翻譯: English 简体中文

聖經關于飲酒

為了得出聖經對喝酒的一個全面和平衡的認識,我把這個查經分為說允許喝酒的經文和說禁止喝酒的經文。

允許

摩西律法允許把十一奉獻的一部分拿來買酒喝。

又要把你的五谷、新酒和油的十分之一,并牛群羊群中頭生的,吃在耶和華你神面前,就是他所選擇要立為他名的居所。這樣,你可以學習時常敬畏耶和華你的神。當耶和華你神賜福與你的時候,耶和華你神所選擇要立為他名的地方若離你太遠,那路也太長,使你不能把這物帶到那堨h,你就可以換成銀子,將銀子包起來,拿在手中,往耶和華你神所要選擇的地方去。你用這銀子,隨心所欲,或買牛羊,或買清酒濃酒,凡你心所想的都可以買。你和你的家屬在耶和華你神的面前吃喝快樂。”【申命記 14:23-26】

以賽亞書也說到允許喝酒:“在這山上萬軍之耶和華,必為萬民用肥甘設擺筵席,用陳酒和滿髓的肥甘,并澄清的陳酒,設擺筵席。”【以賽亞書 25:6】

還有在約翰福音第二章堙A耶穌去參加一個婚禮。在酒用盡時,耶穌親自用神蹟為婚禮提供了六石缸好酒。

保羅還對提摩太說:“因你胃口不清,屢次患病,再不要照常喝水,可以稍微用點酒。”【提摩太前書 5:23】但注意他說的是:“稍微”

禁止

然而,不應該把寬容醉酒讀進那些經文堨h。因為雖然聖經允許適度地飲酒,但聖經強烈地和廣泛地反對醉酒。

“禍哉!那些勇于飲酒,以能力調濃酒的人。”【以賽亞書 5:22】

箴言關于醉酒

“誰有禍患?誰有憂愁?誰有爭鬥?誰有哀嘆(或作“怨言”)?誰無故受傷?誰眼目紅赤?就是那流連飲酒,常去尋找調和酒的人。酒發紅,在杯中閃爍,你不可觀看,雖然下咽舒暢,終久是咬你如蛇,刺你如毒蛇。你眼必看見異怪的事(“異怪的事”或作“淫婦”),你心必發出乖謬的話。你必像躺在海中,或像臥在桅杆上。你必說:‘人打我,我卻未受傷!人鞭打我,我竟不覺得!我幾時清醒,我仍去尋酒。’”【箴言 23:29-35】

“酒能使人褻慢,濃酒使人喧嚷:凡因酒錯誤的就無智慧。”【箴言 20:1】

“愛宴樂的必致窮乏﹔好酒愛膏油的必不富足。”【箴言 21:17】

“利慕伊勒啊,君王喝酒,君王喝酒不相宜。王子說:‘濃酒在哪堙H’也不相宜。恐怕喝了就忘記律例,顛倒一切困苦人的是非。”【箴言 31:4-5】可接下來說:“可以把濃酒給將亡的人喝。把清酒給苦心的人喝。讓他喝了,就忘記他的貧窮,不再記念他的苦楚。”【箴言 31:6-7】

當然,對最後的那兩節的解釋需要看到聖經的其它地方是怎麼說的。我的解釋是需要時刻戒備的人一滴酒都不能沾,對其他人來說,用酒帶來一些歡樂或減輕病痛,在不落入罪中的前題下,比如醉酒,是可以的。

新約關于醉酒

我們可以自由地享受像喝酒這類快樂的事,只要我們不越過神給我們定的界限,并且明白,我們是神交給我們的一切事的管家,我們將要為這些事負責。比如經上說:“你要囑咐那些今世富足的人,不要自高,也不要倚靠無定的錢財﹔只要倚靠那厚賜百物給我們享受的神。又要囑咐他們行善,在好事上富足,甘心施舍,樂意供給人(“供給”或作“體貼”),”【提摩太前書 6:17-18】

至于醉酒──或其在今天常用的稱呼“酗酒”──聖經說:“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。”【哥林多前書 6:9-10】還有:“情欲的事都是顯而易見的:就如奸淫、污穢、邪蕩、拜偶像、邪術、仇恨、爭競、忌恨、惱怒、結黨、紛爭、異端、嫉妒(有古卷在此有“凶殺”二字)、醉酒、荒宴等類。我從前告訴你們,現在又告訴你們,行這樣事的人必不能承受神的國。”【加拉太書 5:19-21】酒鬼將被永恆地定罪。他們不能進天堂。

