翻譯: English 中文 GB

對觀福音關于婚姻、離婚和通奸

馬太福音 5:31-32
“又有話說:
  ‘人若休妻,就當給她休書。’

 只是我告訴你們,
  凡休妻的,若不是為淫亂的緣故

  就是叫她作淫婦了
  人若娶這被休的婦人,也是犯奸淫了。”

馬可福音 10:2-12
2 有法利賽人來問他說:“人休妻可以不可以?”意思要試探他。

3 耶穌回答說:“摩西吩咐你們的是什麼?”

4 他們說:“摩西許人寫了休書便可以休妻。”

5 耶穌說:“摩西因為你們的心硬,所以寫這條例給你們。
6 但從起初創造的時候,神造人是造男造女。
7 因此,人要離開父母,與妻子連合,二人成為一體。
8 既然如此,夫妻不再是兩個人,乃是一體的了。
9 所以神配合的,人不可分開。”

10 到了屋堙A門徒就問他這事。
11 耶穌對他們說:“凡休妻另娶的,就是犯奸淫,辜負他的妻子
12 妻子若離棄丈夫另嫁,也是犯奸淫了。”

路加福音 16:18
凡休妻另娶的,就是犯奸淫
娶被休之妻的,也是犯奸淫


離婚

離婚本身并不是不允許的。因為離婚有合法的原因。甚至神都離了婚。

“背道的以色列行淫,我為這緣故給她休書休她。我看見她奸詐的妹妹猶大,還不懼怕,也去行淫。”【耶利米書 3:8】

然而,不能因為瑣細的原因離婚,也不能隨便離婚。保羅在這種意義下寫到:“丈夫也不可離棄妻子。”【哥林多前書 7:11b】他接下來說在與不信的人的婚姻堙A在有些情況下可以選擇離婚。

再婚

離婚不是犯奸淫。但再婚──顯然是與不同的人──則是犯奸淫。因此,這種再婚對離了婚的基督徒來說是不允許的。他們不能再與別人結婚,除非是與原來的配偶復婚。

“至于那已經嫁娶的,我吩咐他們
 (其實不是我吩咐,乃是主吩咐說):

  妻子不可離開丈夫﹔
  若是離開了,不可再嫁
  或是仍同丈夫和好。”
【哥林多前書 7:10-11a】

今天很多的基督徒都不接受這個限制,他們把“基督堛漲菪恁邪挭嬰芋壯皕Q做什麼就做什麼的自由”。

那麼馬太福音5:32堛滷囓饃q句又怎麼講呢?

“只是我告訴你們,凡休妻的,若不是為淫亂的緣故,就是叫她作淫婦了。人若娶這被休的婦人,也是犯奸淫了。”【馬太福音 5:32】

問題是:“淫亂”指的是什麼情形呢

從耶穌沒有詳細地解釋這個條件從句,而且馬可福音和路加福音媄鬗_離婚的經文堻ㄗS有這個條件從句這個事實,我們可以得出什麼呢?(雖然這個條件從句再次出現于【馬太福音 19:3-9】堙^。我推測其意思是很明顯的,用不著詳細解釋。注意到在這堜M馬太福音第十九章堛顳{們接下來都沒有問他這個條件從句是什麼意思。這堥洏峈熙o個詞是“πορνεια”。讓我們考慮一下幾種可能。

1、一種說法就是如果配偶有奸淫的行為,人就可以離婚然後又再婚。但這無法解釋為什麼馬可福音和路加福音,還有保羅書信堛漲傢鷏g文堻ㄗS有這個條件從句。事實上在【哥林多前書 7:2】堙A保羅沒有把淫亂的事作為離婚的理由,而是作為結婚的理由。還有,如果這果真是正確的解釋,那麼就引出好幾個問題,因此缺乏詳細的解釋就使得這個解釋可疑。

比如,離婚後再婚的合法性是不是完全取決于先前的離婚是不是因為奸淫?

