翻譯: English 中文 GB

法利賽人與稅吏

路加福音18:9-14

耶穌向那些仗著自己是義人,藐視別人的,設一個比喻說:
“有兩個人上殿堨h禱告﹔
一個是法利賽人,一個是稅吏。
法利賽人站著,自言自語的禱告說:
‘神啊,我感謝你,我不像別人,勒索、不義、奸淫,也不像這個稅吏。
我一個禮拜禁食兩次,凡我所得的,都捐上十分之一。’
那稅吏遠遠地站著,連舉目望天也不敢,只捶著胸說:
 
‘神啊,開恩可憐我這個罪人。’
我告訴你們,這人回家去,比那人倒算為義了﹔因為凡自高的,必降為卑﹔自卑的,必升為高。”

注釋

“神啊,我感謝你……”

看到這個法利賽這麼遭糕,人們也許會說:“神啊,我感謝你,我不像這個法利賽人。”然而事實上這麼做正使自己像這個法利賽人一樣。那麼我們是不是不應該感謝神在我們堶惟M通過我們所產生的那些正面的品德和工作呢?難道我們不應該為神在我們堶掉銌b我們所行的大事而感謝神嗎?至于藐視別人,經上不是說:“他眼中藐視匪類,”嗎?詩篇15:4a

但在感恩時如果把焦點放在我們自己有多麼好上卻有很多問題──盡管為其把榮耀歸于神。其一是由于我們的罪性,這樣做會誘發我們的驕傲,我們往往會過高地以為我們有多好──特別是與別人相比。因此我們有可能沒有解決我們生活堛爾o,以至神不聽我們的禱告:“耶和華的膀臂并非縮短不能拯救,耳朵并非發沉不能聽見。但你們的罪孽使你們與神隔絕,你們的罪惡使他掩面不聽你們。”以賽亞書59:1,2其二就是我們也許會貶低神在別人身上所做的工。注意到這個法利賽人貶低了這個稅吏。然而雖然【詩篇 15:4】提倡藐視匪類,這一節接下來說義人:“卻尊重那敬畏耶和華的人。”而且在這一節的前面說:“也不隨伙毀謗鄰堙C”

在聖經埵雪q神的人在禱告中承人自己的優點的例子,比如在詩篇堙C“因為我遵守了耶和華的道,未曾作惡離開我的神。他的一切典章常在我面前。他的律例我也未曾丟棄。我在他面前作了完全人。我也保守自己遠離我的罪孽。”詩篇18:21-23還有:“耶和華啊,求你為我伸冤,因我向來行事純全,我又倚靠耶和華并不搖動。耶和華啊,求你察看我,試驗我,熬煉我的肺腑心腸。因為你的慈愛常在我眼前。我也按你的真理而行。我沒有和虛謊人同坐。也不與瞞哄人的同群。我恨惡惡人的會,必不與惡人同坐。”詩篇26:1-5(事實上詩篇第二十六章與這個法例賽人的禱告之間的差別是很微妙的。)

但在大多數情況下,敬神的人會因為別人,而不是他們自己感謝神。“要別人夸獎你,不可用口自夸﹔等外人稱贊你,不可用嘴自稱。”箴言27:2比如,“弟兄們,我們該為你們常常感謝神,這本是合宜的,因你們的信心格外增長,并且你們眾人彼此相愛的心也都充足。”帖撒羅尼迦後書1:3

謙卑的必要性

這個寓言是關于謙卑,痛悔和敬畏神這些品德之間的關系,以及獲得來自神的義。
但我所看顧的,
就是虛心
痛悔
因我話而戰兢的人
(“虛心”原文作“貧窮”)。

   以賽亞書66:2
一個人必需具備這三樣基本的品德,神才會聽他。
  1. 謙卑:誠實地在神面前衡量你自己。
  2. 痛悔:把罪稱作罪,并愿意從罪堮洹鵅C
  3. 敬畏神的道:完全相信神已經通過聖經說話,而且因看到神的審判而嚴肅地對待神的道。
這三樣中,謙卑最為重要。如果一個人在靈堿O謙卑的,那麼在誠實地考查聖經所講的之後,他就會確信神已經說了話,而且在意識到他自己是神造的之後,一個謙卑的人自然會嚴肅地對待神的道,甚至因看到將至的審判而懼怕。當他用聖經的話來衡量自己時,就會認識到自己的罪,“因為世人都犯了罪,虧缺了神的榮耀﹔”羅馬書3:23這是神通過基督的血,領著謙卑的人變成義人的過程。

