翻譯: English 中文 GB

忠心有見識的管家與不義的仆人

馬太福音24:45-51路加福音12:42-48

路加福音 12:42-48  彼得說:“主啊,這比喻是為我們說的呢?還是為眾人呢?”主說:“誰是那忠心有見識的管家,主人派他管理家堛漱H,按時分糧給他們呢?主人來到,看見仆人這樣行,那仆人就有福了。我實在告訴你們:主人要派他管理一切所有的。那仆人若心婸﹛G‘我的主人必來得遲’,就動手打仆人和使女,并且吃喝醉酒。在他想不到的日子,不知道的時辰,那仆人的主人要來重重地處治他(或作“把他腰斬了”),定他和不忠心的人同罪

仆人知道主人的意思,卻不預備,又不順他的意思行,那仆人必多受責打﹔惟有那不知道的,作了當受責打的事,必少受責打。因為多給誰,就向誰多取﹔多托誰,就向誰多要。


問題討論

這些仆人是誰?只是那些已得救的嗎?
那被腰斬,與不忠心的人同罪的是誰?
這堜珒ㄗ鴘瑤鉠蝚O什麼?
那因不事奉而受責打是什麼意思?
如何給這堜珨〞漕熇堛惟螞齒u的歸類?
如何用你自己的話把最後一段表達出來?
神把什麼托給了你?就知識和資源來說,神給你托的多還是少?
神希望你用這些做什麼?

注釋

這個寓言是前一寓言的繼續。

彼得的問題

彼得的問題是很深刻的。對于這個問題,主在這堥S有明確地回答,人們為此爭辯了几百年。當耶穌說:“仆人”時,他指的是那些已經得救的,由神生的,真正的信徒,還是所有稱自己或被別人認作是神的仆人的人,包括那些名義上的基督徒,甚至那些與他對話的文士和法利賽人?

我們作任何一個假定,都會影響我們對耶穌說那些將被腰斬究竟是什麼意思的解釋。有些人認為這婸〞漪O失去救贖,進地獄。另一些人則想像出煉獄的情形。然而在這一點上,我贊成傳統福音派和開爾文的觀點。也就是說,這樣的仆人只是名義上的仆人,他們從未與主人建立起活的關系。所以他們在盡他們的責任時沒有他們主人的靈,結果他們的行為是不可避免的。換句話說,與其說他們去了他們的救贖,不如說他們從來就沒有得到救贖。

然而,一個有意思的問題是,耶穌為什麼不把這一點講得更清楚呢?因為不但在這堙A還在許多別的地方他都給人留下潛在的含糊解釋。我說:“潛在的”,因為這些問題在通過用使徒們其它所寫的過濾之後,就迎刃而解了。

在我看來,很清楚耶穌故意要基督徒在一定程度上對他們是否已逃脫被定罪有些不肯定。這不與永恆的保証的教義矛盾,而是說,在肯定得救的保証時,一個人不應太隨便地假定自己已經由神生了。

我們的稱義是以基督的挽回功為唯一的基礎。但要達到接受這種稱義的條件,我們必須具有信,而且這個信的質量是神能夠接受的。我們可以由我們的表現來判斷我們是不是由神生的。如經上寫到:

“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”約翰一書3:9,10
特別地,與這個喻言有關的:
我們若遵守他的誡命,就曉得是認識他。”約翰一書2:3

事奉

在這個喻言堛漕ぅ^是關照其它的仆人。當然,我們都在某種程度上對我們周圍的其它基督徒負有責任,盡管按照權威的層次,有些人比其它人的責任更大。但也許你還記得在馬太福音第二十五章的結尾山羊與棉羊的審判,在審判時,他們是按如何對待基督的弟兄被分開的。這堣]類似。

所以對我們來說分辨出我們的責任并考慮我們是不是在造就弟兄們是重要的。耶穌還常常把食物與神的道聯系起來。人活著,不是單靠食物,乃是靠神口堜狴X的一切話。所以,造就它人有實際的和屬靈的方法。不要忽視用聖經造就別人的價值。

對事奉的賞賜

神對做得好的賞賜是什麼呢?神將給他們更多的責任!我還以為我們要進入他的安息呢。這更多的責任又是什麼呢?正如在婚姻堜d子是事奉她丈夫的,我們也是被造來事奉神的。當然在這個以自我為中心,尋求享樂和悖逆世代堙A很多基督徒不但看不清很多基本的互相關系,也看不清他們與基督的關系。很多只接受基督為救主,有點像聖誕老的形像,他的唯一目的就是事奉他們。而基督是主這個事實在實際上被很多“基督徒”忘記了。