假如說一個人因為他的妻子抱怨太多或其它什麼莫明其妙的原因與她離婚。也就是說,這個條件從句所說的例外不適用。她離婚後又與別人結婚,并可以怪她的前夫迫使她犯奸淫。但如果她犯了奸淫,那說明她的第二次婚姻是非法的,她其實仍然與她的前夫結著婚。而使她犯奸淫的前夫現在覺得他可以追求第二次婚姻了,因為這個條件從句所說的例外已經滿足了。但其之所以得到滿足如果事實上原來離婚的原因不是奸淫嗎?誰是“無辜的”呢?那麼在此之後這個女人處于什麼狀態呢?她的第二次婚姻現在是不是合法了呢?

這樣引出的很多問題似乎與這個條件句的簡短,缺乏任何詳細說明,而且事實上在別處根本沒有提到這些事實與直覺相反。盡管如此,這個解釋本身証明離婚不能解除婚姻。

2、耶穌會不會指出明顯的,只是在此加強他所說的其它的話。考慮他在馬可福音堜畛羲滿G“凡休妻另娶的,就是犯奸淫,辜負他的妻子﹔妻子若離棄丈夫另嫁,也是犯奸淫了。”【馬可福音 10:11-12】但如果他們從一個耶穌說的屬于犯奸淫的婚姻娷鬙X來又怎麼樣呢?這個條件從句所說的例外可以被解釋成與離婚的“原因”無關,而這個條件從句所說的例外之的是婚姻本身是非法的情形。也就是說,他的意思是:“只是我告訴你們,凡休合法的妻子的,就是叫她作淫婦了。人若娶這被休的婦人,也是犯奸淫了。”因此他是在說這個原則不適用于從非法的婚姻娷鬙X來。對馬可福音和路加福音沒有這個條件從句的解釋是:什麼是“合法”的婚姻可以按邏輯從這一段得出來,因此提起它就有些重復了。這個解釋最容易與這一段相符,而不需要引進不必要的復雜性。

3、另一個可能就是他說的是摩西律法堛漕ヾA他在給猶太人說的時候他們也許一般都知道,但對我們外邦人來說也許不太清楚。有意思的是在【馬太福音 5:32】堙A這句話直譯過來就是:“若不是為淫亂的道”──指的也許是聖經堛漪Y一段。

耶穌在這堜M在【馬太福音 19:3-9】婸〞漱]許是摩西律法,這就是為什麼這個條件從句所說的例外沒有出現在【馬可福音 10:2-12】【路加福音 16:18】堙A因為馬太福音當時是寫給猶太人的,這個條件從句所說的例外與他們有關,而與外邦人則沒有太大關系。馬太福音所指的是許配結婚,但尚未完婚的這段時間。在摩西律法,按照【申命記 22:13-21】。不得不承認,按照律法,其懲罰是死,而不是離婚,但猶太人一般將此解釋成最嚴重的懲罰,而不是必要的懲罰。這樣一件事發生在馬利亞和約瑟身上。當馬利亞已經許配了約瑟,但還沒有完婚的時候,馬利亞懷了孕。

“耶穌基督降生的事,記在下面:他母親馬利亞已經許配了約瑟,還沒有迎娶,馬利亞就從聖靈懷了孕。她丈夫約瑟是個義人,不愿意明明地羞辱她,想要暗暗地把她休了。”【馬太福音 1:18-19】

因此在應用申命記第二十二章堛澈萿k時,約瑟考慮的是離婚而不是死刑。又注意到雖然馬利亞只是許配了約瑟,但約瑟被稱為丈夫。然而,如果他當時若在那種情況下離婚,又與別人結婚,那就不算是犯奸淫。但如果他已經“迎娶”,也就是說完了婚,然後離婚,又與別人再婚,那麼在耶穌看來,就是犯奸淫了。

然而這個解釋的弱點是它看上去也許有點太窄,也許不到點子上,因為它說的是訂婚而不是已經成立的婚姻。但這也許正是馬可福音和路加福音沒有提到它的原因。而另一個問題是它意味著訂了婚就不能分手,除非是因為淫亂的緣故。但也許那正是耶穌的立場,這種訂婚應當基本上被看作是婚誓,但淫亂的例外是可以理解的,因為婚姻畢竟還沒有完成。這就把訂婚劃在一個特別的情形或類別,這也許可以解釋為什麼它是一個例外,而且是個次要的例外,沒有在別的地方提到。

