翻譯: English 中文 GB

對關福音關于“好”人

路加福音 18:18-27
18 有一個官問耶穌說:“良善的夫子,我該作什麼事才可以承受永生?”
19 耶穌對他說:“你為什麼稱我是良善的?
  除了神一位之外,再沒有良善的

20 誡命你是曉得的:‘不可奸淫,不可殺人,不可偷盜,
  不可作假見証,當孝敬父母。’”

21 那人說:“這一切我從小都遵守了。”
22 耶穌聽見了,就說:“你還缺少一件:
  要變賣你一切所有的,分給窮人,就必有財寶在天上﹔
  你還要來跟從我。”

23 他聽見這話,就甚憂愁,因為他很富足。
24 耶穌看見他就說:“有錢財的人進神的國,是何等的難哪!
25 駱駝穿過針的眼,比財主進神的國還容易呢。”
26 聽見的人說:“這樣,誰能得救呢?”
27 耶穌說:“在人所不能的事,在神卻能。”

今天有很多人甚至隨隨便便地使用“良善”或“好”這個詞,但除了神之外,再沒有良善的。因為如此,承受永生不能取決于一個人是不是好人,否則就沒有人能夠承受永生。但這個人似乎認為他可以靠“”什麼來承受永生。很多人今天尋求神的人問神同樣的問題──“我該做什麼事才可以承受永生?”甚至福音派的人都往往不能正確地會答這個問題,把注意力放在某個技術上,比如作如此這般這般的禱告或參加一個教會。但承受永生不在于做什麼事,而在于信基督。

約翰福音 6:28-29
28 眾人問他說:“我們當行什麼,才算作神的工呢?”
29 耶穌回答說:“信神所差來的,這就是作神的工。”

聖經表明信不是做工。

羅馬書 4:4-5 做工的得工價,不算恩典,乃是該得的﹔惟有不做工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。

問題在于這個人不認為他自己是個罪人,因此對這樣的信沒有准備。因為信基督不但包括信基督為主,還包括信基督為救主。但這個人還沒有認識到他需要從他固有的罪性堻Q救出來。

今天有很多基督徒把基督當作救主,但在實踐中卻不把基督當作真正的主。而這個人則更傾向于墨守律法,把基督當作主,但不把基督當作救主。我們應該為這樣的人做什麼呢?也許我們應該照基督做的去做。我們應該使他們認識到罪。是的,這包括羞辱他們──但那正是事奉的一部分。

就像神帶著以色列人從埃及來到西乃山一樣,基督把這個人帶到律法。“因為律法本是叫人知罪。” 【羅馬書 3:20b】 “這樣,律法是我們訓蒙的師傅,引我們到基督那堙A使我們因信稱義。”【加拉太書 3:24】然而這個人太自以為義,只看到律法的文字,但看不到律法的靈,這在信教的猶太人當中顯然是常見的態度。當耶穌要他變賣他所有的一切,分給窮人時,他的貪婪就顯露出來。在我們受到挑戰拋棄我們心中的偶像之前,我們往往意識不到我們在心中崇拜這些偶像。富人很容易以為他們自己是好人。他們會認為他們的富有是神對他們自己的良善的賞賜。但聖經說:“還是你藐視他豐富的恩慈、寬容、忍耐,不曉得他的恩慈是領你悔改呢?” 【羅馬書 2:4】雅各寫到:“我親愛的弟兄們請聽,神豈不是揀選了世上的貧窮人,叫他們在信上富足,并承受他所應許給那些愛他之人的國嗎?你們反倒羞辱貧窮人。那富足人豈不是欺壓你們,拉你們到公堂去嗎?”【雅各書 2:5-6】

這是富人的特徵。但人固有的罪性更容易在面對生活中的困難時顯露出來,這就是為什麼神帶著人經過曠野。

“你也要記念耶和華你的神在曠野引導你這四十年,是要苦煉你,試驗你,要知道你心內如何,肯守他的誡命不肯。他苦煉你,任你飢餓,將你和你列祖所不認識的嗎哪賜給你吃,使你知道,人活著不是單靠食物,乃是靠耶和華口堜狴X的一切話。”申命記 8:2-3