在這個寓言堙A這個法利賽人的特點就是對他自己的義充滿了自信,而蔑視別人。對此的一個應用就是那些對他們自己的義充滿自信的人缺乏必要的謙卑來得到耶穌所提供的從神來的義。缺乏謙卑往往可以從這個法利賽人這種居高臨下的態度看出,他沒有能夠誠實地衡量自己。耶穌說:“健康的人用不著醫生,有病的人才用得著,我來本不是召義人,乃是召罪人。”馬可福音2:17雖然真是義人的未必有,但自認為是義人的卻不乏其人。

保羅全面地教了這個主題,特別是這個寓言中講到的這個自以為義的猶太人。

這樣,我們可說什麼呢?那本來不追求義的外邦人反得了義,就是因信而得的義。但以色列人追求律法的義,反得不著律法的義。這是什麼緣故呢?是因為他們不憑著信心求,只憑著行為求。他們正跌在那絆腳石上。就如經上所記:“我在錫安放一塊絆腳的石頭,跌人的磐石﹔信靠他的人必不至于羞愧。”

弟兄們,我心堜珘@的,向神所求的,是要以色列人得救。我可以証明他們向神有熱心,但不是按著真知識﹔因為不知道神的義,想要立自己的義,就不服神的義了。律法的總結就是基督,使凡信他的都得著義。 羅馬書9:30-10:4

他在【羅馬書】第二章和第三章堜瓞g的也全面地論及這個主題。

耶穌有很多關于這個主題的教訓。比如,注意到在【路加福音】第十八章堨L教了這個寓言之後發生的兩件事。這兩件事又都是關于謙卑和痛悔的。

神在場的效果

看這個寓言的另一個方法就是考慮這個寓言所教的關于神在場對那些前來接近神的人的效果

如果一個人缺乏謙卑,那麼神在場對這個人沒有什麼效果。

但謙卑的人最普通的是認識到自己的罪。

當烏西雅王崩的那年,我見主坐在高高的寶座上。他的衣裳垂下,遮滿聖殿。以賽亞書6:1

那時我說:“禍哉,我滅亡了!因為我是嘴唇不潔的人,又住在嘴唇不潔的民中。又因我眼見大君王萬軍之耶和華。”以賽亞書6:5

獲得謙卑

但如果一個人缺乏謙卑,或你知道某個人缺乏這個最重要的品德,如何獲得這個品德呢?神造就一個人的謙卑最通常的辦法就是使人經歷羞辱。

舊約埵釩雃h這樣的例子。比如摩西,他被認為是他同時代堻攽儘鶞漱H。考慮神為了使他達到那一點使他所經歷過的。在以色列人犯罪的時候,神也以各種方法處罰他們,使他們自卑,承認他們的罪。

申命記8:3 他苦煉你,任你飢餓,將你和你列祖所不認識的嗎哪賜給你吃,使你知道,人活著不是單靠食物,乃是靠耶和華口堜狴X的一切話。

羞辱人的另一個辦法就是指出他們的罪。神派先知來做這件事。耶穌講這個寓言所做的正是這件事。但要明白,如果你像耶穌做的那樣去做,你也會被釘在十字架上。耶穌似乎毫不拘束地使高傲的降卑,指出他們的罪,甚至取笑他們的假冒為善,比如在這個寓言堜M從馬太福音23:13開始的經文。因此,如果我們像耶穌那樣去事奉,那麼對高傲的人“有禮貌”未必總是恰當的。

謙卑帶來贊美

在使人認識到罪的同時,謙卑還能以兩種方式帶來贊美。首先是對神的贊美。雖然一個高傲的,自以為是的人把神的標准降低到他覺得自己可以達到的地步,謙卑的人卻不會這麼做。(愿那些自認已經達到完美無罪的境界的衛斯理派的人當心!因為行在黑暗之中,看不到自己固有的罪性不是神的兒女的特征。)謙卑的人用心靈和誠實敬拜,而高傲的人用肉身和虛謊敬拜。雖然高傲的人對謙卑的人沒有仁慈,但謙卑的人承認他們的神是恩慈的。

再者,謙卑使得神贊許謙卑的人。因為神更珍視誠實的人,而不欣賞那些自欺的人,盡管他們外表上似乎很干淨。義人也固有地如此互相相待。聖經堜狾陸隊j的人都經歷過羞辱的時候,這在他們身上造就了謙卑,從長遠的來說使他們得到贊許。

他必興旺,我必衰微。約翰福音3:30


Rap

There are some who place confidence in themselves
While looking down on everyone else
To them Jesus told this parable
But if you are proud it may be unbearable.