還有,雖然外邦人的文化堣]興訂婚,然而猶太人的訂婚也許更嚴肅。我覺得它當然比西方文化中的“訂婚”更嚴肅。在西方文化中根本沒有從訂婚堙岑鰼B”一說。


單身

馬太福音 19:10-12
10 門徒對耶穌說:“人和妻子既是這樣,倒不如不娶。”
11 耶穌說:“這話不是人都能領受的。惟獨賜給誰,誰才能領受。
12 因為有生來是閹人,也有被人閹的,并有為天國的緣故自閹的。
  這話誰能領受,就可以領受。”

有些人錯誤地把耶穌在這婸〞熙怮幙o句話解釋成指的是他在這幾節的前面說的離婚後再婚是犯奸淫,你可以在前面讀到。但這堛漱W下文明確地表明那不是他所指的,他指的是門徒們所說的是對的──不結婚更好。

而且這也得到了使徒保羅的肯定──“我說男不近女倒好。” 【哥林多前書 7:1b】并且,“我愿意眾人像我一樣。只是各人領受神的恩賜,一個是這樣,一個是那樣。”【哥林多前書 7:7】這堙A他沒有把單身看作是一個負擔,而是一個恩賜。

他還給了這個忠告:“論到童身的人,我沒有主的命令,但我既蒙主憐恤,能作忠心的人,就把自己的意見告訴你們。因現今的艱難,據我看來,人不如守素安常才好。”【哥林多前書 7:25-26】“現今的艱難”(這也可被譯作“現今的需要”)指的是為准備基督的到來而做的事奉的工作。他接著說:“你若娶妻,并不是犯罪﹔處女若出嫁,也不是犯罪。然而這等人肉身必受苦難,我卻愿意你們免這苦難。弟兄們,我對你們說,時候減少了。從此以後,那有妻子的,要像沒有妻子﹔”【哥林多前書 7:28-29】

他還說:“我愿你們無所挂慮。沒有娶妻的,是為主的事挂慮,想怎樣叫主喜悅﹔娶了妻的,是為世上的事挂慮,想怎樣叫妻子喜悅。婦人和處女也有分別。沒有出嫁的,是為主的事挂慮,要身體、靈魂都聖潔﹔已經出嫁的,是為世上的事挂慮,想怎樣叫丈夫喜悅。我說這話是為你們的益處,不是要牢籠你們,乃是要叫你們行合宜的事,得以殷勤服事主,沒有分心的事。”【哥林多前書 7:32-35】

最後:“這樣看來,叫自己的女兒出嫁是好,不叫她出嫁更是好。丈夫活著的時候,妻子是被約束的。丈夫若死了,妻子就可以自由,隨意再嫁,只是要嫁這在主堶悸漱H。然而按我的意見,若常守節更有福氣。我也想自己是被神的靈感動了。”【哥林多前書 7:38-40】

為什麼按照聖經單身更好呢?

因為我們有工作要做,而時間不多了。因此我們不應該浪費我們的時間,把時間花在婚姻關系堙C當然那些結了婚的人有義務要盡他們在婚姻中的責任,就如那些有孩子的要對孩子負責一樣。但單身的不應該把結婚看作是必須的,也不要被那些對單身的人持鄙視態度的人逼著結婚。


婚姻與事奉

從另一方面講,雖然婚姻招來責任,聖經提倡事奉的責任比婚姻的責任更優先,雖然這與現代的很多福音派的想法相反。

耶穌說:“我實在告訴你們,人為我和福音,撇下房屋,或是弟兄、姐妹、父母、兒女、田地,沒有不在今世得百倍的,就是房屋、弟兄、姐妹、母親、兒女、田地,并且要受逼迫,在來世必得永生。”【馬可福音 10:29-30】

