翻譯: English 中文 GB

對觀福音關於最後的晚餐

馬太福音26
17  除酵節的第一天,門徒來問耶穌說:“你喫逾越節的筵席,要我們在哪里給你預備?”
18  耶穌說:“你們進城去,到某人那里,對他說:‘夫子說:我的時候快到了。我與門徒要在你家里守逾越節。’”
19  門徒遵著耶穌所吩咐的,就去預備了逾越節的筵席。

20  到了晚上,耶穌和十二個門徒坐席。
21  正喫的時候,耶穌說:
“我實在告訴你們,你們中間有一個人要賣我了。”
22  他們就甚憂愁,
一個一個地問他說:“主,是我嗎?”
23  耶穌回答說:
“同我蘸手在盤子里的,就是他要賣我。
24  人子必要去世,正如經上指著他所寫的,
但賣人子的人有禍了!
那人不生在世上倒好。”
25  賣耶穌的猶大問他說:
“拉比,是我嗎?”耶穌說:“你說的是。”

26  他們喫的時候,耶穌拿起餅來,祝福,
就掰開,遞給門徒,說:“你們拿著喫,這是我的身體。”
27  又拿起杯來,祝謝了,遞給他們,說:“你們都喝這個。
28  因為這是我立約的血
為多人流出來,使罪得赦
29  但我告訴你們,從今以後,我不再喝這葡萄汁,
直到我在我父的國里同你們喝新的那日子。”
30  他們唱了詩,就出來往橄欖山去。

路加福音22
19  又拿起餅來,祝謝了,
就掰開遞給他們,說:
“這是我的身體,為你們舍的,你們也應當如此行,為的是記念我。”
20  飯後也照樣拿起杯來,說:
“這杯是用我血所立的新約,是為你們流出來的。”


注釋

逾越節

最後的晚餐也是摩西律法里所立定的逾越節晚餐,逾越節是為了記念以色列人從埃及的奴役底下逃出來,開始他們到應許之地的征途。當時,神既將把最後一個災殃降臨到埃及。他將派天使擊殺埃及地一切頭生的。神告訴以色列人宰殺羊羔,取血涂在房屋的門框和門楣上。天使看見這血,就越過那幢房屋。當晚,他們還喫無酵餅(沒有酵母菌的餅子)。

同樣地,耶穌基督是我們逾越節的羔羊。“因為我們逾越節的羔羊基督已經被殺獻祭了。”歌林多前書5:8a在舊約里,有許多關於基督的隱喻。他是亞伯獻給神,并受神喜悅的羊(創世紀4)﹔他是那只神賜給亞伯拉罕代替以撒的羊(創世紀22)﹔他是那兩只在利未記16里提到的Yum Kipper(贖罪日)的公山羊,一只為人獻祭,另一只負著罪被帶到城外的曠野去。

基督徒的聖餐

酒和血

耶穌沒有直接地說血和羔羊,而是用比喻的方式說這杯酒是他的血,是為多人的罪得赦免而流的。因為他的祭贖清了我們的罪。但酒與血是不同的,你可以喝酒,但喝血卻是違法的:“只是你要心意堅定,不可喫血,因為血是生命,不可將血(原文作‘生命’)與肉同喫。不可喫血,要倒在地上,如同倒水一樣。”申命記12:23,24  耶穌的血還使人得著生命。耶穌說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,你們若不喫人子的肉,不喝人子的血,就沒有生命在你們里面。喫我肉喝我血的人就有永生,在末日我要叫他復活。我的肉真是可喫的,我的血真是可喝的。 約翰福音6:53-55但很清楚,他不是說照通常的意義喫他的肉喝他的血,而是在打比方──最後的晚餐是如此──基督徒的聖餐也是如此。

新約

他所說的新約已經被耶利米所預言:
耶和華說:“日子將到,我要與以色列家和猶大家另立新約,不像我拉著他們祖宗的手,領他們出埃及地的時候,與他們所立的約。我雖作他們的丈夫,他們卻背了我的約。”這是耶和華說的。耶和華說:“那些日子以後,我與以色列家所立的約乃是這樣:我要將我的律法放在他們里面,寫在他們心上。我要作他們的神,他們要作我的子民。他們各人不再教導自己的鄰舍和自己的弟兄說:‘你該認識耶和華,’因為他們從最小的到至大的都必認識我。我要赦免他們的罪孽,不再記念他們的罪惡。”這是耶和華說的。耶利米書31:31-34
在舊約里,人要遵從一系列的命令,靠人的順服程度來稱義的﹔而在新約里,神從人的內心改造人,稱義是以罪被饒恕(或者名符其實地說是被“忘記了”)為基礎的。

