翻譯: English 中文 GB

對觀福音論最大的和謙卑

馬太福音 18:1-5
1 當時門徒進前來,問耶穌說:
  “天國婼眲O最大的?”
2 耶穌便叫一個小孩子來,使他站在他們當中,
3 說:
  “我實在告訴你們,

  你們若不回轉,變成小孩子的樣式,
  斷不得進天國。
4 所以,凡自己謙卑像這小孩子的
  他在天國奡N是最大的
5 凡為我的名接待一個像這小孩子的,就是接待我。”

馬太福音 23:11-12
11 你們中間誰為大,誰就要作你們的用人
12 凡自高的必降為卑,自卑的必升為高。

路加福音 22:25-30
25 耶穌說:“外邦人有君王為主治理他們,
  那掌權管他們的稱為‘恩主’。
26 但你們不可這樣。
  你們媕Y為大的,倒要像年幼的

  為首領的,倒要像服事人的
27 是誰為大?是坐席的呢?是服事人的呢?
  不是坐席的大嗎?
  然而我在你們中間,如同服事人的。

28 我在磨煉之中,常和我同在的就是你們。
29 我將國賜給你們,正如我父賜給我一樣。
30 叫你們在我國堙A坐在我的席上吃喝。
  并且坐在寶座上,審判以色列十二個支派。”

有關寓言:


注釋

謙卑是信基督的最必不可少的品質。因為沒有謙卑人就不會認識到罪,也不會欣賞神的道。因此羞辱常常是通往基督的必經之路。我們看到,跟隨基督,一個人必須走一條遭受羞辱的路。但那些希望在神的國堿偃怳j的人這也如此。

神對偉大的衡量與世界是不同的。在世上,偉大的人是那些廣受歡迎的人。偉大的人是那些地位高,權威大的人。年事高的人被榮耀。小孩和仆人則不被看作是偉大的。

注意到他把小孩和仆人聯系起來。在那個文化媢鴾p孩的希望是像仆人一樣順從和事奉他們的父母。我們在保羅的書信堿搢麭o樣的例子:“我說那承受產業的,雖然是全業的主人,但為孩童的時候,卻與奴仆毫無分別。乃在師傅和管家的手下,直等他父親預定的時候來到。”【加拉太書 4:1-2】在耶穌講的浪子的寓言堣]是這樣,其中那位大兒子對他弟弟受到的款待感到生氣,他對父親說:我服事你這多年,從來沒有違背過你的命。”【路加福音 15:29a】

小孩子和仆人會幹類似的活。今天很多人在養育孩子時偏離這一點。明白這一點很重要,否則我們就會把偉大誤解成簡單地取決于不成熟和行為幼稚。在耶穌的文化堙完酗p孩子一樣”與今天的“幼稚”不是同一個概念。基督徒不應該幼稚。“我作孩子的時候,話語像孩子,心思像孩子,意念像孩子。既成了人,就把孩子的事丟棄了。”【哥林多前書 13:11】與此不同,基督徒應該努力像仆人那樣。的確,要知道,基督徒喜歡被稱為仆人。但從另一方面講,基督徒往往不喜歡別人像待仆人一樣待他們。

耶穌是一個仆人的最終極的榜樣。“因為人子來,并不是要受人的服事,乃是要服事人,并且要舍命,作多人的贖價。” 【馬可福音 10:45】基督徒蒙召來作基督的仆人。“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【哥林多後書 5:15】基督徒的生活與簽了火災保險之後你該做什麼就做什麼不同。信基督包括順從基督,把基督當作主。基督徒不應該只是四處奔忙去尋找能夠滿足他們的所需的人。反之,我們應該考慮我們怎樣能夠滿足他人的所需。你是不是在一個不能滿足你的所需的教會呢?也許你可以考慮一下你如何能夠滿足他們的所需。


Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

The Synoptics on 
Greatness and Humility

Matt 18:
1  In that hour the disciples came to Jesus, saying,
"Who then is greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven?"
2  Jesus called a little child to himself, and set him in the midst of them,
3  and said, "Most assuredly I tell you,
unless you turn, and become as little children,
you will in no way enter into the Kingdom of Heaven.
Whoever therefore humbles himself as this little child,
the same is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven.
5  Whoever receives one such little child in my name receives me
Matt 23:
11  But he who is greatest among you will be your servant.
12  Whoever exalts himself will be humbled,
and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.
Luke 22:
25  He said to them, "The kings of the Gentiles lord it over them,
and those who have authority over them are called ‘benefactors.’
26  But not so with you. But one who is the greater among you,
let him become as the younger, and one who is governing, as one who serves.
27  For who is greater, one who sits at the table, or one who serves?
Isn’t it he who sits at the table? But I am in the midst of you as one who serves.
28  But you are those who have continued with me in my trials.
29  I confer on you a kingdom, even as my Father conferred on me,
30  that you may eat and drink at my table in my kingdom.
You will sit on thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel."
Related Parables:

Comments

Humility is the most essential of character qualities prerequisite to coming to faith in Christ. For without it one will not be convicted of sin nor appreciate the Word of God. Thus humiliation is often the path through which one comes to Christ.And we see that literally to follow Christ one would have to trod a path of humiliation. But this is also true of those who expect to be great in the kingdom of God.

God's measures greatness differently than the world. In the world, the great people are the popular people. The great people are those with a high status and much authority. And it is the old people who are honored. But children and servants are not reckoned great.

Notice that he associates children with servants. In that culture children were expected to obey and serve their parents not unlike servants. We see this for example in Paul's writings: "What I am saying is that as long as the heir is a child, he is no different from a slave, although he owns the whole estate.  He is subject to guardians and trustees until the time set by his father."Gal 4:1,2 So also does Jesus illustrate this in the Parable of the Prodigal Son in which the older son objected to the younger's treatment saying to his father "Look! All these years I've been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders."Luke 15:29

Children and slaves would perform similar tasks. Many today have deviated from this concept of raising children. And it's important to understand this, else we would interpret greatest to be simply a function of being immature and acting childishly. In Jesus' culture "childlike" is not the same concept as "childish" today.  Christians should not be childish. "When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me."1Cor 13:11 Rather Christians should strive to be servants. And indeed, understanding this, Christians like to be called servants. But on the other hand Christians often don't like to be treated like servants.

Jesus is the ultimate example of a servant. "For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many." Mark 10:45 5 And Christians are called to be servants of Christ. "He died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again." 2Cor 5:15 The Christian life is not like signing a free fire-insurance policy and then going on your merry way. Believing in Christ incorporates submitting to His Lordship as well. Christians should not spend their lives running from here to there simply to find someone to meet their needs. Rather we should consider how we can meet other people's needs. Are you at a church that doesn't seem to meet your needs? Well then maybe you could meet theirs instead.


NIV used in comments
The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015