今天我所遇到的基督徒往往以他們已經結了婚或他們有孩子來作為他們不事奉的借口。我要把基督徒一般地劃到懶惰的一類堙C保羅給提摩太寫到:“凡在軍中當兵的不將世務纏身,好叫那招他當兵的人喜悅。” 【提摩太後書 2:4】但很多基督徒根本沒有把他們自己看作是給基督當兵的。他們禮拜天去去教會,唱些歌,聽聽講道,然後回家,就覺得他們已經盡了一周應盡的屬靈的責任。雖然他們也許會出錢讓別人來替他們做事奉的工作,他們自己卻看不到有責任去事奉。很多這樣的人去教會不是去服務,而是去享受服務。他們不去滿足別人的需要,而只是去滿足他們自己的需要。要到什麼時候這樣的基督徒才能走出戴尿布的階段去工作呢?而機構化教會的領袖們在這件事上也不是無可指摘。因為很多這樣的人在會眾奡ㄜ珜o樣的態度,他們把會眾當作一群不成熟的,傻乎乎的羊,除了最卑下的活以外什麼也做不了,而不是盡力地去完成以弗所書第四章的目標,這一章是這樣結束的:“全身都靠他聯絡得合式,百節各按各職照著各體的功用彼此相助,便叫身體漸漸增長,在愛中建立自己。”【以弗所書 4:16】但今天只有某些人做工,而其它大部分人基本上什麼也不做。而教會的目的應該是:為要成全聖徒,各盡其職建立基督的身體,直等到我們眾人在真道上同歸于一,認識神的兒子,得以長大成人,滿有基督長成的身量。使我們不再作小孩子,中了人的詭計和欺騙的法術,被一切異教之風搖動,飄來飄去,就隨從各樣的異端。惟用愛心說誠實話,凡事長進,連于元首基督。”【以弗所書 4:12-15】


淫念和犯奸淫

馬太福音 5:28 只是我告訴你們,凡看見婦女就動淫念的,這人心堣w經與她犯奸淫了。

犯奸淫并不解除婚姻,但就如神在【耶利米書 3:8】堛滷“峞A犯奸淫可以作為離婚的原因。然而,聖經似乎說雖然【馬太福音 5:28】說的淫念與犯奸淫同屬一類,然而神對它似乎與對待明顯的性關系的形式有所不同。因為在摩西律法離,更明顯的形式是要處以死刑的,而對懷著淫念看女人在摩西律法之下卻沒有懲罰。然而按照聖經,在原則上和實踐中大家都明白一件會自然地帶來另一件。但甚至在舊約的有些地方也認識到淫念本身的罪性。

“我與眼睛立約,怎能戀戀瞻望處女呢?”【約伯記 31:1】

“我若受迷惑,向婦人起淫念,在鄰舍的門外蹲伏。就愿我的妻子給別人推磨,別人也與她同室。因為這是大罪,是審判官當罰的罪孽。這本是火焚燒,直到毀滅,必拔除我所有的家產。”【約伯記 31:9-12】

身後的婚姻?

馬太福音 22:30 當復活的時候,人也不娶也不嫁,乃像天上的使者一樣。

路加福音 20:34-35
耶穌說:“這世界的人,有娶有嫁。惟有算為配得那世界,與從死奡_活的人,也不娶也不嫁。

婚姻只在今生才有。當你仔細想一想,人結婚,有性關系。這是一個與肉身非常有關的事。然而,它同時又是一個像徵或其它什麼事的影子。因為神創造了婚姻來作為基督與教會之間的關系的像徵。

“為這個緣故,人要離開父母,與妻子連合,二人成為一體。這是極大的奧秘,但我是指著基督和教會說的。”【以弗所書 5:31-32】


Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

The Synoptics on 
Marriage, Divorce, Adultery

Matt 5:31,32
"It has been said, 'Anyone who divorces his wife must give her a certificate of divorce.'
But I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for marital unfaithfulness,
causes her to become an adulteress, and anyone who marries the divorced woman commits adultery.

Mark 10:
2  Some Pharisees came and tested him by asking, "Is it lawful for a man to divorce his wife?"

3  "What did Moses command you?" he replied.

4  They said, "Moses permitted a man to write a certificate of divorce and send her away."

5  "It was because your hearts were hard that Moses wrote you this law," Jesus replied.
6  "But at the beginning of creation God 'made them male and female.'
7  'For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife,
8  and the two will become one flesh.' So they are no longer two, but one.
9  Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate."

