曠野堛爾梇

路加福音 4:1-13馬太福音 4:1-11馬可福音 1:12,13
魔鬼
耶穌
申命記
“你若是神的兒子,可以吩咐這塊石頭變成食物。” “經上記著說:‘人活著不是單靠食物,乃是靠神口堜狴X的一切話’” 【申命記 8:3】 他苦煉你,任你飢餓,將你和你列祖所不認識的嗎哪賜給你吃,使你知道,人活著不是單靠食物,乃是靠耶和華口堜狴X的一切話。【申命記 8:3】
“這一切權柄榮華,我都要給你。因為這原是交付我的,我愿意給誰就給誰。你若在我面前下拜,這都要歸你。” “經上記著說:‘當拜主你的神,單要事奉他。’ 申命記 6:1310:20 你要敬畏耶和華你的神,事奉他,指著他的名起誓。 【申命記 6:13】
“你若是神的兒子,可以從這婺鶪U去。因為經上記著說:‘主要為你吩咐他的使者保護你。他們要用手托著你,免得你的腳碰在石頭上。’【詩篇 91:11,12】 “經上說:‘不可試探主你的神。’【申命記 6:16】 “你們不可試探耶和華你們的神,像你們在瑪撒那樣試探他。” 【申命記6:16】
“瑪撒”參見:【出埃及記 17:1-7】

“我從埃及召出我的兒子來。” 【馬太福音 2:15】相似,耶穌在曠野所受到的試探反映了以色列人在摩西律法之下在曠野堛爾g歷。事實上,耶穌在這堜狺犍峈爾g文全都出自申命記,這本書是以色列人在曠野堭r徊的時候給他們的。正像那白天領著以色列人的云柱,夜間帶著來以色列人的火柱一樣,聖靈把耶穌帶到了曠野。(【馬可福音 1:12】)這也正是許多來到基督的人所經歷的。在他們與聖靈合作時,他將他們帶到曠野,為他們進入應許之地做好准備。

第一、生命的糧食

在曠野堙A神賜給以色列人天糧──嗎哪。耶穌在約翰福音第六章讓眾人吃飽時做了同樣的事。在那章書堙A他還提到嗎哪,甚至用以色列人在曠野的經歷來比喻他自己的經歷。將石頭變成食物本身并不是問題所在,因為他不但能夠這麼做,而且後來在約翰福音第六章堛瑤T這麼做了。問題在于,當時這麼做是不是合宜。因為他當時是在做以色列人沒有能夠做到的事。約伯曾說:“他嘴唇的命令,我未曾背棄。我看重他口中的言語,過于我需用的飲食。” 【約伯記 23:12】以色列人沒有珍視神的話。同樣今天也有許多人看重的是物質的東西,而不是神的話。

【申命記 8:3】表明神教以色列人靠神的話而活的方法是拿去他們物質上的東西,羞辱他們,讓他們用信心來依靠神的供應。謙卑是信基督的最主要的先決條件。沒有它人就不會認罪,也不會珍視神的話。所以羞辱往往是到達基督的必經之道。而且我們看到,跟隨基督我們所走的道上少不了羞辱。

二、單要拜神,事奉神

在曠野的以色列人很可能接受了撒旦的提議。因為他們鑄了金牛犢,把他當作神來拜。許多人今天在自己沒有意識到的情況下“把他們的靈魂賣給了撒旦”。因為人們用自己的生命來積累物質的東西,來尋求個人的權力,來為自己而活而不是為神而活,不但如此,還在社會上提倡這種行為和態度。這些人是魔鬼的奴仆。這也可見于基督徒之中,比如那些把在基督堛漲菪捋’足O可以以罪的生活方式生活的自由,而不是按照歌林多後書堜畛羲漕獐邟滶繴當作主:“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人,不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【歌林多後書 5:15】

有意思的是申命記堛熙o節經文用的不是“拜”,而是“敬畏”。在我們許多福音派的圈子中已失去了這個關聯。但保羅說:“我們既知道主是可畏的,所以勸人。” 【歌林多後書 5:11】這也正是早期教會的特徵:“那時猶太、加利利、撒瑪利亞各處的教會都得平安,被建立。凡事敬畏主,蒙聖靈的安慰,人數就增多了。”【使徒行傳 9:31】 但今天,甚至有些基督徒都不敬畏主。