從哥林多前書可以看到,那些吃聖餐人,甚至因為醉酒被神殺掉。

經上說:“不要醉酒,酒能使人放蕩,乃要被聖靈充滿。”【以弗所 5:18】

關于教會的領袖,經上明確地說:“監督既是神的管家,必須無可指責,不任性,不暴躁,不因酒滋事,不打人,不貪無義之財,”【提多書 1:7】還有,“作執事的也是如此:必須端庄,不一口兩舌,不好喝酒,不貪不義之財。” 【提摩太前書 3:8】作監督的也同樣:“不因酒滋事,不打人,只要溫和,不爭競,不貪財。”【提摩太前書 3:3】還有: “又勸老年婦人舉止行動要恭敬,不說讒言,不給酒作奴仆,用善道教訓人,”【提多書 2:3】因此,醉酒是被明確禁止的。

良心

“無論是吃肉,是喝酒,是什麼別的事,叫弟兄跌倒,一概不做才好。”【羅馬書 14:21】

關于良心的事,基督徒有很大程度的自由。但因為愛的緣故,基督徒應該限制自己,不要做使其他基督徒的良心受責備的事。經上說:

“所以我們不可再彼此論斷,寧可定意,誰也不給弟兄放下絆腳跌人之物。我憑著主耶穌確知深信,凡物本來沒有不潔淨的。惟獨人以為不潔淨的,在他就不潔淨了。你若因食物叫弟兄憂愁,就不是按著愛人的道理行。基督已經替他死,你不可因你的食物叫他敗壞。不可叫你的善被人毀謗,因為神的國不在乎吃喝,只在乎公義、和平,并聖靈中的喜樂。在這幾樣上服事基督的,就為神所喜悅,又為人所稱許。所以,我們務要追求和睦的事,與彼此建立德行的事。不可因食物毀壞神的工程。凡物固然潔淨,但有人因食物叫人跌倒,就是他的罪了。”【羅馬書 14:13-20

這包括喝酒。有些人正在為擺脫酗酒而掙扎。有些人沒有這樣的問題,或不被這類的事所誘惑,而在行使他們喝酒的自由時,有可能誘發那些軟弱的人的酒癮,使他又會到酗酒堨h。

因此基督徒最好不要沾酒。雖然他們有喝酒的自由,但他們無權醉酒。還有,出于對他人的愛,他們在行使他們的權利時要當心,不要使軟弱的人墮入酗酒的罪中。


2020年09月29日

What the Bible says about Drinking

To get a comprehensive and balanced view of what the Bible says about the consumption of alcohol, I've divided this study into verses which speak on allowances and those which speak on prohibitions.

Allowances

Under the Law of Moses one was allowed to spend part of their tithe for the consumption of alcohol.
Deut 14:23-26 "Eat the tithe of your grain, new wine and oil, and the firstborn of your herds and flocks in the presence of the LORD your God at the place he will choose as a dwelling for his Name, so that you may learn to revere the LORD your God always. But if that place is too distant and you have been blessed by the LORD your God and cannot carry your tithe (because the place where the LORD will choose to put his Name is so far away),  then exchange your tithe for silver, and take the silver with you and go to the place the LORD your God will choose. Use the silver to buy whatever you like: cattle, sheep, wine or other fermented drink, or anything you wish. Then you and your household shall eat there in the presence of the LORD your God and rejoice."
Its allowance is also spoken of in  Isaiah 25:6  "On this mountain the LORD Almighty will prepare a feast of rich food for all peoples, a banquet of aged wine-- the best of meats and the finest of wines."

Furthermore in John chapter 2 Jesus himself miraculously provides about 150 gallons of wine for a wedding he attended where they had run out of wine.

And Paul advised Timothy, "No longer drink only water, but use a little wine for your stomach’s sake and your frequent infirmities." 1Tim 5:23  But notice that he says, "a little".

Prohibitions

However one should not read into those verses a condoning of drunkenness. For while there are allowances for the consumption of alcohol, the Bible speaks strongly and extensively against drunkenness.