我們的責任越大,我們就要為越多的負責。從好的一面講,責任越多,得到賞賜的可能性就越大。但從另一面講,受到懲罰的可能性也越大。

對玩忽職守的懲罰

如果你稱耶穌為主,而且甚至在可見的教會擔任某些事奉的職位或權威,但你卻不真正地事奉──如果你其實不把耶穌當作主,那麼你將與不信的人同歸一處。因為你其實是不信的。在馬太福音24:51與此平行的段落堙A這些人將與假冒為善的人定同樣的罪,正如耶穌所說:“你們這假冒為善的文士和法利賽人有禍了!”我曾遇到几個“基督徒”,他們自認屬宗教精英之列,但虐待基督的仆人,甚至造謠中傷他們,并且傳講假教訓,還濫用神交托給他們的資源,將其用來滿足他們個人的私欲和野心。他們被定罪將是逃不脫的。

這樣的人有兩個極端。動手打仆人的代表墨守律法的人。他們很像耶穌時代的文士和法利賽人。另一些是那些吃喝醉酒的人。他們代表無法的基督徒──那些繼續以罪的生活方式生活的人。

這些都是“名義上的”基督徒──他們與可見的教會往來,但還沒有由神生,不具質量能夠使人得救的信。

事實上他們的罪將比那些不知道基督或不太知道聖經堜疻膆雈X的神的旨意因而不信的人更重。你知道得越多,責任就越大。.

“哥拉汛哪,你有禍了!伯賽大啊,你有禍了!因為在你們中間所行的異能,若行在推羅、西頓,他們早已披麻蒙灰悔改了。但我告訴你們,當審判的日子,推羅、西頓所受的,比你們還容易受呢。”馬太福音11:21,22
而對名義上的基督徒,經上說:
“人干犯摩西的律法,憑兩三個見証人尚且不得憐恤而死﹔何況人踐踏神的兒子,將那使他成聖之約的血當作平常,又褻慢施恩的聖靈,你們想,他要受的刑罰該怎樣加重呢?”希伯來書10:28,29

結論

不要輕視事奉的職位。如果你稱耶穌為主,那麼也要那樣去對待他。如果你的行為與由神生的不相符,那麼不要輕易肯定你的得救狀態。反之,
“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H” 歌林多後書13:5

Rap

It will be good for that servant whom the Lord puts in charge
Of his fellow servants. His reward will be large
If he carries out his duties a reward he will earn
When the master finds him doing so after his return
He will give him charge of all his possessions.
But concerning his return , suppose the servant questions
"My master is taking a long time to come",
And beats some servants and abuses them
He becomes legalistic or perhaps even lawless
His performance is to say the least far from flawless
The master of that servant will come when he does not expect
Even though that servant may think he's one of the elect
He'll be cut in pieces and assigned a place
With the unbelievers, rather than in God's grace
If he does not act, though the master's will he knows
He will then be beaten and that with many blows.
But those who do not know, though behaving bad
Will be beaten less than his fellow comrade
From those given much, much will be demanded
So act responsibly or else be reprimanded


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
The Faithful and Wicked Servants

Matt 24:45-51; Lk 12:42-48

Luke 12:42-48  The Lord said, "Who then is the faithful and wise steward, whom his lord will set over his household, to give them their portion of food at the right times? Blessed is that servant whom his lord will find doing so when he comes. Truly I tell you, that he will set him over all that he has. But if that servant says in his heart, ĎMy lord delays his coming,í and begins to beat the menservants and the maidservants, and to eat and drink, and to be drunken, then the lord of that servant will come in a day when he isnít expecting him, and in an hour that he doesnít know, and will cut him in two, and place his portion with the unfaithful. {"unbelievers"}

That servant, who knew his lordís will, and didnít prepare, nor do what he wanted, will be beaten with many stripes, but he who didnít know, and did things worthy of stripes, will be beaten with few stripes. To whoever much is given, of him will much be required; and to whom much was entrusted, of him more will be asked." (web)


Discussion Questions

Who are the servants? Only the redeemed?
What about the man who was cut in pieces and assigned a place with the unbelievers?
What is the reward for service mentioned here?
And what does the punishment for disservice mean?
How would you characterize the two categories of disservice mentioned?
How would you paraphrase the truths mentioned in the final paragraph?
What have you been entrusted with? And have you much or little - in terms both of knowledge and resources?
What does God expect you to do with these?


Comments

This parable is a continuation from the previous parable.

Peter's Question

Peter's question is somewhat profound. It's a question that the Lord hadn't answered explicitly here and one which has been disputed for centuries. When Jesus speaks of "servants" is he referring only to those who have been redeemed, born of God, the true believers? Or is it referring to everyone who reckons himself or is reckoned a servant of God by others, which would include nominal Christians, and even the Scribes and Pharisees as being the servants he speaks of?

Whichever assumption we make, it will affect our interpretation of what Jesus means when he speaks of those being cut to pieces. Some think of it as losing salvation and going to hell. Others imagine a purgatory scenario. However I go along with the traditional evangelical and calvinist position on this. That such servants were only so in a nominal sense and hadn't established a living relationship with the master. Thus they didn't have the spirit of the master in carrying out their duties, their resultant behavior being inevitable. In other words, rather than losing salvation, they had never really been saved to begin with.

