翻譯: English 中文 GB

對觀福音關于受審

公會的審判

馬太福音 26:59-68
59 祭司長和全公會尋找假見証控告耶穌,要治死他。
60 雖有好些人來作假見証,總得不著實據。
  末後有兩個人前來說:

61 “這個人曾說:‘我能拆毀神的殿,三日內又建造起來。’”
62 大祭司就站起來,對耶穌說:
  “你什麼都不回答嗎?這些人作見証告你的是什麼呢?”

63 耶穌卻不言語。
  大祭司對他說:
  “我指著永生神叫你起誓告訴我們,你是神的兒子基督不是?”

64 耶穌對他說:
  “你說的是。
  然而我告訴你們,後來你們要看見人子,
  坐在那權能者的右邊,駕著天上的云降臨。”

65 大祭司就撕開衣服說:
  “他說了僭妄的話,我們何必再用見証人呢?
  這僭妄的話,現在你們都聽見了。

66 你們的意見如何?”
  他們回答說:“他是該死的。”

67 他們就吐唾沫在他臉上,用拳頭打他。也有用手掌打他的,說:
68 “基督啊,你是先知,告訴我們打你的是誰?”

注釋

公會在耶穌被捕之後才尋找証據這個事實表明這不是仔細計劃的,而是出于肉身的衝動。因為在正常情況下,人要先犯了罪,然後才被逮捕。但這堶C穌在還沒有對他有任何指控時就被逮捕。關于這兩個假証人聲稱耶穌曾說:“我能拆毀神的殿,三日內又建造起來。”這不是他的原話。他的原話的唯一記錄可見于約翰福音:

“耶穌回答說:‘你們拆毀這殿,我三日內要再建立起來。’猶太人便說:‘這殿是四十六年才造成的,你三日內就再建立起來嗎?’但耶穌這話是以他的身體為殿。”【約翰福音 2:19-21】

他的話被曲解了。這句話應該被理解為:“如果你們拆毀我身體的這殿,我要在三日內再建立起來。”他沒有說他自己去拆毀人手建造的殿。他也沒有說他要重新建造,而是說:“再建立起來”(“εγειρω”),說的是他從死奡_活。

這種曲解在編造誣陷自己的宗教敵人的罪名時很常見。我曾看到這發生在別人身上,有人對他們自己的某個神學觀點很教條,就偷換概念,使他們對手的觀點魔鬼化,故意或隨意地曲解對手所寫的,為給他們定罪找借口。(比如,見謀殺瑟維特。)

很清楚,耶穌沒有犯任何當死的罪。那麼為什麼要審判他呢?很簡單,因為他羞辱了機構化的宗教領袖。在歷史上,宗教領袖們,甚至聖經之後的基督教堛漫v教領袖們,往往誣告那些羞辱了他們的人,給這樣的人編造出罪名來,以便懲罰他們,甚至置他們于死地。特別注意到這些宗教領袖在羞辱基督時的狂熱,毆打他,嘲弄他。他們對人格甚至沒有表現出一點起碼的尊重。今天與之最相近的要數伊斯蘭的領袖對基督徒和那些在他們的權柄之下的人所表現出的殘暴的蔑視,比如蘇丹的伊斯蘭政府對大批基督徒的屠殺。

這塈畯攽椄搢鴙C穌公開地表示他是基督。這個事實不再被隱藏。大祭司撕開他的衣服,宣告神因此受到了褻瀆。後來在釘十字架時,神也是撕開了他自己的衣服,因他的兒子謀殺,神被褻瀆,他把殿堛犒髐l從上到下撕為兩半,但這也打開了直接通往神的一條路,不再被幔子阻擋。


彼拉多的審判

路加福音 23:1-3
1 眾人都起來,把耶穌解到彼拉多面前。
2 就告他說:“我們見這人誘惑國民,禁止納稅給該撒,并說自己是基督,是王。”
3 彼拉多問耶穌說:“你是猶太人的王嗎?”耶穌回答說:“你說的是。”