無酵餅

耶穌把他的肉與遇越節的無酵餅聯系起來。酵在聖經里通常有負面的意義。耶穌對他的門徒說:“要防備法利賽人和撒都該人的酵。”馬太福音16:11指的是他們的假教訓,如第12節所說明的那樣。他在豫言里還說:“天國好像面酵,有婦人拿來,藏在三斗面里,直等全團都發起來。”馬太福音13:33。但這也負面的意義,如保羅在加拉太書5:9歌林多前書5:6-8所闡明的那樣:
“你們這自夸是不好的。豈不知一點面酵能使全團發起來嗎?你們既是無酵的面,應當把舊酵除淨,好使你們成為新團。因為我們逾越節的羔羊基督已經被殺獻祭了。所以,我們守這節不可用舊酵,也不可用惡毒(或作“陰毒”)、邪惡的酵,只用誠實真正的無酵餅。”
血指的是神的聖潔──他恨惡罪。它涉及贖清罪的合理性。餅指的是誠懇和真實。它涉及正確的教義和義的生活。當以色列人在曠野徘徊時,神用天上賜下的餅(“嗎哪”)來維持他們。那并不是為了赦免罪,把他們從神的憤怒中救出來,而只是為了活著。耶穌說:
我就是生命的糧。你們的祖宗在曠野喫過嗎哪,還是死了。這是從天上降下來的糧,叫人喫了就不死。我是從天上降下來生命的糧。人若喫這糧,就必永遠活著。我所要賜的糧,就是我的肉,為世人之生命所賜的。” 約翰福音6:48-51
正如新約有兩個方面一樣,基督徒的聖餐里的餅和酒──身體和血──也有兩個方面。
 
逾越節
釘十字架
聖餐
新約
身體
我要將我的律法放在他們里面
寫在他們心上
我要赦免他們的罪孽,
不再記念他們的罪惡。

新約還包括在既將到來的復活里,人的全身都得到救贖。因而不但人的罪得到饒恕,拯救還包括人的全身:心、思維和靈魂。

猶大

猶大是將從宴席上除去的酵,就如保羅指著那幫墨守律法的人──把假教訓帶到基督徒里的假弟兄──寫到的那樣:
這樣的勸導,不是出於那召你們的。一點面酵能使全團都發起來。我在主里很信你們必不懷別樣的心,但攪擾你們的,無論是誰,必擔當他的罪名。弟兄們,我若仍舊傳割禮,為什么還受逼迫呢?若是這樣,那十字架討厭的地方就沒有了。恨不得那攪亂你們的人把自己割絕了。加拉太書5:8-12
有代表酵的幫墨守律法的假教師,還有無法放蕩的基督徒用他們的行為施加影響,保羅如此譴責他們中的一個:
“就是你們聚會的時候,我的心也同在,奉我們主耶穌的名,并用我們主耶穌的權能,要把這樣的人交給撒但,敗壞他的肉體,使他的靈魂在主耶穌的日子可以得救。你們這自夸是不好的。豈不知一點面酵能使全團發起來嗎?你們既是無酵的面,應當把舊酵除淨,好使你們成為新團。因為我們逾越節的羔羊基督已經被殺獻祭了。”歌林多前書5:4-7
這是基督徒里的某些種猶大,聖經里說他們的口氣如同耶穌說猶大一樣嚴厲。甚至在說聖餐時,保羅都寫到:
“所以無論何人,不按理喫主的餅,喝主的杯,就是干犯主的身、主的血了。人應當自己省察,然後喫這餅,喝這杯。因為人喫喝,若不分辨是主的身體,就是喫喝自己的罪了。” 歌林多前書11:27-29