10  When they were in the house again, the disciples asked Jesus about this.
11  He answered, "Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery against her.
12  And if she divorces her husband and marries another man, she commits adultery."

Luke 16:18  Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery,
and the man who marries a divorced woman commits adultery.


Divorce

Divorce itself is not disallowed. For there are legitimate reasons for divorce. Even God got divorced.
Jer 3:8 "I gave faithless Israel her certificate of divorce and sent her away because of all her adulteries."
However, it should not be for trivial reasons nor done casually. And it is in this sense that Paul writes in 1Cor 7:11 "And a husband must not divorce his wife." And in the verse following this he makes it somewhat optional in the case of those being married to unbelievers.

Remarriage

It is not divorce that constitutes adultery. Rather it is the remarriage - obviously to someone else - that consitutes adultery. Thus such remarriage is disallowed for Christians who have been divorced. They must remain unmarried or be reconciled to their spouse.
"To the married I give this command (not I, but the Lord):
A wife must not separate from her husband.
But if she does, she must remain unmarried or else be reconciled to her husband." 1Cor 7:10,11
This places limitations generally not accepted by many in the Christian community today, who interpret "freedom in Christ" as "freedom to do whatever I feel like doing".

What about the exception clause in Matt 5:32?

"But I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for marital unfaithfulness, causes her to become an adulteress, and anyone who marries the divorced woman commits adultery." (NIV)
The question is: What situations does the "marital unfaithfulness" (or "fornication") refer to?

What can we infer from the fact that Jesus doesn't elaborate upon this phrase, nor is this exception clause found in the Mark and Luke passages on divorce? (Though it is found again in Matt 19:3-9)  I would infer that the meaning is obvious enough as to not require elaboration. Notice that neither here nor in Matt 19 did the disciples ask further his meaning concerning this exception clause. The word being used is "porneia". Let's consider possibilities.

1. One idea is that one can divorce and remarry if their spouse commits any act of fornication. But this doesn't explain why the exception clause is missing in the Mark and Luke passages, nor is is mentioned in Paul's writings. In fact in 1Cor 7:2 Paul gives fornication not as a reason for divorce, but rather a reason for marriage. Furthermore if this is the interpretation, then the statement begs a number of questions, and as such the lack of elaboration makes such an interpretation suspect.
For example, does the legitimacy of remarriages hinge only upon whether or not a prior divorced had been on the grounds of fornication?

Let's say a man divorces his wife because she complains alot or some stupid reason. That is, the execption clause does not apply.  She goes on to marry someone else and can blame her first husband for causing her to become an adulteress. But if she's an adulteress that means that her second marriage is illegitimate and that she is really still married to her first husband. The first husband who had caused her to become an adulterous then feels he can now seek a second marriage because the exception clause has been fulfilled. But was it fulfilled if in fact the basis for the original divorce was not fornication? Who is the "innocent party"? And what is the status of the woman afterwards? Is her second marriage now legitimate?
Many questions arise which seem counter-intuitive to the brevity of the phrase, lack of any elaboration, and the fact it's missing elsewhere. Nonetheless even given this interpretation it can be proven that divorce itself does not nullify a marriage.

2. What if Jesus was just stating the obvious, simply reinforcing the rest of his statement. Consider his statement in Mark 10:11,12 "Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery against her. And if she divorces her husband and marries another man, she commits adultery." But what if they are divorcing out of a situation which Jesus was just now characterizing as a marriage of fornication?  The exception clause could be interpreted to mean that regardless of the "reason" for divorce, the particular case of divorce that this exception clause is dealing with is a situation in which the marriage itself is illegitimate to begin with. In order words he's saying, "But I tell you that anyone who divorces his legitimate wife, causes her to become an adulteress, and anyone who marries the divorced woman commits adultery." Thus he's saying that the principle doesn't apply when divorcing out of illegitimate marriages. An explanation as to why Mark and Luke don't have the exception clause could be that what constitutes "legitimate" can be logically deduced from the passage, and thus it would be just redundant to mention it. This interpretation most conveniently fits the passage without introducing unncessary complications.