馬可福音 15:3-5
3 祭司長告他許多的事。
4 彼拉多又問他說:“你看,他們告你這麼多的事,你什麼都不回答嗎?”
5 耶穌仍不回答,以致彼拉多覺得希奇。

路加福音 23:4-7
4 彼拉多對祭司長和眾人說:“我查不出這人有什麼罪來。”
5 但他們越發極力地說:“他煽惑百姓,在猶太遍地傳道,從加利利起,直到這堣F。”
6 彼拉多一聽見,就問這人是加利利人嗎?
7 既曉得耶穌屬希律所管,就把他送到希律那堨h。那時希律正在耶路撒冷。

注釋

耶穌其實并沒有反對納稅。這是他們在曲解他的意思。因為耶穌只是說:“該撒的物當歸給該撒,神的物當歸給神。” 【馬可福音 12:17】然而,他事實上是猶太人的王。這不是說該撒不是合法的王。但耶穌是萬王之王。當然他們所做的無非是想找一個讓彼拉多覺得站得住腳的罪名來告耶穌。

有意思的是,到目前為止,彼拉多甚至認為耶穌關于他是猶太人的王的立場都不足以給他定罪。他很可能只是把他當作一個幻想家──一個信教的人,只是與宗教領袖們有某些神學上的分歧。彼拉多的確做出兩次努力,試圖在這件事上洗他的手。我不認為這是出于他對耶穌的同情,而是耽心耶穌在眾人中的影響力,不愿意讓羅馬政府(也就是他自己)不必要地為耶穌的死承擔責任,給他所管轄的省帶來更多的混亂。因為就連這些領袖們都向他報告說:“他煽惑百姓,在猶太遍地傳道。”今天,當面對基督的死這個問題時,猶太人事實上把罪推到羅馬人身上,在這件事上洗他們自己的手,我想彼拉多當時看到了宗教領袖們的這個企圖。所以他開始把耶穌當作別人的責任,也就是希律安提帕的責任。


希律的審判

路加福音 23:8-12
8 希律看見耶穌,就很歡喜。因為聽見過他的事,久已想要見他。并且指望看他行一件神蹟。
9 于是問他許多的話,耶穌卻一言不答。
10 祭司長和文士,都站著極力地告他。
11 希律和他的兵丁就藐視耶穌,戲弄他,給他穿上華麗衣服,把他送回彼拉多那堨h。
12 從前希律和彼拉多彼此有仇。在那一天就成了朋友。

注釋

希律安提帕是在耶穌出生時作王的大希律王的兒子。希律安提帕是一個醉心于娛樂的人。他以前曾在一個鉤引他的舞女的要求下砍了施洗約翰的頭。在這塈ぇ葽Q以看到神蹟來取樂。要當心從一個教會跑到另一個教會去尋求娛樂。有些人從一個地方跑到另一個地方,指望看到一個神蹟。他們不是在尋求主。他們只是在尋求一個經歷。希律就是這樣一個人。最終這種人會與給聖經的基督定罪的宗教領袖一道奚落和嘲弄他。

還要注意到在這兩個審判中耶穌是多麼的沉默。因為經上寫到:“你不要說話給愚昧人聽,因他必藐視你智慧的言語。” 【箴言 23:9】

基督(還有基督徒)有使他的敵人聯合起來反對他的效果。注意到這塈ぇ蓱M彼拉多以前彼此有仇。但現在他們有了共同的敵人。很多非基督徒彼此之間有仇。但在反對基督教時,他們往往聯合起來。雖然我們生活在一個容讓和多元化哲學發展的時代,然而就如那個建造巴別塔的時代一樣,這未必是一個健康的事。如我們在啟示錄堜疻爸鴘滿A基督徒在末日堭N成為替罪羊,就像基督那樣。


猶太暴民的審判

路加福音 23:13-25
13 彼拉多傳齊了祭司長和官府,并百姓,
14 就對他們說:“你們解這人到我這堙A說他是誘惑百姓的。看哪,我也曾將你們告他的事,在你們面前審問他,并沒有查出他什麼罪來。
15 就是希律也是如此,所以把他送回來。可見他沒有作什麼該死的事。
16 故此,我要責打他,把他釋放了。(有古卷在此有
17 “每逢這節期巡撫必須釋放一個囚犯給他們。”)

