翻譯: English 中文 GB

對觀福音關于饒恕

耶穌饒恕人的例子

路加福音 5:20 耶穌見他們的信心,就對癱子說:“你的罪赦了。”
路加福音 5:21 文士和法利賽人就議論說:“這說僭妄話的是誰?除了神以外,誰能赦罪呢?”
路加福音 5:23 或說:‘你的罪赦了,’或說:‘你起來行走,’哪一樣容易呢?
路加福音 5:24 但要叫你們知道,人子在地上有赦罪的權柄……”就對癱子說:“我吩咐你起來,拿你的褥子回家去吧。”

路加福音 7:47 所以我告訴你,她許多的罪都赦免了。因為她的愛多。但那赦免少的,他的愛就少。”
路加福音 7:48 于是對那女人說:“你的罪赦免了。”
路加福音 7:49 同席的人心婸﹛G“這是什麼人,竟赦免人的罪呢?”

路加福音 23:34 當下耶穌說:“父啊,赦免他們,因為他們所作的,他們不曉得。”兵丁就拈鬮分他的衣服。

注釋

饒恕的權柄

赦罪包括修復破裂的關系。這樣的關系可分為兩類──其一是人與人之間的關系,其二人與神之間的關系。耶穌在這堜珨〞漪O人與神的關系,一般認為,只有神才有權赦罪。神通過耶穌所行的神蹟肯定了耶穌有赦罪的權柄。

“以色列人哪,請聽我的話:神借著拿撒勒人耶穌,在你們中間施行異能、奇事、神蹟,將他証明出來,這是你們自己知道的。”【使徒行傳 2:22】
饒恕的原因

有權柄這樣做,耶穌可以隨意地赦免罪。但在前面看到的三個情形堙A是什麼使得他行使赦罪的權柄呢?

  • 耶穌見他們的信心,就對癱子說:“你的罪赦了。”
  • 她許多的罪都赦免了。因為她的愛多
  • “父啊,赦免他們,因為他們所作的,他們不曉得。”

在前兩個情形堙A他看上去是因為他們付之于應用的信而赦免他們的罪。而在第三個情形堙A他實際上饒恕了不信的人謀殺他的罪,因為他們的行為是出于他們無知的程度。

饒恕的福音

馬可福音 1:4 照這話,約翰來了,在曠野施洗,傳悔改的洗禮,使罪得赦。
路加福音 1:77 叫他的百姓因罪得赦,就知道救恩。
路加福音 3:3 他就來到約但河一帶地方,宣講悔改的洗禮,使罪得赦。
路加福音 24:47 并且人要奉他的名傳悔改、赦罪的道,從耶路撒冷起直傳到萬邦。
馬太福音 26:28 因為這是我立約的血,為多人流出來,使罪得赦。

注釋

注意悔改和罪被饒恕之間的關聯。這也耶穌赦免前面那個癱子和那個妓女的罪的原因相一致。悔改需要認罪和付之于應用的信,這使得人有罪得赦免的條件。但這不是靠做工得救。世界的罪其實是由基督在十字架上的死付清懲罰的。在這樣做了之後,公義的要求就得到了滿足,因此神就可以隨意地赦免人的罪。他可以無條件地饒恕人,但他決定要求人必須達到條件才能被饒恕,而不是無條件地。其條件就是信(單靠信!)。一但信了,并因此得了救,得救的人就會以悔改和饒恕別人的行動來把他的信付之于應用。

饒恕與審判

馬太福音 6:12 免我們的債,如同我們免了人的債。
馬太福音 6:14 你們饒恕人的過犯,你們的天父也必饒恕你們的過犯。
馬太福音 6:15 你們不饒恕人的過犯,你們的天父也必不饒恕你們的過犯。

路加福音 6:37 你們不要論斷人,就不被論斷。你們不要定人的罪,就不被定罪。你們要饒恕人,就必蒙饒恕。(“饒恕”原文作“釋放”)

馬太福音 18:35 你們各人若不從心媊ヴ之A的弟兄,我天父也要這樣待你們了。

注釋

我想馬太福音第十八章不饒人的仆人的寓言最好地說明了反過來饒恕的必要。如這個寓言所指出的,饒恕別人對我們犯的罪不應該被看作是我們被饒恕的條件。缺乏這種饒恕的態度反映出一個人還沒有以正確的態度接受神饒恕的禮物,因此這樣的人不夠接受它的條件。如我們在前面曾說到的,罪得饒恕是白白得來的,但不是無條件的。

另一件事就是注意耶穌在【路加福音 6:37】堜狴峈熙o句話。這是在教導我們凡不論斷別人的人就自動得救嗎?因為這堣ㄛO說:“你們不要論斷人,就不被論斷。”嗎?這是登山寶訓的一部分。我們在那個查經中指出耶穌在此使用的使箴言式的語氣,意思就是“一般說來,如果你論斷別人,別人就會論斷你,如果你定別人的罪,別人也會定你的罪,如果你饒恕別人,被人也會饒恕你。”這其實是描述性的,而不是禁令性的。因為它以箴言的形式描述了正常的人與人之間的關系。

悔改和饒恕

路加福音 17:3 你們要謹慎。若是你的弟兄得罪你,就勸戒他。他若懊悔,就饒恕他。
路加福音 17:4 倘若他一天七次得罪你,又七次回轉說:‘我懊悔了,’你總要饒恕他。
馬太福音 18:21 那時彼得進前來,對耶穌說:“主啊,我弟兄得罪我,我當饒恕他幾次呢?到七次可以嗎?”