三、試探神

是的,就連魔鬼都居然能引用聖經!但正確地應用則是另一回事。有許多人自負他們對聖經的知識,但卻不按其精神來解釋聖經,于是他們學了聖經之後得出的是與聖經背道而馳的應用。

有意思的是,在【馬太福音 4:1-11】堙A在這些試探之後有天使來伺候基督。這才是與對【詩篇 91:11-12】的正確解釋相符合的應用。詩篇91的意思是被動的而不是主動的。也就是說,在按神的旨意行事的時候,他會保護你免受傷害,因為傷害你是與他的旨意相違背的﹔而不是出于自己的意志,故意地跳到卡車前面去。

耶穌引用申命記6堛爾g文來回答魔鬼,而這節經文提到了出埃及記17堛漱@件事。

以色列全會眾都遵耶和華的吩咐,按著站口從汛的曠野往前行,在利非訂安營。百姓沒有水喝,所以與摩西爭鬧,說:“給我們水喝吧。”摩西對他們說:“你們為什麼與我爭鬧?為什麼試探耶和華呢?”百姓在那堿ぐ驉A要喝水,就向摩西發怨言,說:“你為什麼將我們從埃及領出來,使我們和我們的兒女并牲畜都渴死呢?”摩西就呼求耶和華說:“我向這百姓怎樣行呢?他們幾乎要拿石頭打死我。”耶和華對摩西說:“你手堮陬菃A先前擊打河水的杖,帶領以色列的幾個長老,從百姓面前走過去。我必在何烈的磐石那堙A站在你面前。你要擊打磐石,從磐石堨畢酗繻y出來,使百姓可以喝。”摩西就在以色列的長老眼前這樣行了。他給那地方起名叫瑪撒(就是“試探”的意思),又叫米利巴(就是“爭鬧”的意思),因以色列人爭鬧,又因他們試探耶和華,說:“耶和華是在我們中間不是?”【出埃及記 17:1-7】
“瑪撒”是“試探”的意思,“米利巴”就是“爭鬧”的意思。注意他們爭鬧的態度。因為他們所要的是合理的需求──水。但他們提出要求的態度構成了向神爭鬧和試探神。他們不是以順服的靈,用信心來求,而是以懷疑、抱怨的態度來爭鬧。這并不意味著神必定不答應這樣的要求。但他們不是按聖經所教的信去行的。

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

Temptation in the Wilderness

Luke 4:1-13; Matt 4:1-11; Mark 1:12,13

The Devil
Jesus
Deuteronomy
"If you are the Son of God, tell this stone to become bread." "It is written: 'Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.'" Deut 8:3 He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your fathers had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD. Deut 8:3
"I will give you all their authority and splendor, for it has been given to me, and I can give it to anyone I want to.  So if you worship me, it will all be yours." "It is written: 'Worship the Lord your God and serve him only.'" Deut 6:13; 10:20 Fear the LORD your God, serve him only and take your oaths in his name. Deut 6:13
"If you are the Son of God," he said, "throw yourself down from here. For it is written: "'He will command his angels concerning you to guard you carefully;  they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.'" Psalm 91:11,12 "It says: 'Do not put the Lord your God to the test.'" Deut 6:16 "Do not test the LORD your God as you did at Massah." Deut 6:16 
Ref to "Massah": Ex 17:1-7

Just as "Out of Egypt I called my son." Matt 2:15, so also Jesus' Temptation in the wilderness was a reflection of Israel's own experience in the desert under the Law of Moses. In fact here Jesus quotes exclusively from the book of Deuteronomy which was a book given to Israel during their own desert wandering. And just as Israel was led into the desert by the cloud by day and the pillar of fire by night, so these represent the Holy Spirit who led Jesus into the desert. (Mark 1:12) And thus is also the case for many who come to Christ. As they cooperate with the Holy Spirit, he will lead them into the desert to prepare them to enter the promise land.