18 眾人卻一齊喊著說:“除掉這個人,釋放巴拉巴給我們。”
19 這巴拉巴是因在城塈@亂殺人下在監堛滿C
20 彼拉多愿意釋放耶穌,就又勸解他們。
21 無奈他們喊著說:“釘他十字架!釘他十字架!”
22 彼拉多第三次對他們說:“為什麼呢?這人作了什麼惡事呢?我并沒有查出他什麼該死的罪來。所以我要責打他,把他釋放了。”
23 他們大聲催逼彼拉多,求他把耶穌釘在十字架上,他們的聲音就得了勝。
24 彼拉多這才照他們所求的定案。
25 把他們所求的那作亂殺人下在監堛瘧孺韙F,把耶穌交給他們,任憑他們的意思行。

更多的材料:

馬太福音 27:19
19 正坐堂的時候,他的夫人打發人來說:“這義人的事,你一點不可管。因為我今天在夢中,為他受了許多的苦。”

馬太福音 27:24-25
24 彼拉多見說也無濟于事,反要生亂,就拿水在眾人面前洗手,說:“流這義人的血,罪不在我,你們承當吧。”
25 眾人都回答說:“他的血歸到我們和我們的子孫身上。”

馬可福音 15:7-8
7 有一個人名叫巴拉巴,和作亂的人一同捆綁。他們作亂的時候,曾殺過人。
8 眾人上去求巡撫,照常例給他們辦。

注釋

在逾越節上施放一個囚犯是彼拉多的慣例。事實上在馬可福音堸O錄到:“眾人上去求巡撫,照常例給他們辦。”【馬可福音 15:8】路加福音記錄說:“每逢這節期巡撫必須釋放一個囚犯給他們。”【路加福音 23:17】因此彼拉多想靠把這件事交在眾人的手堥茯~自己的手。雖然這并不真正使他擺脫他在這件事上的責任。但無論如何,他至少做出試圖要施放耶穌的姿態。我想,也許就像猶大對事情的結果感到吃驚一樣,事情的結果也出乎彼拉多的預料。因為他以為耶穌是一個受眾人歡迎的人物,而且眾人當然會在耶穌與殺人犯之間選擇耶穌。即使他們像希律那樣嘲弄,他們也最多把他當作傻瓜,但不應該比殺人犯更該判死罪。而且我們有彼拉多的妻子在這件事上的見証。如果彼拉多想與他的妻子把關系搞好的話,他也必須放耶穌走。(誰說那時女人不參政。)

神應許了這個情形也許是要進一步地為基督的死的目的提供一個比喻。讓我們把巴拉巴與基督作對比。比如,“巴拉巴”這個名字就是“父親的一個兒子”的意思。

巴拉巴
耶穌基督
“父親的一個兒子” “天父的兒子”
作亂殺人 被誣告煽動作亂
眾人和宗教領袖的選擇 被人所棄絕

看待巴拉巴有兩種方法。其一就是把他看作是罪人的代表,基督替他死了。另一種看他的方法就是他有點像敵基督的。他代表世界在他與基督之間所選擇的那種人。

“他的血歸到我們和我們的子孫身上!”【馬太福音 27:25】 這種表達方式在猶太人中并不罕見。保羅在盡了他對猶太人事奉的責任,卻遭到拒絕之後,經上寫到:“他們既抗拒,毀謗,保羅就抖著衣裳說:‘你們的罪歸到你們自己頭上(“罪”原文作“血”),與我無幹(原文作“我卻幹淨”)。從今以後,我要往外邦人那堨h。’”【使徒行傳 18:6】“歸到我們的子孫身上”不是說讓他們的子孫為耶穌的死負責。因為人不能為他們沒有任何控制的事負責。他們所提議的是如果他們錯了,那麼他們的子孫會經歷這樣一個錯誤決定的後果。當然很多子孫今天會說:“嘿!我可沒有做那個決定。”但罪的後果不可避免地會影響很多代。