時間──一些細節

逾越節的宴席由尼散月的十四日延續到二十日

猶太人的一天是從日落(黃昏)開始到日落結束的。

利未記23:
正月十四日黃昏的時候是耶和華的逾越節
這月十五日是向耶和華守的無酵節
你們要喫無酵餅七日。
出埃及記12:
1  耶和華在埃及地曉諭摩西、亞倫說:
2  “你們要以本月為正月為一年之首。
3  你們吩咐以色列全會眾說:‘本月初十日,各人要按著父家取羊羔,一家一只。
4  若是一家的人太少,喫不了一只羊羔,本人就要和他隔壁的鄰舍共取一只。你們預備羊羔,要按著人數和飯量計算。
5  要無殘疾一歲的公羊羔,你們或從綿羊里取,或從山羊里取,都可以。
6  要留到本月十四日,在黃昏的時候,以色列全會眾把羊羔宰了
7  各家要取點血,涂在喫羊羔的房屋左右的門框上和門楣上。
當夜要喫羊羔的肉,用火烤了,與無酵餅和苦菜同喫。
9  不可喫生的,斷不可喫水煮的,要帶著頭、腿、五臟,用火烤了喫。
10  不可剩下一點留到早晨,若留到早晨,要用火燒了。
11  你們喫羊羔當腰間束帶,腳上穿鞋,手中拿杖,趕緊地喫,這是耶和華的逾越節。

出埃及記34:25  “你不可將我祭物的血和有酵的餅一同獻上。逾越節的祭物也不可留到早晨。”

一個月十四日的黃昏也就是當月十五日的開始,因為猶太人的一天始於日落,終於日落。逾越節那個禮拜的每一天都有特別的宴席,但只有第一天纔喫逾越節的羔羊。然而第一天從下午六點開始算起,一直延至接下來一天的下午六點。這樣我們就有如下時間順序:

最後的晚餐,也就是喫逾越節的羔羊的逾越節晚餐,大概發生在尼散月十四日快要結束的下午五點至尼散月十五日開始的下午七點之間。然後他們來到客西馬尼,耶穌在那里禱告,門徒們卻睡著了。當天夜里,猶大和兵丁來把耶穌帶走。耶穌在尼散月十五日的中午十二點被釘十字架,於下午三點死去。

有人提出約翰福音把最後的晚餐放在逾越節之前,因為他說:“逾越節以前,耶穌知道自己離世歸父的時候到了。”約翰福音13:1 但約翰指的也許是逾越節晚餐之後的,為時一個禮拜的除酵節宴席,這也被稱作逾越節宴席,比如像利未記23:6所說明的那樣。還有約翰福音18:28 “那時天還早,他們自己卻不進衙門,恐怕染了污穢,不能喫逾越節的筵席。”他指的是除酵節的宴席,也被稱為逾越節宴席。還有在約翰福音19:14里:“那日是預備逾越節的日子”。這是逾越節那個禮拜的禮拜五,也就是安息日(禮拜六)的預備日。這樣去理解,我們就看到約翰福音里的時間順序與對觀福音里的時間順序是完全相符合的。


庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:12 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Synoptics on the Last Supper

Matt 26: (web)
17  Now on the first day of unleavened bread, the disciples came to Jesus, saying to him, "Where do you want us to prepare for you to eat the Passover?"
18  He said, "Go into the city to a certain person, and tell him, ĎThe Teacher says, "My time is at hand. I will keep the Passover at your house with my disciples."Ď"
19  The disciples did as Jesus commanded them, and they prepared the Passover.

20  Now when evening had come, he was reclining at the table with the twelve disciples.
21  As they were eating, he said,
"Most assuredly I tell you that one of you will betray me."
22  They were exceedingly sorrowful,
and each began to ask him, "It isnít me, is it, Lord?"
23  He answered,
"He who dipped his hand with me in the dish, the same will betray me.
24  The Son of Man goes, even as it is written of him,
but woe to that man through whom the Son of Man is betrayed!
It would be better for that man if he had not been born."
25  Judas, who betrayed him, answered,
"It isnít me, is it, Rabbi?" He said to him, "You said it."

26  As they were eating, Jesus took bread, gave thanks for it,
and broke it. He gave to the disciples, and said, "Take, eat; this is my body."
27  He took the cup, gave thanks, and gave to them, saying, "All of you drink it,
28  for this is my blood of the new covenant,
which is poured out for many for the remission of sins.
29  But I tell you that I will not drink of this fruit of the vine from now on,
until that day when I drink it anew with you in my Fatherís kingdom."
30  When they had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.

Luke 22: (web)
19  He took bread, and when he had given thanks,
he broke it, and gave to them, saying,
"This is my body which is given for you. Do this in memory of me."
20  Likewise, he took the cup after supper, saying,
"This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you.