3. Another possibility is that he was speaking of something in the Law of Moses which the Jews may have commonly understood as he was addressing them, but which may seem unclear to us Gentiles. Interesting that in the Matt 5:32 passage that it literally says, "except the word of fornication" - perhaps speaking of a Bible passage.

Here and Matt 19:3-9 Jesus was perhaps speaking with reference to the Mosaic Law, which is why the exception clause is not found in the Mark 10:2-12 and Luke 16:18 passages as Matthew was written for Jews in particular and the exception clause is relevant to them, but not so much to Gentiles. What Matthew is referring to is to the time period in which one is pledged to be married, but not yet married. In the Mosaic law, this corresponds to Deut 22:13-21. Admittedly, the penalty was death and not divorce from the law, however the Jews generally interpreted this to be the allowable limit of the punishment rather than the necessary punishment. Such a case was true of Mary and Joseph. While they were only pledged to be married, Mary was found to be pregnant.

"This is how the birth of Jesus Christ came about: His mother Mary was pledged to be married to Joseph, but before they came together, she was found to be with child through the Holy Spirit. Because Joseph her husband was a righteous man and did not want to expose her to public disgrace, he had in mind to divorce her quietly." Matt 1:18,19
So in applying the law in Deut 22, Joseph was considering divorce rather than death. Notice also that though only pledged to be married, Joseph is reckoned a husband. However, if he had divorced her at that time under those circumstances and married another, such would not constitute adultery. But had he gone ahead and married her and then divorced and remarried another, such would constitute adultery from Jesus' point of view.

However the weakness of this view is that it may appear too narrow and perhaps not to the point as it deals with a betrothal rather than a recognized consummated marriage. But then again perhaps that's why it's not mentioned in Mark or Luke. But another problem is that it implies that engagements cannot be broken up for any other reason than for fornication. But perhaps that was Jesus' position and such betrothals should be viewed essentially as binding as marriage vows, but the fornication exception could be understandable in that the marriage was not consummated. This would place bethrothal in a special case or category, which may explain why it's an exception, and being a minor exception, why it's not mentioned elsewhere.

Furthermore, while even the Gentile culture did practice engagements, yet the Jewish bethrothal may have been more serious. I perceive it certainly was more serious than what is called "engagement" in modern Western culture, where there is no such thing as a "divorce" from an engagement.


Singleness

Matt 19:
10  The disciples said to him, "If this is the situation between a husband and wife, it is better not to marry."
11  Jesus replied, "Not everyone can accept this word, but only those to whom it has been given.
12  For some are eunuchs because they were born that way; others were made that way by men; and others have renounced marriage because of the kingdom of heaven. The one who can accept this should accept it."

There are those who would misinterpret this last phrase Jesus said to apply to the idea of remarriage after divorce being adultery, which he spoke of just prior to this as you can read above. But the context clearly indicates that he is not referring to that, but rather referring to the fact that what the disciples said is true - that it is better not to marry.

And this is also affirmed by the Apostle Paul - "It is good for a man not to marry." 1Cor 7:1 And "I wish that all men were as I am. (single) But each man has his own gift from God; one has this gift, another has that." 1Cor 7:7 Here he views singleness not as a burden but as a gift.

And he also gives the advice, "Now about virgins: I have no command from the Lord, but I give a judgment as one who by the Lord's mercy is trustworthy.  Because of the present crisis, I think that it is good for you to remain as you are." 1Cor 7:25,26 The "present crisis" (which also can be translated "present necessity")  is simply the fulfilling of work of the ministry in preparation for the return of Christ. And he goes on to say, "But those who marry will face many troubles in this life, and I want to spare you this. What I mean, brothers, is that the time is short. From now on those who have wives should live as if they had none." 1Cor 7:28,29

And also he says, "I would like you to be free from concern. An unmarried man is concerned about the Lord's affairs-- how he can please the Lord.  But a married man is concerned about the affairs of this world-- how he can please his wife-- and his interests are divided. An unmarried woman or virgin is concerned about the Lord's affairs: Her aim is to be devoted to the Lord in both body and spirit. But a married woman is concerned about the affairs of this world-- how she can please her husband.  I am saying this for your own good, not to restrict you, but that you may live in a right way in undivided devotion to the Lord." 1Cor 7:32-35

And finally, "So then, he who marries the virgin does right, but he who does not marry her does even better. A woman is bound to her husband as long as he lives. But if her husband dies, she is free to marry anyone she wishes, but he must belong to the Lord.  In my judgment, she is happier if she stays as she is-- and I think that I too have the Spirit of God." 1Cor 7:38-40

Why Singleness is Superior according to the Bible?