“他的血歸到我們身上”的意思當然是為某個人的死負責。但看待這個說法還有另一種方法。因為,“我們借這愛子的血得蒙救贖,過犯得以赦免,乃是照他豐富的恩典。”【以弗所書 1:7】 “按著律法,凡物差不多都是用血潔淨的,若不流血,罪就不得赦免了。”【希伯來書 9:22】被贖的人可以說是他們“曾用羔羊的血,把衣裳洗白淨了。” 【啟示錄 7:14】因此作為基督徒,我們其實就是想要基督的血在我們身上!正像我們有一個巴拉巴和基督之間的對比一樣,我們也有一個當時說:“他的血歸到我們身上”的猶太人和說:“他的血歸到我們身上”的基督徒之間的對比。



Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

The Synoptics on The Trials

The Trial by the Sanhedrin

Matt 26: (web)
59  Now the chief priests, the elders,
and the whole council sought false testimony against Jesus,
that they might put him to death;
60  and they found none. Even though many false witnesses came forward,
they found none. But at last two false witnesses came forward,
61  and said, "This man said, ‘I am able to destroy the temple of God,
and to build it in three days.’"
62  The high priest stood up, and said to him,
"Have you no answer? What is this that these testify against you?"
63  But Jesus held his peace.
The high priest answered him, "I adjure you by the living God,
that you tell us whether you are the Christ, the Son of God."

64  Jesus said to him, "You have said it. Nevertheless, I tell you,
henceforth you will see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of Power,
and coming on the clouds of the sky."
65  Then the high priest tore his clothing, saying,
"He has spoken blasphemy! Why do we need any more witnesses?
Behold, now you have heard his blasphemy.
66  What do you think?" They answered, "He is worthy of death!"
67  Then they spit in his face and beat him with their fists, and some slapped him,
68  saying, "Prophesy to us, you Christ! Who hit you?"

Comments

The fact that the Sanhedrin sought for evidence only after Jesus was arrested indicated that this was not carefully planned, but done out of the impulses of the flesh. For normally people would first commit a crime and then be arrested. But here Jesus was arrested while having no charges against him. Concerning the two false witnesses claiming that Jesus said, "I am able to destroy the temple of God and rebuild it in three days.", that is not what he said. The only record of what he said is found in John which says,
Jesus answered them, "Destroy this temple, and I will raise it again in three days."  The Jews replied, "It has taken forty-six years to build this temple, and you are going to raise it in three days?" But the temple he had spoken of was his body.
This was misinterpreted. The phrase should be interpreted as "If you destroy this temple of my body I will raise it again in three days." He does not speak of himself destroying the man-made temple. Nor does he speak of rebuilding it, but of "raising" it, speaking of his resurrection from the dead.

This kind of misinterpretation is quite common in developing slanderous accusations against one's religious enemies.I have seen it happen to others where someone being very dogmatic about their particular theological point of view will demonize the opposing point of view through a strawman argument, and purposely or carelessly misinterpret the writings of the opposition so as to justify condemning them. (For example see The Murder of Servetus)

It is clear that Jesus had done nothing worthy of death. So why was he put on trial? Very simply because he humiliated the institutional religious leaders. And historically it has not been uncommon even in post Biblical Christianity for religious leaders to slanderously accuse those who humilate them and bring trumped up charges against such people in order to punish them, even putting them to death. Notice particularly the zeal with which these religious leaders attempt to humiliate Christ, hitting him and mocking him. They show little respect even for human dignity. The closest equivalent today would be the violent contempt that Islamic leaders show towards Christians who are under their authority, such as the murder of muiltitudes of Christians in Sudan by the Islamic government leadership.

Here we also see Jesus openly reveal himself as the Christ. This fact was no longer to be hidden. The high priest tore his garments as a declaration that a blasphemy had been committed. Later at the crucifixion God sort of tore His own garments at the blasphemy of the murder of His Son by tearing the veil in the temple in two, but which also opened up a direct path to God not blocked by a curtain.


The Trial by Pontius Pilate

Luke 23:
1  The whole company of them rose up and brought him before Pilate.
2  They began to accuse him, saying, "We found this man perverting the nation, forbidding paying taxes to Caesar, and saying that he himself is Christ, a king."
3  Pilate asked him, "Are you the King of the Jews?" He answered him, "So you say."