注釋

在這堶n注意到的一件事就是被饒恕的條件往往在實際中被忽視。“他若懊悔”。是的,就像耶穌饒恕那些把他釘在十字架上的人一樣,有時要饒恕人出于無知而對我們犯的罪,但對于那些明明知道卻故意這樣做的人,在饒恕之前要求其悔改時合適的。因為這樣做,我們就像神饒恕我們那樣去饒恕──白白地饒恕,但不是無條件的。

在我們關于神饒恕我們的罪這個概念和我們去饒恕別人之間有一個相互的關系。因為如果我們認為我們可以犯如此嚴重的罪,無論怎樣悔改神也不能饒恕我們,這也會影響我們怎樣去不恰當地限制我們對別人的饒恕──反之亦然。那些傾向阿民念神學的人要特別當心這樣的想法。因為對于悔改的人來說,對罪的饒恕是沒有限制的,無論是我們饒恕別人或神饒恕我們。

褻瀆聖靈

馬太福音 12:31 所以我告訴你們,人一切的罪和褻瀆的話,都可得赦免。惟獨褻瀆聖靈,總不得赦免。
馬太福音 12:32 凡說話幹犯人子的,還可得赦免。惟獨說話幹犯聖靈的,今世來世總不得赦免。
馬可福音 3:28 我實在告訴你們,世人一切的罪和一切褻瀆的話,都可得赦免﹔
馬可福音 3:29 凡褻瀆聖靈的,卻永不得赦免,乃要擔當永遠的罪。

注釋

但至于褻瀆聖靈,在我看來是件有所不同的事。我們是通過與聖靈的合作被到信基督的。他通過神蹟肯定了神的道。他使我們的眼睛可以看見,耳朵可以聽見,明白這個信息。但如果我們與他斷絕,就再沒有其它的機制能夠把我們帶到對基督的信堙A因此我們就永恆地迷失了。因此,我推斷這樣的罪只有那些尚未由神生的人才可能犯,因為由神生就從某種程度上改變了人的本質,人就永遠地接受聖靈住在他堶悻w─而不只是他在與那些這在被帶到對基督的信中的人同行時所扮演的輔助角色。然而這并不是說那些假定他們已經由神生的人可以或應該減輕對褻瀆聖靈耽心。因為你怎麼知道你已經真的由神生了,或這聖靈不是仍然在你堶掖y就使人得救的過程中呢?讓我們在對神的敬畏中行,同時完全地相信神可以做到他所保証的事,但不要太過分地自信我們自己達到使這種保証應用到我們身上的條件。



Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

The Synoptics on Forgiveness

Jesus' Practice of Forgiveness

Luke 5:20  When Jesus saw their faith, he said, "Friend, your sins are forgiven."
Luke 5:21  The Pharisees and the teachers of the law began thinking to themselves, "Who is this fellow who speaks blasphemy? Who can forgive sins but God alone?"
Luke 5:23  Which is easier: to say, 'Your sins are forgiven,' or to say, 'Get up and walk'?
Luke 5:24  But that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins...." He said to the paralyzed man, "I tell you, get up, take your mat and go home."

Luke 7:47  Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven-- for she loved much. But he who has been forgiven little loves little."
Luke 7:48  Then Jesus said to her, "Your sins are forgiven."
Luke 7:49  The other guests began to say among themselves, "Who is this who even forgives sins?"

Luke 23:34  Jesus said, "Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing." And they divided up his clothes by casting lots.
 

Comments

Authority to Forgive
The forgiveness of sins involves a restoration of a broken relationship. There are two categories of such relationship - that which is between people, and that which is between a person and God. It was this second category that Jesus was dealing with here of which it was reckoned to be the exclusive right of God to forgive sins.  God affirmed that Jesus had the authority to forgive such sins through the miracles he performed. 
Ac 2:22 "Men of Israel, listen to this: Jesus of Nazareth was a man accredited by God to you by miracles, wonders and signs, which God did among you through him, as you yourselves know."
Reason to Forgive
Having the authority to do so, Jesus can arbitrarily forgive sins as he sees fit. But what was it about the three situations above that motivated him to exercise such forgiveness.
  • When Jesus saw their faith, he said, "Friend, your sins are forgiven."
  • Her many sins have been forgiven-- for she loved much.
  • "Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing."
It appears that the first two he chose to forgive because of their application oriented faith. Whereas for the third he actually forgave unbelievers for their particular act of murdering him because of the degree of ignorance they were acting under.