Comments

The Passover

The Last Supper was also the Passover meal instituted in the Law of Moses to remember Israel's exodus from slavery in Egypt to start their journey to the promise land. At that time God was going to bring the last plague on Egypt. He would send an angel of death who would kill all the firstborn. God told Israel to sacrifice lambs and to paint the blood of the lamb on their door posts. Upon seeing the blood of the lamb, the angel of death would PASS OVER that house. They were also to eat the lamb that night along with unleavened bread. (Bread without yeast)

In a similar manner Jesus Christ was our Passover. "For even Christ our passover is sacrificed for us" 1Cor 5:7b. There are many metaphors of Christ in the Old Testament. He was the lamb that Abel sacrificed of which God was pleased. He was the ram which God provided as a substitutionary sacrifice in the place of Isaac when Abraham took him up the mountain. He was the two goats of Yum Kippur (The Day of Atonement) mentioned in Leviticus 16, one sacrificed for the people and the sins placed upon the other which was led outside the city into the wilderness.

The Christian Communion

The Wine and the Blood

But rather than directly speaking of the blood of the lamb, Jesus speaks metaphorically of the cup of wine being his blood pour out for the forgiveness of sins. For his sacrifice paid for our sins. But the wine is different than blood in that you drink wine. It was unlawful to drink blood. "But be sure you do not eat the blood, because the blood is the life, and you must not eat the life with the meat. You must not eat the blood; pour it out on the ground like water." Deut 12:23,24  Jesus' blood is also life-giving.  Jesus said to them, "I tell you the truth, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink." John 6:53-55 But again it is clear that he is not speaking of physically eating his flesh nor drinking his blood, but rather he is speaking metaphorically - and so also in the Last Supper - and so also concerning the Christian communion service.

The New Covenant

The New Covenant he spoke of was already prophecied by Jeremiah saying,
"The time is coming," declares the LORD, "when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant I made with their forefathers when I took them by the hand to lead them out of Egypt, because they broke my covenant, though I was a husband to them," declares the LORD. "This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time," declares the LORD. "I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be my people.  No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother, saying, 'Know the LORD,' because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest," declares the LORD. "For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more." Jer 31:31-34
While the Old Covenant had to do with conforming oneself to obey a set of commands, and justification was based upon the degree of one's obedience, the New Covenant had to do with God changing a person within, and justification was based upon the forgiveness (or literally the "forgetting") of sins.

The Unleavened Bread

Jesus associated his flesh with the unleavened bread of the Passover meal. Leaven (or "yeast") commonly has a negative connotation in the Bible. Jesus told his disciples to "But be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees and Sadducees." Matt 16:11 meaning their false teachings as is clarified in verse 12. And he spoke in a parable that "The kingdom of heaven is like yeast that a woman took and mixed into a large amount of flour until it worked all through the dough." Matt 13:33. But this was a negative connotation as Paul clarifies in Galatians 5:9 and in 1Cor 5:6-8
"Your boasting is not good. Don't you know that a little yeast works through the whole batch of dough? Get rid of the old yeast that you may be a new batch without yeast-- as you really are. For Christ, our Passover lamb, has been sacrificed. Therefore let us keep the Festival, not with the old yeast, the yeast of malice and wickedness, but with bread without yeast, the bread of sincerity and truth."
The blood concerns God's holiness - his hatred of sin. It deals with a judicial matter of paying for sin. The bread deals with sincerity and truth. It deals with right doctine and right living. While Israel was wandering in the desert God sustained them with bread ("manna") from heaven. It was not for justification. It was not in order to be saved from God's wrath. It was simply a matter of living life. So also with Jesus who said:
"I am the bread of life. Your forefathers ate the manna in the desert, yet they died.  But here is the bread that comes down from heaven, which a man may eat and not die.  I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world." John 6:48-51
Just as there are two aspects to the New Covenant, so there are these two aspects of bread and wine - body and blood - in the Christian communion.
 
Passover
Crucifixion
Communion
New Covenant
Bread
Body
Bread
I will put my law in their minds
and write it on their hearts
Blood
Blood
Wine
I will forgive their wickedness
and will remember their sins no more.

And  the New Covenant also incorporates the ultimate redemption of one's body in the coming resurrection. And thus not only is one justified, but salvation also includes the whole person - heart, mind and soul.