Mark 15:
3  The chief priests accused him of many things.
4  Pilate again asked him, "Have you no answer? See how many things they testify against you!"
5  But Jesus made no further answer, so that Pilate marveled.

Luke 23:
4  Pilate said to the chief priests and the multitudes, "I find no basis for a charge against this man."
5  But they insisted, saying, "He stirs up the people, teaching throughout all Judea, beginning from Galilee even to this place."
6  But when Pilate heard Galilee mentioned, he asked if the man was a Galilean.
7  When he found out that he was in Herod’s jurisdiction, he sent him to Herod, who was also in Jerusalem during those days.

Comments

Jesus had not actually opposed payment of taxes. This was a misinterpretation on their part. For Jesus merely said, "Give to Caesar what is Caesar's and to God what is God's." Mark 12:17 However, He was in fact the King of the Jews. Not to say that Caesar was also not a legitimate king. But Jesus is King of kings. What they were trying to do of course was to bring some accusation against him which Pilate would find relevant.

Interestingly enough at this point Pilate did not even find the stand Jesus had taken about being King of the Jews as a basis for charging him. More than likely he simply saw him as a dreamer - a religious man who merely had some theological differences with the religious leaders. Pilate did make  a couple of efforts of washing his hands of the matter. I don't think this was due to his sympathy for Jesus, but rather he was concerned of Jesus' popularity and didn't want the Roman government (namely himself) to unnecessarily take the blame for his death and thus by doing so incite more turmoil in his province. For even these leaders reported to him that, "He stirs up the people all over Judea." Today when confronted with the issue of Christ's death, Jews in fact blame the Romans and wash their own hands of the matter, which I think Pilate saw the religious leaders attempting to do then. So first he reckons him as somebody else's responsibility, namely Herod Antipas.


The Trial by Herod

Luke 23: (web)
8  Now when Herod saw Jesus, he was exceedingly glad, for he had wanted to see him for a long time, because he had heard many things about him. He hoped to see some miracle done by him.
9  He questioned him with many words, but he gave no answers.
10  The chief priests and the scribes stood, vehemently accusing him.
11  Herod with his soldiers humiliated him and mocked him. Dressing him in luxurious clothing, they sent him back to Pilate.
12  Herod and Pilate became friends with each other that very day, for before that they were enemies with each other.

Comments

Herod Antipas was the son of Herod the Great who ruled when Jesus was born. Herod Antipas was a man given over to being entertained. He had previously had John the Baptist's head cut off upon the request of a dancing girl who seduced him. Here Herod wanted to be entertained by a miracle. Beware of going from church to church seeking to be entertained. There are those who go from place to place with the hope of seeing a miracle. They don't seek the Lord. They simply seek an experience. Herod was such a person. In the end such people ridicule and mock Christ of the Bible along with the religious leaders who condemned him.

Notice also so far in these two trials how silent Jesus was. For it is written, "Do not speak to a fool, for he will scorn the wisdom of your words." Pr 23:9

Christ (as well as Christians) has the effect of uniting his enemies against him. Notice here that Herod and Pilate were formerly enemies. But now they had a common enemy who was even more so. Many non-Christians have conflicts with each other. But they tend to unite when opposing Christianity. Though we live in an age where the philosophy of tolerance and pluralism grows, yet just as with those who built the tower of Babel, this is not necessarily a healthy thing. As we read in Revelation in the end Christians will be the scapegoat just as Christ was.


The Trial by the Jewish Mob

Luke 23:
13  Pilate called together the chief priests and the rulers and the people,
14  and said to them, "You brought this man to me as one that perverts the people, and see, I have examined him before you, and found no basis for a charge against this man concerning those things of which you accuse him.
15  Neither has Herod, for I sent you to him, and see, nothing worthy of death has been done by him.
16  I will therefore chastise him and release him."
17  Now he had to release one prisoner to them at the feast.