The Gospel of Forgiveness

Mark 1:4  And so John came, baptizing in the desert region and preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins.
Luke 1:77  to give his people the knowledge of salvation through the forgiveness of their sins,
Luke 3:3  He went into all the country around the Jordan, 
preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins.
Luke 24:47  and repentance and forgiveness of sins will be preached in his name to all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.
Matthew 26:28  This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins.

Comments

Notice the correlation between repentance and the forgiveness of sins. This is also consistent with the basis of Jesus forgiveness of the paralytic and the prostitute given above. Repentance requires conviction of sin and an application oriented faith which qualifies one for the forgiveness of their sins. But this is not salvation by works. It was Christ's death on the cross which actually paid the penalty for the sins of the world. But having done so, the demands of justice were satisfied, and as such God could now freely forgive people of their sins. He could have forgiven people unconditionally, but instead he decided to require people to be qualified to receive such forgiveness, and thus although such forgiveness is free for those who are qualified, it is not unconditional. It is conditioned upon faith (alone!). Having believed, and thus been saved, the saved person will go on to apply his faith in such acts as repentance and forgiving others.

Forgiveness and Judgment

Matthew 6:12  Forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.
Matthew 6:14  For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.
Matthew 6:15  But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

Luke 6:37  "Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.

Matthew 18:35  "This is how my heavenly Father will treat each of you unless you forgive your brother from your heart."
 

Comments

I think the parable of the unforgiving servant of Matthew 18 best clarifies this need for reciprocity of forgiveness. As the parable indicates, it is not so much that the forgiving of others who sin against us which should be viewed as a condition for our being forgiven. Rather it is the lack of such a forgiving attitude that reveals that one has not accepted God's gift of forgiveness with the right attitude and thus such a person is not qualified to receive it. As I said, the forgiveness of sins is free but not unconditional.

Another thing to note is the figure of speech that Jesus is using in the case of Luke 6:37. Does this teach that everyone who doesn't judge others will automatically be saved? For doesn't it say "Judge not and you shall not be judged"? This is part of the Sermon on the Mount and as I pointed out in that study Jesus is using a proverbial figure of speech, the sense of which is "Generally speaking if you judge others they will judge you, and if you condemn others they will condemn you, and if you forgive others they will forgive you." This is really descriptive rather than proscriptive, as it describes normal human relationships in a proverbial form.
 

Repentance and Forgiveness

Luke 17:3  So watch yourselves. "If your brother sins, rebuke him, and if he repents, forgive him.
Luke 17:4  If he sins against you seven times in a day, and seven times comes back to you and says, 'I repent,' forgive him."
Matthew 18:21  Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, "Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother when he sins against me? Up to seven times?"

Comments

One thing to note here is the condition for forgiveness which is often overlooked in practice. "If he repents". Yes, just as Jesus forgave those who crucified him there are times to forgive sins committed against us done in ignorance, but for those of which were done consciously, it is appropriate that repentance be required before granting such forgiveness. For in doing so we are forgiving just as God has forgiven us - freely but not unconditionally.

There is a reciprocal relationship between our concept of God's forgiveness of our sins and our practice of forgiving others. For if we think we can sin so bad that no degree of repentance will allow God to forgive us, this may also affect how we place inappropriate limitations on our forgiving others - and the converse as well. Those of an Arminian theology should particular beware of this type of thinking. For there is no limitation on the forgiveness of sins for the repentant, regardless of whether it means us forgiving others or God forgiving us. 
 

Blaspheming the Holy Spirit

Matthew 12:31  And so I tell you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven men, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven.
Matthew 12:32  Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven , either in this age or in the age to come.
Mark 3:28  I tell you the truth, all the sins and blasphemies of men will be forgiven them.
Mark 3:29  But whoever blasphemes against the Holy Spirit will never be forgiven; he is guilty of an eternal sin."

Comments

But as for sinning against the Holy Spirit, this is a slightly different matter as I see it. It is in cooperation with the Holy Spirit that we are led to faith in Christ. He affirms God's word through miracles. He opens our eyes and ears to understand the message. But if we cut him off, there is simply no other mechanism in place which would lead us to faith in Christ, and thus we are lost eternally. As such I infer that such a sin applies only to those who have yet to be born of God, as being born of God changes one's nature to a degree and one receives the permanent indwelling of the Holy Spirit - as opposed to merely its paraclete role in coming along side those who are being led to faith in Christ. However this is not to say that those who assume they have been born of God can or should necessarily allay such fears of sinning against the Holy Spirit. For how do you know whether you've actually been born of God, or whether the Holy Spirit is still in the process of developing salvific faith in you? Let us walk in the fear God being fully assured that what God had promised he is also able to perform, but perhaps not presumptuously confident that we ourselves 
necessarily qualify for the promise to be applied to us.


Verses quoted from the NIV version
The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015