For radio telescopes around the world are "listening" for such from the far reaches of space. Yet look at nature itself. Every organism has contained in it the DNA code - volumes of coded information concerning the construction and maintenance of the organism. What should we infer from that? To some it's intuitively obvious.


How do you know the Bible is the Word of God?

If God were to communicate to us how would He do it? The answer is quite simple. He would do it the way in which He designed us to communicate. Concerning complex ideas, He would be limited to words in written or spoken form. For how else would we understand what He is saying if He isn't using language? Though many ideas may be inferred from His design of nature itself, to clearly communicate He would use words, just as we do. Considering He designed us and considering the complex coding He integrated into nature, He certainly has the ability to do so.

My initial thought is that there are two ways in which He could proceed at this point. Either He could communicate to everyone individually throughout history, or he could communicate with a few, and have them pass on His words using the normal channels of human communication.

In either case, the next question that comes up is even if God spoke, how would you know it was Him speaking? For perhaps the words were merely a product of one's own imagination, or perhaps from a spirit who was not of God. Therefore, there would also have to be evidence that the words were from God. What would constitute such evidence if not the miraculous? For to prove that God has spoken would require signs that are unique to His ability.

However, this presents an interesting problem if God speaks to each one individually. For then, He would have to be continually doing miracles to prove that He has spoken. In which case the miraculous would appear to be merely a common event, and therefore not miraculous. Therefore, it would seem more "reasonable" that God would choose to speak to particular individuals (let's call them "prophets"), and provide evidence in the form of miracles to affirm that the prophet is a prophet of God.

There are those who reject any writing as being historical if it contains an account of a miracle. Such is often relegated the status of myth rather than history. Upon what basis is this done? Not on a scientific basis. For science only describes what normally happens. It can only say that the miraculous is not what normally happens. But it can't say that it doesn't happen or hasn't happened in the past. For science is subject to history. History rules over science, for history is fact and science is merely description of fact. You therefore cannot just ignore historical accounts that contain miracles just because they contain miracles. For then you provide no way for God to prove Himself. Even if He were to do a miracle for you today, tomorrow it would be history. Would you then still be convinced tomorrow by the miracle He did today? So what's the difference if the miracles were many years ago?

Yet it is reasonable to question such accounts as to their accuracy. For just as one should not reject an account just because it contains miracles, neither should one "believe whatever you hear." For there are many myths and false accounts of history. But wouldn't God recognize that also? What could He have done to assure those who heard of the miracles many years later, that they did occur? In a sense, this is not an uncommon problem with trial lawyers, who try to convince a jury that the historical scenario he gives is accurate. How does he do it? That depends on what evidence he has available. If he has eyewitnesses, then he has them take the stand and they are evaluated as to whether they are reliable and give their accounts. There may also be physical evidence presented. After presenting the evidence, the jury goes away to infer what happened based on what was presented.


Historical Evidence

What does the Bible have to offer on these points? It is full of miracles affirming the words of the prophets. What of the witnesses? Consider, for example, chapter 2 in the book of Acts. It was the feast of the Pentecost, an annual celebration well known to have been celebrated by the Jews. It was furthermore an international event in that Jews from many nations would come to Jerusalem for this celebration, which is also affirmed in Acts 2:5

"Now there were staying in Jerusalem God-fearing Jews from every nation under heaven."

Just over a month prior to this, Jesus had been put to death. Despite this fact and threat on his own life, Peter, one of Jesus' disciples stood up in the crowd and gave a speech. In part of it he said "Men of Israel, listen to this: Jesus of Nazareth was a man accredited by God to you by miracles, wonders and signs, which God did among you through him, as you yourselves know. This man was handed over to you by God's set purpose and foreknowledge; and you, with the help of wicked men, put him to death by nailing him to the cross. But God raised him from the dead" Acts 2:22-24, and "let all Israel be assured of this: God has made this Jesus, whom you crucified, both Lord and Christ." Acts 2:36

So his basic propositions were:

What was the people's response to this message?

When the people heard this, they were cut to the heart and said to Peter and the other apostles, "Brothers, what shall we do?" Peter replied, "Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off-- for all whom the Lord our God will call." With many other words he warned them; and he pleaded with them, "Save yourselves from this corrupt generation." Those who accepted his message were baptized, and about three thousand were added to their number that day. Acts 2:37-41

So it seemed that despite the fact that Peter proposed that these people had killed Jesus just over a month earlier and they knew that he did miracles, 3000 believed. But what if what Peter said was false? What if they knew that Jesus hadn't done miracles? Why would they have believed? They wouldn't have!

It was not an easy thing to become a Christian just at that time. The leaders of the Jews were quite hostile to the followers of Christ, having just crucified their leader. They would be outcasts of society having to live in a communal situation with other Christians because of the persecution and even their own families would cast them out. So why would they believe something they knew to be a lie? If they were so gullible, they would have easily been drawn back by other Jews who could point out the lies to them.

But how do we know this event actually happened? Could the whole thing have been fabricated? If it was fabricated, everyone would have known it. For throughout the Roman empire, the local Jews would have known that it didn't occur because it was an international event and they were there. Furthermore, if it didn't occur, there would be no church. For where did all the early Christians come from?

Throughout the gospels and the book of Acts, events like this challenge the intellectually honest skeptic who asks such questions. And such questions are appropriate as it's only reasonable that God would deal with the issue of history by providing appropriate evidence. After having studied the first five books of the New Testament for such evidence, if you find it to be deficient, then you might ask yourself as to what would constitute sufficient evidence for you? Or if you were God, what would you do to provide such evidence? And do you demand such evidence in the case of your particular philosophy or religion?


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources

Jul 29,2015