翻譯: English 中文 GB

蓋樓和准備打仗

路加福音14:25-35 有極多的人和耶穌同行。他轉過來對他們說:“人到我這堥荂A若不愛我勝過愛自己的父母、妻子、兒女、弟兄、姐妹和自己的性命,就不能作我的門徒。(“愛我勝過愛”原文作“恨”。)凡不背著自己十字架跟從我的,也不能作我的門徒。你們哪一個要蓋一座樓,不先坐下算計花費,能蓋成不能呢?恐怕安了地基,不能成功,看見的人都笑話他,說:‘這個人開了工,卻不能完工。’或是一個王出去和別的王打仗,豈不先坐下酌量,能用一萬兵去敵那領二萬兵來攻打他的嗎?若是不能,就趁敵人還遠的時候,派使者去求和息的條款。這樣,你們無論什麼人,若不撇下一切所有的,就不能作我的門徒。鹽本是好的,鹽若失了味,可用什麼叫它再咸呢?或用在田堙A或堆在糞堙A都不合式。只好丟在外面。有耳可聽的,就應當聽。”


問題討論

耶穌說不愛我勝過愛自己家的人是什麼意思?
你背起了哪些種的十字架來跟從基督?
如果別人問你跟從基督你希望得到什麼,你如何回答?
跟從基督需要做哪些計划和准備?
耶穌用鹽作比喻的意思是什麼?


注釋

作門徒的代價

一、更愛誰

第26節堛滿孚R我勝過愛”譯自希臘文“μιαεω”一詞,直譯過來就是“恨”的意思。耶穌在這堳的是更愛誰的意思。一個更愛耶穌的門徒在相比之下會顯得好像恨他的家人。甚至在耶穌事奉的時候,他也沒有把他自己的家庭看得更重。

有人告訴他說:“看哪,你母親和你弟兄站在外邊,要與你說話。”他卻回答那人說:“誰是我的母親?誰是我的弟兄?”就伸手指著門徒說:“看哪,我的母親,我的弟兄。凡遵行我天父旨意的人,就是我的弟兄姐妹和母親了。” 馬太福音 12:47-50
而且他還說:
“凡為我的名撇下房屋,或是弟兄、姐妹、父親、母親、(有古卷添‘妻子’)、兒女、田地的,必要得著百倍,并且承受永生。” 馬太福音19:29
這種更愛跟隨基督必須包括甚至自己的生命。這不是可有可無的。缺少這些,耶穌明確地說:“就不能作我的門徒。”與他常被描繪成的聖誕老人的形像截然相反,如果一個人愛其它任何東西勝過愛耶穌,耶穌就不允許這個人作他的門徒。

在耶穌說每個人應該背著自己的十字架時,注意到他還沒有被釘十字架。所以在當時他們還沒有耶穌背著十字架的圖像。但羅馬人當時公開地把有罪或無辜的人釘十字架。所以眾人無疑曾見過被定罪的人把他們的十字架背到一個地方之後被折磨致死。這不是一幅令人愉快的作門徒的圖像。那不是輕快地走在路上,爽心地唱著歌,把花瓣拋在天上。那是血淋淋的,充滿痛苦的。那要求自律,自制和決心。一個人將受到迫害,嘲弄和羞辱。世界將把你看作是傻瓜和失敗。在走向十字架時,耶穌表現出了所有這些品質,也遭受了所有這些痛苦。

但要明白,其態度不應該是:“我必需經受這些才能得救。”而是:“因為我得了救,所以我可以經得起這些。”不應該是:“我必需有這樣的態度才能作門徒,”而是:“因為我更愛基督,所以我愿犧牲一切。”因為對于那些認識基督的人來說,“我的軛是容易的,我的擔子是輕省的。馬太福音 11:30或像彼說的那樣:“主啊,你有永生之道,我們還歸從誰呢?約翰福音 6:68

二、斟酌得失

蓋樓

耶穌對半途而廢的門徒不感興趣。然而他們卻似乎充斥了那種迎合眾人口味的基督教。半途而廢的基督徒玷污了神的榮耀,使基督受到嘲弄。懷疑的人指著這些人的假冒為善來懷疑基督和他的信息,正如保羅指著猶太人所寫的那樣:“神的名在外邦人中,因你們受了褻瀆,羅馬書 2:24又像耶穌說的老底嘉人那樣:“你既如溫水,也不冷也不熱,所以我必從我口中把你吐出去。啟示錄 3:16