#1 The Bread of Life

While in the wilderness God gave Israel bread from heaven - manna. Jesus did the same in John 6 in feeding the multitudes and he even made reference to manna in that chapter again drawing an analogy between what Israel experienced in the wilderness and his own life. It wasn't turning the stone to bread which was itself the issue, for he not only had to ability to do so, but also later would do so in John 6 for example. The issue was the appropriateness of doing so at this time. For he was attempting to accomplish what Israel had failed to do. As Job once said, "I have not departed from the commands of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread." Job 23:12 Israel had not valued the Word of God. So too today most people value their material things more than the Word of God.

But Deut 8:3 indicates that the way God attempted to teach Israel to live on the Word was by taking away their material things and humbling them, making them dependent on his provision by faith. Humility is the most essential of character qualities prerequisite to coming to faith in Christ. For without it one will not be convicted of sin nor appreciate the Word of God. Thus humilation is often the path through which one comes to Christ.And we see that literally to follow Christ one would have to trod a path of humilation.

#2 Worship & Serve God ONLY

The people of Israel in the desert would have took up Satan on his offer. For they erected a golden calf and worshipped it. And many today unconsciously "sell their souls to Satan", to coin a phrase. For people will give their lives over to the accumulation of material things and to the search for personal power and go on to live for themselves and not for God, and not only so, but also promote such behavior and attitude within the society. These are the servants of the devil. But this can be found also in the Christian community among, for example, those who interpret freedom in Christ as freedom to live a lifestyle of sin, not accepting Christ's Lordship in accordance with 2Cor 5:15 "And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again."

It is interesting also to note that the Deuteronomy verse doesn't use "worship" but "fear". We have lost this correlation in many evangelical circles, even eliminating the fear of God in the presentation of the gospel. Yet Paul says, "Since, then, we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade men." 2 Corinthians 5:11 As was also characteristic of the early church "Then the church throughout Judea, Galilee and Samaria enjoyed a time of peace. It was strengthened; and encouraged by the Holy Spirit, it grew in numbers, living in the fear of the Lord." Acts 9:31  Yet many today even in the Christian community do not live in the fear of the Lord.

#3  Testing God

Yes, the devil can quote the Bible too! But applying it properly in the right spirit is another matter. For there are many who boast of their knowledge of the Bible, but then don't interpret it in the spirit in which it was written. Thus they come out of their Bible study with unBiblical applications.

It is interesting to note that according to Matthew's gospel angels came to minister to Christ after these temptations which is an application more in line with the proper interpretation of Psalm 91:11,12. It seems that the appropriate sense of the application of Psalm 91 is more passive than active. That is, in carrying out God's will He will protect you from such harm as is contrary to His will, rather than proactively throwing yourself in front of a truck.

In response to the devil Jesus quotes from Deuteronomy 6 which makes reference to an incident in Exodus 17.

Exodus 17:1-7 The whole Israelite community set out from the Desert of Sin, traveling from place to place as the LORD commanded. They camped at Rephidim, but there was no water for the people to drink. So they quarreled with Moses and said, "Give us water to drink." Moses replied, "Why do you quarrel with me? Why do you put the LORD to the test?" But the people were thirsty for water there, and they grumbled against Moses. They said, "Why did you bring us up out of Egypt to make us and our children and livestock die of thirst?" Then Moses cried out to the LORD, "What am I to do with these people? They are almost ready to stone me." The LORD answered Moses, "Walk on ahead of the people. Take with you some of the elders of Israel and take in your hand the staff with which you struck the Nile, and go. I will stand there before you by the rock at Horeb. Strike the rock, and water will come out of it for the people to drink." So Moses did this in the sight of the elders of Israel.  And he called the place Massah and Meribah because the Israelites quarreled and because they tested the LORD saying, "Is the LORD among us or not?"
"Massah" means "temptation", and "Meribah" means "strife or contention". Notice carefully the manner of their contention. For their request was for a legitimate need - water. But it was the manner in which they requested it that constituted contention and testing God. They were not asking in faith with a spirit of submission, but rather in a doubtful complaining manner. This is not to say that God will not necessarily answer such requests. But they are not reckoned as acting in Biblical faith.


Verses quoted from the NIV version
The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015