這個人所欠缺的是謙卑。然而謙卑是引人認罪,悔改和尊敬神的道的最基本的品德。“但我所看顧的,就是虛心痛悔,因我話而戰兢的人(“虛心”原文作“貧窮”)。”【以賽亞書 66:2b】

正是這樣的“好”人,耶穌發現難救。因為他們沒有為接受永生的禮物做好必要的准備。甚至神都說在他們中造就使人得救的信“難”,雖然不是不可能。



Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

The Synoptics on "Good" People

Lk 18:
18  A certain ruler asked him, "Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?"
19  "Why do you call me good?" Jesus answered. "No one is good-- except God alone.
20  You know the commandments: 'Do not commit adultery, do not murder, do not steal, do not give false testimony, honor your father and mother.'"
21  "All these I have kept since I was a boy," he said.
22  When Jesus heard this, he said to him, "You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me."
23  When he heard this, he became very sad, because he was a man of great wealth.
24  Jesus looked at him and said, "How hard it is for the rich to enter the kingdom of God!
25  Indeed, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God."
26  Those who heard this asked, "Who then can be saved?"
27  Jesus replied, "What is impossible with men is possible with God."

There are many even today who casually use the word "good", but no one is good except God alone. And since that is the case, then inheriting eternal life cannot be a function of whether one is good, else no one would inherit eternal life. But this man seemed to think he could inherit eternal life by "doing" something. And there are many of those who seek God today who ask the same thing of God - "What must I do to inherit eternal life?"  Even the Evangelical community has often answered in inappropriate ways focussing on some technique like praying such and such a prayer or joining a church. But inheriting eternal life is not a matter of doing something, but of believing in Christ.

John 6:
28 Then they asked him, "What must we do to do the works God requires?"
29  Jesus answered, "The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent."
And the Bible indicates that faith is not a work.
Rom 4:4,5 Now when a man works, his wages are not credited to him as a gift, but as an obligation.  However, to the man who does not work but trusts God who justifies the wicked, his faith is credited as righteousness.
Yes, the faith is an application oriented faith, but the object of faith is Christ, not one's own works.

The problem this man had was that he didn't reckon himself a sinner and so was not prepared for such faith. For faith in Christ includes not only faith in Christ as Lord, but also faith in Christ as Savior. But this man had yet to recognize his need to be saved from his innate sinfulness.

There are many today among the Christian community who reckon Christ as Savior, but not really as Lord - in practice. But this man was more along the legalistic lines, reckoning Christ more as Lord, but not as Savior. What should we do with such people? Perhaps we should do just what Christ did. We should convict them of sin. Yes, this involves humilating them - but that's just part of the ministry.

As when God leads the people of Israel out of Egypt to Mount Sinai, so Christ leads this man first to the Law. For "through the law we become conscious of sin." Rom 3:20  "So the law was put in charge to lead us to Christ that we might be justified by faith." Galatians 3:24 However this man was too self-righteous, reckoning only the letter of the Law and not its spirit, which was apparently a common attitude among religious Jews. For his greed was revealed when he was told to give away all the material things he had. Often we may not realize what idols we hold in our hearts until we are challenged to get rid of them. And it's easy for rich people to reckon themselves good. They may reckon their riches to be rewards from God for their own goodness. But the Bible says, "do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, tolerance and patience, not realizing that God's kindness leads you toward repentance?" Rom 2:4 And James writes, "Listen, my dear brothers: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him?  But you have insulted the poor. Is it not the rich who are exploiting you? Are they not the ones who are dragging you into court?" James 2:5,6

Such is characteristic of the rich. But one's innate sinfulness is more easily revealed in dealing with the troubles of life, which is why God led the people through the desert.

Remember how the LORD your God led you all the way in the desert these forty years, to humble you and to test you in order to know what was in your heart, whether or not you would keep his commands. He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your fathers had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD. Deut 8:2,3
Humility is what this man lacked. Yet humility is the most essential of character qualities in that it leads to conviction of sin and repentance and a respect for God's Word. "This is the one I esteem: he who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word." Is 66:2

It is such "good" people as characterized by this rich man whom Jesus finds it difficult to come to salvation. For they are not prepared to meet the acceptable criteria necessary to receive the gift of eternal life. And developing saving faith in them even God says is "difficult", though not impossible.


NIV used in comments
The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015