半途而廢的基督徒就如種子落在磐石上一樣。他們在開始聽見道的時候歡喜領受,“信”了一會,及至遇見試煉就退後了。如果我們決定要跟隨基督,就必須打定主意,對其不能像對待教會的野餐一樣。

為打仗作准備

作門徒是一場爭戰。去教會就如去打仗──向前,基督的戰士們。你不能用棍子和弓箭去對付坦克和機槍。你不能到了戰場上又改變主意,以為你可以逃避傷亡。

“倘若他們因認識主救主耶穌基督,得以脫離世上的污穢,後來又在其中被纏住制伏,他們末後的景況就比先前更不好了。” 彼得後書 2:20
半途而廢的基督徒最後有可能比他們從未知道基督更糟。因為你知道得越多,你的責任就越大。

基督所要求的信不是件小事,而是深深的信。

有用

基督來事奉我們,使我們能夠事奉他。“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。歌林多後書 5:15半心半意會使我們無用,甚至被定罪。

倘若他們因認識主救主耶穌基督,得以脫離世上的污穢,後來又在其中被纏住制伏,他們末後的景況就比先前更不好了。他們曉得義路,竟背棄了傳給他們的聖命,倒不如不曉得為妙。俗語說得真不錯:“狗所吐的,它轉過來又吃﹔豬洗淨了,又回到泥堨h滾。”這話在他們身上正合式。彼得後書 2:20-22

Rap

To those who followed him did Jesus indicate 
If any come to me but really does not hate 
His parents and his children and even his own wife 
His brothers and his sisters and even his own life 
Is not qualified to follow me 
This is a cross he must carry 
Suppose you want to build a nice tall tower.
Wouldn't you sit down perhaps for an hour 
And estimate how much it would cost to build?
For it won't get built just because you willed. 
You'll be ridiculed if you can't complete it.
Then you'll feel completely defeated. 
Or suppose a king goes out to war. 
He has some men, but the other has more. 
Will he not consider whether he can win. 
He certainly would before the battle did begin. 
If he cannot, he'll send a delegation. 
And ask for terms of peace from that other nation. 
So the cost to follow me is everything you've got 
To follow in the way I go, there is no short-cut. 
It is good to follow me, just as salt is good 
But if you fall away, you've not understood 
Salt can't be restored when it's lost its taste 
It just cannot be used, but is thrown out as waste 


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
Building a Tower 
and Making War

Luke 14:25-35 Now great multitudes were going with him. He turned and said to them, "If anyone comes to me, and doesnít hate his own father, mother, wife, children, brothers, and sisters, yes, and his own life also, he canít be my disciple. Whoever doesnít bear his own cross, and come after me, canít be my disciple. For which of you, desiring to build a tower, doesnít first sit down and count the cost, to see if he has enough to complete it? Or perhaps, when he has laid a foundation, and is not able to finish, everyone who sees begins to mock him, saying, ĎThis man began to build, and wasnít able to finish.í Or what king, as he goes to encounter another king in war, will not sit down first and consider whether he is able with ten thousand to meet him who comes against him with twenty thousand? Or else, while the other is yet a great way off, he sends an envoy, and asks for conditions of peace. So therefore whoever of you who doesnít renounce all that he has, he canít be my disciple. Salt is good, but if the salt becomes flat and tasteless, with what do you season it? It is fit neither for the soil nor for the manure pile. It is thrown out. He who has ears to hear, let him hear."  (web)


Discussion Questions

What does Jesus mean by hating one's family?
What kind of crosses have you borne in following Christ?
How would you answer others who ask you what expectations should they have in following Christ?
What planning and preparation does it take before one can be a follower of Christ?
What did Jesus mean by his illustration of salt?


Comments

The Cost of Discipleship

1. Preferences

In vs 26, the hatred Jesus refers to is simply one of preference. A disciple's preference for Jesus makes their preference for their family seem like hatred in comparison. Even while ministering, Jesus didn't make much of his own family.