Judas

Judas was the leaven to be removed from the feast, just as Paul wrote of the Judaizers - false brethren who introduced false teachings into the Christian community.
That kind of persuasion does not come from the one who calls you. "A little yeast works through the whole batch of dough."  I am confident in the Lord that you will take no other view. The one who is throwing you into confusion will pay the penalty, whoever he may be.  Brothers, if I am still preaching circumcision, why am I still being persecuted? In that case the offense of the cross has been abolished.  As for those agitators, I wish they would go the whole way and emasculate themselves! Gal 5:8-12
There are legalistic false teachers who represent the yeast, and then there are also the lawless licentious Christians who influence by their behavior, of whom Paul condemns such a one
"When you are assembled in the name of our Lord Jesus and I am with you in spirit, and the power of our Lord Jesus is present, hand this man over to Satan, so that the sinful nature may be destroyed and his spirit saved on the day of the Lord. Your boasting is not good. Don't you know that a little yeast works through the whole batch of dough? Get rid of the old yeast that you may be a new batch without yeast." 1Cor 5:4-7
These are some of the Judases of the Christian community and the Bible speaks of them with similar harshness as Jesus does of Judas. Thus even concerning the communion service Paul writes:
"Therefore, whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of sinning against the body and blood of the Lord.  A man ought to examine himself before he eats of the bread and drinks of the cup.  For anyone who eats and drinks without recognizing the body of the Lord eats and drinks judgment on himself." 1Cor 11:27-29

Timing - a technical point

The paschal feast, the feast of the Passover, extending from the 14th to the 20th day of the month Nisan

Understand that Jewish days go from sunset (twilight) to sunset.

Lev 23:
The LORD's Passover begins at twilight on the fourteenth day of the first month.
On the fifteenth day of that month the LORD's Feast of Unleavened Bread begins;
for seven days you must eat bread made without yeast.
Ex 12:
1  The LORD said to Moses and Aaron in Egypt,
2  "This month is to be for you the first month, the first month of your year.
3  Tell the whole community of Israel that on the tenth day of this month each man is to take a lamb for his family, one for each household.
4  If any household is too small for a whole lamb, they must share one with their nearest neighbor, having taken into account the number of people there are. You are to determine the amount of lamb needed in accordance with what each person will eat.
5  The animals you choose must be year-old males without defect, and you may take them from the sheep or the goats.
6  Take care of them until the fourteenth day of the month, when all the people of the community of Israel must slaughter them at twilight.
7  Then they are to take some of the blood and put it on the sides and tops of the doorframes of the houses where they eat the lambs.
That same night they are to eat the meat roasted over the fire, along with bitter herbs, and bread made without yeast.
9  Do not eat the meat raw or cooked in water, but roast it over the fire-- head, legs and inner parts.
10  Do not leave any of it till morning; if some is left till morning, you must burn it.
11  This is how you are to eat it: with your cloak tucked into your belt, your sandals on your feet and your staff in your hand. Eat it in haste; it is the LORD's Passover.

Ex 34:25  "Do not offer the blood of a sacrifice to me along with anything containing yeast, and do not let any of the sacrifice from the Passover Feast remain until morning."

The twilight of the 14th day of the month is also the beginning of the 15th day of the month as Jewish days go from sunset to sunset. You would have a special meal each day of the week of Passover feast, but only on the first day would you eat the Passover lamb. However the first day would cover all the way from 6:00 pm to 6:00 pm. So we have the following time scheme.

The Last Supper which was the Passover meal in which the Passover lamb was eaten may have occurred from something like 5:00 pm at the end of the 14th Day of Nisan to 7 pm at the beginning of the 15th Day of Nisan. Then they went to the garden of Gethsemane where Jesus prayed and the disciples fell asleep. In the middle of the night Judas and the guards came taking Jesus away. Jesus hung on the cross on the 15th Day of Nisan from 12:00 noon to 3:00 pm when he died.

Some have proposed that the gospel of John places the Last Supper on the day before the Passover when he says, "It was just before the Passover Feast." John 13:1 But John could have been referring to the Feast of Unleavened Bread which was a week long feast also known as the Passover Feast, following the Passover meal as Leviticus 23:6 reveals. So also in John 18:28 "By now it was early morning, and to avoid ceremonial uncleanness the Jews did not enter the palace; they wanted to be able to eat the Passover." He was referring to the meals associated with the Feast of Unleavened Bread, which was also known as the Passover Feast. Then also in Joh 19:14  "It was the day of Preparation of Passover Week". This was a Friday of Passover Week which was a preparation day for the Sabbath (Saturday). Reading it this way we see that John is completely consistent with the timing of the Synoptics.

NIV used in comments
The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015