Two men went up to the temple to pray
One a tax collector and the other a Pharisee.
The Pharisee prayed to himself in this way
As he stood proudly in the temple that day

"I thank you God that I am not like other men -
robbers, evil doers, adulterers - Amen!
Nor am I like this tax collector the freak.
I give my tithe and fast twice a week.

But the tax collector stood a distance away.
He would not look up to heaven to pray
But beat his breast saying in humility
"God, I'm a sinner have mercy on me."

I tell you that this man, rather than the other
Went home justified, and not his brother
For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled,
For their pride causes them to stumble
And he who is humble will be raised
The proud put down and the humble praised.



Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
the Pharisee and the Tax Collector

Luke 18:9-14

He spoke also this parable to certain people who were convinced of their own righteousness, and who despised all others.
 
"Two men went up into the temple to pray;
one was a Pharisee, and the other was a tax collector.
The Pharisee stood and prayed to himself like this:
 
‘God, I thank you, that I am not like the rest of men, extortioners, unrighteous, adulterers, or even like this tax collector.
I fast twice a week. I give tithes of all that I get.’
But the tax collector, standing far away, wouldn’t even lift up his eyes to heaven, but beat his breast, saying,
 
‘God, be merciful to me, a sinner!’
I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other; for everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, but he who humbles himself will be exalted."  (web)

Comment

"God, I thank you ..."

Having pictured the Pharisee is such a bad light, one might be provoked to pray, "God I thank you that I am not like that Pharisee", whereas in fact by doing so one may be just like that Pharisee. But should we not be thankful and acknowledge those positive qualities and works which God has produced in us and through us? Shouldn't we thank God for what sanctification he has accomplished in us? And concerning despising others doesn't it say of the godly that they "despise a vile man" Ps 15:4

But there are some problems with focussing on our goodness in thanksgiving - even despite giving glory to God for it. One is that due to our sinful human nature provoking pride in us, we tend to overevaluate how good we are - especially in comparison to others. And as such we may not be dealing with sin in our lives, which prevents God from listening to us (Isaiah 59:1,2) Another thing is that we may underevaluate God's work in other people. Notice that the Pharisee puts down the tax collector. But while Ps 15:4 advocates despsing vile men, the very next thing it says is that the godly man "honors those who fear the LORD" and prior to that "casts no slur on his fellowman".

There are examples in the Bible, such as some of the Psalms, where the godly man acknowledges his own goodness in prayer. Ps 18:21-23 "I have kept the ways of the LORD; I have not done evil by turning from my God. All his laws are before me; I have not turned away from his decrees. I have been blameless before him and have kept myself from sin." orPs 26:1-5  "I have led a blameless life; I have trusted in the LORD without wavering. Test me, O LORD, and try me, examine my heart and my mind; for your love is ever before me, and I walk continually in your truth. I do not sit with deceitful men, nor do I consort with hypocrites; I abhor the assembly of evildoers and refuse to sit with the wicked." (In fact the difference between Ps 26 and the Pharisee's prayer is rather subtle)

But in most cases the godly will give thanks for other people and not for themselves.  "Let another praise you, and not your own mouth; someone else, and not your own lips" Pr 27:2 For example 2Th 1:3  "We are bound to thank God always for you, brethren, as it is fitting, because your faith grows exceedingly, and the love of every one of you all abounds toward each other"

The Necessity of Humility

This parable is about the relationship between the character qualities of humility, contriteness, the fear of God, and obtaining righteousness which is from God.
"This is the one I esteem:
he who is humble and
contrite in spirit, and
trembles at my word."Isaiah 66:2
These are the three essential characteristics a person must have before God will listen to him.
  1. HUMILITY:  An honest evaluation of yourself in the sight of God.
  2. CONTRITENESS: Calling sin for what it is and being willing to repent from sin.
  3. REVERENCE FOR GOD'S WORD: Fully convinced that God has spoken through the Bible and taking it seriously in view of God's judgment.
Of these three, Humility is most essential. If a person is humble in spirit, after honestly evaluating what the Bible says, he will be convinced that God has spoken and since he realizes that he is created by God, it would seem reasonable to the humble person to take God's word very seriously and even fearfully in light of the coming judgment. But when he evaluates himself against what the Bible says, he is convicted of sin for we know that "all have sinned an come short of the glory of God" Rom 3:23. This is the process through which God leads the humble to become righteous through the blood of Christ.