Someone told him, "Your mother and brothers are standing outside, wanting to speak to you." He replied to him, "Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?" Pointing to his disciples, he said, "Here are my mother and my brothers. For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother." Matt 12:47-50
And also he states:
"Everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life." Mt 19:29
This preference for following Christ must extend even to one's own life. These are not optional. Lacking these, Jesus plainly states, "he cannot be my disciple." Far from being the Santa Claus figure he is often portrayed as, Jesus does not allow people to be his disciples if they prefer anything more than him.

When Jesus mentioned each should carry his cross, realize that he had not been crucified yet. So at that time they may not have pictured Jesus carrying a cross. But rather, the Romans were publically crucifying people both innocent and guilty. So the crowds had no doubt seen the condemned carrying their cross to the place they would be tortured to death. This was not a pleasant picture of discipleship. It's not liking skipping down the road singing songs in a light hearted manner throwing flower pedals in the air. It's bloody and full of hardship. It demands discipline, self-control, and determination. One is going to be subjected to persecution, mockery, and humiliation. The world will consider you a fool and a failure. These were all characteristics Jesus demonstrated and was subject to in going to the cross.

But realize also that the attitude should not be "I must endure these to be saved", but "I am saved, therefore I endure these things". It is not "I must take on this attitude to be a disciple", but rather "Because I do prefer Christ, therefore I sacrifice all." For his "yoke is easy and my burden is light." (Matt 11:30) for those who have come to know Christ. Or Peter puts it this way, "Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life." John 6:68

 

 
 
 

2. Counting the Cost

Building a Tower

Jesus is not interested in making half-way disciples. Yet that is what appears to be dominant in popular Christianity. Half-way Christians have caused God to be dishonored and Christ to be ridiculed. Skeptics point out the hypocrisy of these people and use it to question the credibility of Christ and his message, just as Paul wrote of the Jews, "God's name is blasphemed among the Gentiles because of you." Rom 2:24 And Jesus says of the Laodiceans, "because you are lukewarm-- neither hot nor cold-- I am about to spit you out of my mouth." Rev 3:16

Half-way Christians are like the seed that fell among rocks. At first they welcomed the message with joy, "believing" for a while until trials came, and they fell away. If we decide to follow Christ, we need to be serious about it, and not treat it as simply a church picnic.

Preparing for War

Being a disciple is a battle. Going to church is like going to war - Onward Christian Soldiers. You don't go up against tanks and machine guns with clubs and bow and arrows. And you can't just walk into the middle of a battle field and then change your mind, thinking that you are going to escape injury.

"If they have escaped the corruption of the world by knowing our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and are again entangled in it and overcome, they are worse off at the end than they were at the beginning." 2Pet 2:20
Half-way Christians may actually end up worst off than if they hadn't come to know about Christ. For the more you know, the more you will be held responsible for.

The faith that Christ demands is not a trivial thing, but a conviction.

Usefulness

Christ came to serve us so that we may serve Him. "And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again." 2Cor 5:15 Half-heartedness can make us useless and even bring on condemnation.

"If they have escaped the corruption of the world by knowing our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and are again entangled in it and overcome, they are worse off at the end than they were at the beginning. It would have been better for them not to have known the way of righteousness, than to have known it and then to turn their backs on the sacred command that was passed on to them. Of them the proverbs are true: "A dog returns to its vomit," and, "A sow that is washed goes back to her wallowing in the mud." 2Pet 2:20-22

Rap

To those who followed him did Jesus indicate 
If any come to me but really does not hate 
His parents and his children and even his own wife 
His brothers and his sisters and even his own life 
Is not qualified to follow me 
This is a cross he must carry 
Suppose you want to build a nice tall tower.
Wouldn't you sit down perhaps for an hour 
And estimate how much it would cost to build?
For it won't get built just because you willed. 
You'll be ridiculed if you can't complete it.
Then you'll feel completely defeated. 
Or suppose a king goes out to war. 
He has some men, but the other has more. 
Will he not consider whether he can win. 
He certainly would before the battle did begin. 
If he cannot, he'll send a delegation. 
And ask for terms of peace from that other nation. 
So the cost to follow me is everything you've got 
To follow in the way I go, there is no short-cut. 
It is good to follow me, just as salt is good 
But if you fall away, you've not understood 
Salt can't be restored when it's lost its taste 
It just cannot be used, but is thrown out as waste 

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


May 10,2010