An interesting question, however, is why didn't Jesus make this more clear? For not only here, but in many other places he leaves one with potentially ambiguous interpretations. I say "potentially", for these issues are resolved when these kind of sections, are filtered through the rest of the apostles' writings.

It seems clear to me that Jesus intended for Christians to have a degree of uncertainty concerning their escape from condemnation. This doesn't conflict with the doctrine of eternal security, but rather when it comes to assurance of salvation one should not be overly presumptuous about whether one had ever been born of God.

We based our assurance of our justification upon the atoning work of Christ alone. But to be qualified to receive such justification, we have to have a faith of a quality acceptable to God. We base our assurance that we have been born of God upon our performance. As it is written:

"No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God's seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God. This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:9,10 (NIV)
And in particular, as is relevant to this parable:
"We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands." 1John 2:3

Service

The actual service itself in this case deals with taking care of the other servants. Of course we all have a degree of responsibility to other Christians around us, and some more than others, according to their level of authority. But you may recall the judgment at the end of Matthew 25 in which the sheep and goats are separated and judged according to how they treated Christ's brethren. This is similar.

Thus it is essential for us to identify our responsibility and to consider whether we are edifying the brethren. Jesus also often associates food with the Word of God. Man does not live on bread alone but on every word which proceeds from the mouth of God. Thus there are practical and spiritual ways to edify others. Don't neglect the value of the edifying others with the Bible.

Reward for Service

What is God's reward for a job well done? God will give them more responsibilities. What! I thought that we enter His rest! What's this about more responsibilities? Just as the wife in the marriage relationship was made to serve her husband, so we were made to serve God. Of course in this age of self-centered pleasure seeking and rebelliousness, many Christians have lost perspective both on the purpose of many of the basic role relationships and even concerning their relationship with Christ. Many accept Christ as Savior only, and as a sort Santa Claus figure whose sole purpose is to serve them. The fact that Christ is Lord has escaped many a "Christian" in practice.

The more responsibilities we have, the more we will be held responsible for. On the positive side, the more responsibilities, the greater the potential reward. But then again, the more the potential punishment.

Punishment for Disservice

For you who call Jesus Lord, and even perhaps hold some position of service or authority in the visible church, but if you don't actually serve - if you don't actually treat Jesus as Lord, you will be assigned a place with the unbelievers. For that is what you really are. In the parallel passage in Matt 24:51 these same are assigned to a place with the hypocrites, just as Jesus said, "Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites!" I have met a number of "Christians" who consider themselves among the religious elite, yet who abuse the servants of Christ even slandering them and teaching false things and who abuse the resources God has entrusted to them for the purpose of satisfying their own personal passions and ambitions. They will not escape condemnation.

There are two extremes of these people. The ones beating the servants represent the legalistists. They may be more likened to the scribes and Pharisees in Jesus' times. Then there are those who eat, drink and get drunk. These represent the lawless Christians - who go on to live a lifestyle of sin.

These are both speaking of "nominal" Christians - those who associate themselves with the visible Church, but have not been born of God, not having the quality of faith that saves. They will be cut to pieces and sent to hell.

In fact their judgment will be worse than those unbelievers who don't know of Christ or don't know much about the will of God as revealed in the Bible. The more you know, the more you will be held responsible for.

"Woe to you, Korazin! Woe to you, Bethsaida! If the miracles that were performed in you had been performed in Tyre and Sidon, they would have repented long ago in sackcloth and ashes. But I tell you, it will be more bearable for Tyre and Sidon on the day of judgment than for you."Matt 11:21,22
And speaking again of nominal Christians:
"Anyone who rejected the law of Moses died without mercy on the testimony of two or three witnesses. How much more severely do you think a man deserves to be punished who has trampled the Son of God under foot, who has treated as an unholy thing the blood of the covenant that sanctified him, and who has insulted the Spirit of grace?" Heb 10:28,29

Conclusion

Don't take positions of service lightly. If you call Jesus Lord, treat Him that way. Don't be presumptuous about your salvation status if your behavior is inconsistent with that expected from one born of God. Rather,
"Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you-- unless, of course, you fail the test?" 2Cor 13:5

Rap

It will be good for that servant whom the Lord puts in charge
Of his fellow servants. His reward will be large
If he carries out his duties a reward he will earn
When the master finds him doing so after his return
He will give him charge of all his possessions.
But concerning his return , suppose the servant questions
"My master is taking a long time to come",
And beats some servants and abuses them
He becomes legalistic or perhaps even lawless
His performance is to say the least far from flawless
The master of that servant will come when he does not expect
Even though that servant may think he's one of the elect
He'll be cut in pieces and assigned a place
With the unbelievers, rather than in God's grace
If he does not act, though the master's will he knows
He will then be beaten and that with many blows.
But those who do not know, though behaving bad
Will be beaten less than his fellow comrade
From those given much, much will be demanded
So act responsibly or else be reprimanded

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015