18  But they all cried out together, saying, "Away with this man! Release to us Barabbas!" —
19  one who was thrown into prison for a certain revolt in the city, and for murder.
20  Then Pilate spoke to them again, wanting to release Jesus,
21  but they shouted, saying, "Crucify! Crucify him!"
22  He said to them the third time, "Why? What evil has this man done? I have found no capital crime in him. I will therefore chastise him and release him."
23  But they were urgent with loud voices, asking that he might be crucified. Their voices and the voices of the chief priests prevailed.
24  Pilate decreed that what they asked for should be done.
25  He released him who had been thrown into prison for insurrection and murder, for whom they asked, but he delivered Jesus up to their will.

Additional Material:

Matt 27:
19  While he was sitting on the judgment seat, his wife sent to him, saying, "Have nothing to do with that righteous man, for I have suffered many things this day in a dream because of him."

Matt 27:
24  So when Pilate saw that nothing was being gained, but rather that a disturbance was starting, he took water, and washed his hands before the multitude, saying, "I am innocent of the blood of this righteous person. You see to it."
25  All the people answered, "May his blood be on us, and on our children!"

Mark 15:
7  There was one called Barabbas, bound with those who had made insurrection, men who in the insurrection had committed murder.
8  The multitude, crying aloud, began to ask him to do as he always did for them.

Comments

This idea of releasing a prisoner during Passover was something that Pilate traditionally did. In fact Mark records that "The crowd came up and asked Pilate to do for them what he usually did." And in Luke (in KJV) it records, "For of necessity he must release one unto them at the feast." So Pilate conveniently washed his hands of the matter by leaving the decision in the hands of the crowd. Although this did not really relinquish his responsibility in the matter. Nonetheless he did at least give the appearance of trying to get Jesus released. And I think that, perhaps just as Judas was surprised at the outcome, so also things didn't turn out as Pilate has expected. For he assumed that Jesus was a popular figure with the crowds and certainly the crowds would chose Him over a murderer. Or even if they reacted as Herod had in mockery, they would simply have reckoned him a fool, but not worthy of death compared to a murderer. And we have also the testimony of Pilate's wife in the matter. If Pilate wanted to be a good terms with his wife he would have to let Jesus go. (Who says women weren't involved in politics back then?)

God had ordained this circumstance perhaps to provide a further allegory as to the purpose of Christ's death. Let's contrast Barabus with Christ. For example the name "Barabus" literally means "a son of the father".
 

Barabus
Jesus Christ
"a son of the father" "the Son of the Father"
Committed murder while inciting a riot Falsely accused of inciting a riot
Chosen by the crowds and the religious leaders Rejected by men

There are a couple of ways of viewing Barabus. One way is to view him as simply representative of sinful man, in whose place Christ died. Another way is to view him as a sort of anti-Christ. He represents the kind of person that the world choses over Christ.

 "Let his blood be on us and on our children!" Matt 27:25 This kind of expression was not uncommon among the Jews. After fulfilling his ministry to the Jews and having been rejected, it is written of Paul,  But when the Jews opposed Paul and became abusive, he shook out his clothes in protest and said to them, "Your blood be on your own heads! I am clear of my responsibility. From now on I will go to the Gentiles." Ac 18:6 The phase "on our children" does not mean to incur the responsiblity of his death on their children. For people cannot be held responsible concerning things they have no control over. Rather they are proposing that if they are wrong, that their children would experience the effects of such a wrong decision. Of course many children today would say, "Hey! I didn't sign up for that." But it is inevitable that the effects of sin are experienced for many generations.

The meaning of "Let his blood be on us" of course is to incur responsibility for one's death. But then there is another way of viewing this expression. For "In him we have redemption through his blood" Eph 1:7 "In fact, the law requires that nearly everything be cleansed with blood, and without the shedding of blood there is no forgiveness."Heb 9:22 And the redeemed will be spoken of as being those who "have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb." Rev 7:14 So as Christians we actually want Jesus' blood to be upon us! And so again just as we have a contrast between Barabus and Christ, so we have a contrast between the Jews then saying, "His blood be upon us", and the Christian who say, "His blood be upon us".


NIV & WEB  used in comments
The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015