Isaiah 5: 22  Woe to those who are heroes at drinking wine and champions at mixing drinks.

Proverbs on Drunkenness

Pr 23:29-35 Who has woe? Who has sorrow? Who has contentions? Who has complaints? Who has wounds without cause? Who has redness of eyes? Those who linger long at the wine, Those who go in search of mixed wine. Do not look on the wine when it is red, When it sparkles in the cup, When it swirls around smoothly; At the last it bites like a serpent, And stings like a viper. Your eyes will see strange things, And your heart will utter perverse things. Yes, you will be like one who lies down in the midst of the sea, Or like one who lies at the top of the mast, saying: "They have struck me, but I was not hurt; They have beaten me, but I did not feel it. When shall I awake, that I may seek another drink?"

Pr 20:1  Wine is a mocker, Strong drink is a brawler, And whoever is led astray by it is not wise.

Pr 21:17  He who loves pleasure will be a poor man; He who loves wine and oil will not be rich.

Pr 31:4-5 "It is not for kings, O Lemuel, It is not for kings to drink wine, Nor for princes intoxicating drink;  Lest they drink and forget the law, And pervert the justice of all the afflicted." However it goes on to say, "Give strong drink to him who is perishing, And wine to those who are bitter of heart. Let him drink and forget his poverty, And remember his misery no more." Pr 31:6,7

Of course those last two verse need to be interpreted in view of what the rest of the Bible says. My interpretation is that while those who need to be constantly alert should not drink at all, it is OK to provide some pleasure or attempt to relieve the pain of those who are in misery - as long as it doesn't cross the line into sin, like drunkenness.

New Testament on Drunkenness

Drinking alcohol or any other type of pleasant thing, we are free to partake of as long as we stay within the boundaries God has established, and realize that we will be called to account as stewards for everything we've done with what God has provided us. For example it says, "Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment.  Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share." 1Tim 6:17,18

But as for drunkenness - or as it is often referred to today "alcoholism" - the Bible says, "Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God." 1Cor 6:9,10 So also Galatian 5:19-21 "The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God." Alcoholics will be eternally condemned. They do not enter the kingdom of heaven.

According to 1Cor 11, God was even killing Christians who were getting drunk at the communion service.

It says in Eph 5:18 "And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation; but be filled with the Spirit"

Concerning church leadership it explicitly states, "a bishop must be blameless, as a steward of God, not self-willed, not quick-tempered, not given to wine, not violent, not greedy for money ..." Titus 1:7 and "Likewise deacons must be reverent, not double-tongued, not given to much wine, not greedy for money ..." 1Tim 3:8 and so also of overseers in 1Tim 3:3 And so also "the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things——" Titus 2:3  Thus there are clear prohibitions concerning drunkenness.

Conscience

Rom 14:21  It is good neither to eat meat nor drink wine nor do anything by which your brother stumbles or is offended or is made weak

Now while as a matter of one's own conscience, Christians have a good deal of freedom. But in the name of love Christians should restrict themselves from activities which bother the conscience of other Christians. It's written,

Therefore let us stop passing judgment on one another. Instead, make up your mind not to put any stumbling block or obstacle in your brother’s way. As one who is in the Lord Jesus, I am fully convinced that no food is unclean in itself. But if anyone regards something as unclean, then for him it is unclean. If your brother is distressed because of what you eat, you are no longer acting in love. Do not by your eating destroy your brother for whom Christ died. Do not allow what you consider good to be spoken of as evil. For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit, because anyone who serves Christ in this way is pleasing to God and approved by men.  Let us therefore make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification. Do not destroy the work of God for the sake of food. All food is clean, but it is wrong for a man to eat anything that causes someone else to stumble. Rom 14:13-20
This includes the consumption of alcohol. There are some who struggle against an addiction to alcholism. But while others don't have such an addiction or are not tempted along those lines, yet their free exercise of their right to partake of alcohol may lead those who are weak into temptation and into addiction.

Therefore it is best if Christians abstain from alcohol. And while they have the freedom to drink, they certainly don't have the right to get drunk. And, in the name of love for others, they should be careful that the exercise of their rights does not embolden the weak to fall into the sin of drunkenness.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015