Because we've got a job to do and the time is short. And thus we shouldn't waste our time and devotion on a marriage relationship. Of course those who are married are obligated to fulfill their marital responsibilities, just as those who have children are responsible for them. But the single should not view marriage as necessary, nor be coerced into marriage by those who reckon singleness with a contemptuous attitude.


Marriage vs. Ministry

On the other hand, although marriage incurs responsiblity, the priority that the Bible advocates, contrary to much of modern evangelical thought, is to put Ministry above Marriage.
 And Jesus answered and said, Verily I say unto you," There is no man that hath left house, or brethren, or sisters, or father, or mother, or wife, or children, or lands, for my sake, and the gospel's,  But he shall receive an hundredfold now in this time, houses, and brethren, and sisters, and mothers, and children, and lands, with persecutions; and in the world to come eternal life." Mark 10:29,30 (KJV)
Many I have met in the Christian community today simply excuse themselves from doing any ministry simply because they are married or because they have children. I would characterize the Christian community as generally being lazy. Many avoid the matters of the kingdom by busying themselves with unncessary secular things. But Paul writes to Timothy, "No one serving as a soldier gets involved in civilian affairs-- he wants to please his commanding officer." 2Ti 2:4 But many Christian simply don't even view themselves as soldiers of Christ. They go to church on Sunday, sing some songs, listen to a lecture and go home feeling they've fulfilled their spiritual responsiblities for the week. While they may pay other people to do the work of the ministry for them, they do not see themselves as being responsible for doing the ministry. Many such people go to church not to serve but to be served. They go not meet other people's needs, but simply to meet their own needs. When will such Christians get out of the diaper stage and get to work! And institutional leaders are not to be held blameless either. For many such people also promote this same attitude by treating their congregation like a bunch of immature stupid sheep incapable of doing anything but the most menial tasks, rather than striving to accomplish the objective of Ephesians 4, which ends: "From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work." Eph 4:16 But today only some do the work, while most do practically nothing. For the purpose of the church should be "to prepare God's people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ. Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of men in their deceitful scheming.  Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ." Eph 4:12-15


Lust and Adultery

Matt 5:28 But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.

Adultery does not nullify a marriage but as in God's case in Jeremiah 3:8 it can be a basis for divorce. However the Bible seems to indicate that although the lust of Matt 5:28 is in the same category of adultery, yet God seems to treat it a bit differently than its more overt form of sexual intercourse. For in the Law of Moses, the more overt form was punished by death, whereas there was no penalty under the Law for looking at a woman lustfully. However it was well understood in principle and practice according to the Bible that one naturally followed the other. But there are places even in the Old Testament that recognized the sinfulness of sexual lust itself.

"I have made a covenant with my eyes; Why then should I look upon a young woman?" Job 31:1
"If my heart has been enticed by a woman, or if I have lurked at my neighbor's door, then may my wife grind another man's grain, and may other men sleep with her.  For that would have been shameful, a sin to be judged.  It is a fire that burns to Destruction; it would have uprooted my harvest." Job 31:9-12

Marriage in the Afterlife?

Matt 22:30  At the resurrection people will neither marry nor be given in marriage; they will be like the angels in heaven.

Luke 20:34,35
Jesus replied, "The people of this age marry and are given in marriage.  But those who are considered worthy of taking part in that age and in the resurrection from the dead will neither marry nor be given in marriage, and they can no longer die; for they are like the angels. They are God's children, since they are children of the resurrection.

Marriage has to do with this life. When you really get down to it, people get married to have sexual relations. It's a very physical thing. However it is also a symbol or shadow of something else. For God created marriage to be a symbol of the relationship between Christ and the Church.

"For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh." This is a profound mystery-- but I am talking about Christ and the church. Eph 5:31,32

NIV used in comments
The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015