The Pharisee in this parable is characterized as one who is confident of his own righteousness and looks down on others. One application of this is that those who are confident of their own righteouness lack the humility necessary to obtain the righteousness which is from God, which Jesus offered. This lack of humility is often evident by the condescending attitude of the Pharisee while he fails to make an honest evaluation of himself. Jesus said "It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners." Mark 2:17 Not that there are people who are righteous of themselves, but there are plenty who think they are. (Notice Luke 18:18-23)

Paul teaches extensively on this subject, particularly with respect to self-righteous Jews as in this parable.

"What then shall we say? That the Gentiles, who did not pursue righteousness, have obtained it, a righteousness that is by faith; but Israel, who pursued a law of righteousness, has not attained it. Why not? Because they pursued it not by faith but as if it were by works. They stumbled over the "stumbling stone." As it is written: "See, I lay in Zion a stone that causes men to stumble and a rock that makes them fall, and the one who trusts in him will never be put to shame."

Brothers, my heart's desire and prayer to God for the Israelites is that they may be saved. For I can testify about them that they are zealous for God, but their zeal is not based on knowledge. Since they did not know the righteousness that comes from God and sought to establish their own, they did not submit to God's righteousness. Christ is the end of the law so that there may be righteousness for everyone who believes." Romans 9:30-10:4

His writings in Romans chapters 2 and 3 also deal extensively with this subject.

Jesus' teachings dealt with this subject quite a bit. For example, notice the next two incidents that occur in Luke 18 after he taught this parable. They deal with humility and contriteness again.

The Effect of God's Presence

Another way of looking at this parable is to consider what it teaches about what effect the presence of God has on people who approach Him.

If a person lacks humility, the presence of God has no effect on the person.

The humble will most commonly be convicted of sin.

"In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted, and the train of his robe filled the temple." Isaiah 6:1

"Woe to me!" I cried. "I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty." Isaiah 6:5

The Obtaining of Humility

But if one lacks humility, or you know someone who lacks this essential characteristic, how can it be obtained? The most common way God develops humility in a person in by putting him through humiliating circumstances.

The Old Testament is full of such examples. Consider Moses, for example, who was reckoned the most humble of his time. Consider what God put him through to get him to that point. And God commonly disciplines Israel in various ways as they sin in order that they may humble themselves and admit their sin.

De 8:3 He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your fathers had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD.

Another way to humiliate people is by pointing out their sin. God also does this by sending prophets. And this is what Jesus was doing when he taught this parable. However, realize that if you teach the way Jesus did, you may end of being crucified. It seems that Jesus was quite causal and unrestrained when it came to putting down the proud by pointing out their sin and even making fun of them in their hypocrisy as in this parable and very extensively in Matthew 23:13+. So it appears it's not always appropriate to "be polite" to the proud if we are to minister as Jesus did.

Humility Results in Praise

Along with conviction of sin, humility also results in praise in two ways. First it results in praise to God. For while a proud self-righteous person brings down God's standard of holiness to a level he feels that he has achieved, the humble does not do so. (Let those of a Wesleyan mindset who think they've achieved a state of sinless perfection beware! For it is not characteristic of God's children to walk in darkness blind to one's own innate sinfulness) The humble worships in spirit and in truth, but the proud in the flesh and in lies. And while the proud have no mercy on the humble, the humble acknowledge their God as being merciful.

Secondly, it results in praise from God to the humble. For He appreciates an honest person more than one caught up in self-deception though he appear clean on the outside. And it is innate within righteous men to treat each other likewise. Practically all the great men of the Bible went through times of humiliation, which developed humility in them and which resulted in praise in the long term.

"He must increase and I must decrease" John 3:30


Rap

There are some who place confidence in themselves
While looking down on everyone else
To them Jesus told this parable
But if you are proud it may be unbearable.

Two men went up to the temple to pray
One a tax collector and the other a Pharisee.
The Pharisee prayed to himself in this way
As he stood proudly in the temple that day

"I thank you God that I am not like other men -
robbers, evil doers, adulterers - Amen!
Nor am I like this tax collector the freak.
I give my tithe and fast twice a week.

But the tax collector stood a distance away.
He would not look up to heaven to pray
But beat his breast saying in humility
"God, I'm a sinner have mercy on me."

I tell you that this man, rather than the other
Went home justified, and not his brother
For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled,
For their pride causes them to stumble
And he who is humble will be raised
The proud put down and the humble praised.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015