翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰二書

I. 遵守神的戒命

1 作長老的寫信給蒙揀選的太太(〝太太”作“教會”。下同。)和他的兒女,就是我誠心所愛的。
 不但我愛,也是一切知道真理之人所愛的。
2 愛你們是為真理的緣故,這真理存在我們堶情A也必永遠與我們同在。
3 恩惠,憐憫,平安,從父神和他兒子耶穌基督,在真理和愛心上,必常與我們同在。

4 我見你的兒女,有照我們從父所受之命令遵行真理的,就甚歡喜。

5 太太阿,我現在勸你,我們大家要彼此相愛。
 這并不是我寫一條新命令給你,乃是我們從起初所受的命令。

6 我們若照他的命令行,這就是愛。
 你們從起初所聽見當行的,就是這命令。

II. 不要接受假教師

7 因為世上有許多迷惑人的出來,
 他們不認耶穌基督是成了肉身來的。

 這就是那迷惑人的,敵基督的。

8 你們要小心,
 不要失去你們(有古卷作“我們”)所做的工,乃要得著滿足的賞賜。

9 凡越過基督教訓,不常守著的,就沒有神。
 常守這教訓的,就有父又有子。
10 若有人到你們那堙A不是傳這教訓,
 不要接他到家堙A也不要問他的安。

11 因為問他安的,就在他的惡行上有分。

12 我還有許多事要寫給你們,卻不愿意用紙墨寫出來。
  但盼望到你們那堙A與你們當面談論,使你們的喜樂滿足。
13 你那蒙揀選之姐妹的兒女都問你安。


問題討論

第1-3節 為什麼約翰在此反復提及“真理”?

第4-6節 聖經堛熒R與順服有何關系?

第7節 約翰指的是哪種迷惑人的?
   現在有哪種迷惑人的?

第8節 要失去的是什麼?如何必免失去它?

第9節 如何運用這段經文衡量一個人的得救狀態?

第10,11節 如果有耶和華見証人或摩爾門教的人來敲你的門, 應當如何?
  你當作何反應?

第12節 面對面地交通對造就有何宜處?


注釋

我誠心所愛的

約翰二書 1:1 作長老的寫信給蒙揀選的太太(“太太”或作“教會”。下同。)和她的兒女,就是我誠心所愛的。不但我愛,也是一切知道真理之人所愛的。

約翰一書、二書、三書的作者是使徒約翰。顯然,他在耶穌眼堿O最受喜愛的,因為他被稱為耶穌所愛的那個門徒(【約翰福音 20:2】【約翰福音 21:7,20】)。我們可以看到約翰的這幾封書信堛瘍G論方式,寫作風格,以及所強調的都很相似。這幾封書信的出處的真實性還得到愛任諾斯(Irenaus)的肯定,愛任諾斯是保利卡普(Polycarp )的門徒,而保利卡普是使徒約翰的門徒。

約翰是使徒,同時也是教會的長老之一,彼得寫到:“我這作長老,作基督受苦的見証,同享後來所要顯現之榮耀的,勸你們中間與我同作長老的人。”【彼得前書 5:1】

雖然這位“太太”是誰沒有說明,約翰用“蒙揀選的”表達他對她的得救狀態的信心。對于那些認為無法知道一個人是不是“蒙揀選的”,這一簡單的事實也許能夠作為一堂課。因為看出一個人是不是蒙揀選的(這也是約翰書信大部分的主題)并不像有些人說得那麼神秘。

“她的兒女”指的也許是她親生的兒女,也許是那些被她領到基督,受到她訓練的人。但如果說的是她親生的兒女的話,則說明她是結了婚的,奇怪的是約翰為什麼沒有提到她的丈夫。但鑒于約翰後來在這封信媟t示他們已不是幼兒,所以她有可能是寡婦。也許這是為什麼約翰直接寫信給她,而不是通過她的丈夫。我不是想在這塈滮茼h的讀進去,只是想提一下各種可能的情況。

“誠心所愛的”按今天的標准似乎有點浪漫,因為“愛”這個字眼常帶有性的色彩。但約翰所說的“愛”通常有完全不同的意義,包括耶穌在約翰福音堜珨〞漫M約翰在他的幾封書信堜珨〞滿C特別地,他在這堨H真理來形容它。他指的不是誠肯,而是指神的道的真理。

所有知道神的道的真理的人都能互相理解別人對真理的愛。這是你的體會嗎?也許今天應該與別人分享一下?


這真理存在我們堶

約翰二書 1:2 愛你們是為真理的緣故,這真理存在我們堶情A也必永遠與我們同在。

“耶穌對信他的猶太人說:‘你們若常常遵守我的道,就真是我的門徒。’”【約翰福音 8:31】常守著神的道的真理就是讓神的道主導我們的思想,以之作為我們信念的基礎和行動的原因。因為“你們蒙了重生,不是由于能壞的種子,乃是由于不能壞的種子,是借著神活潑常存的道。”【彼得前書 1:23】


真理和愛心堛漁朽f

約翰二書 1:3 恩惠、憐憫、平安從父神和他兒子耶穌基督,在真理和愛心上,必常與我們同在。

“真理”一詞在這封信的前三節奡ㄗ鴗F四次。這樣強調的原因也許是他在後面關于對假教師的警告。

注意到這一節不但是一個問安,也是一個禱告。所以這是一個我們可以為別人禱告的事。禱告他們能夠得到神的恩惠、憐憫和平安。

神的恩惠是神的一個品質,他為那些不配得的人行善。因為我們都達不到神的標准。

神的憐憫是神的另一個品質,他為那些可憐的人提供他們的所需。

神的平安是那種因看到神的權能和恩惠所具有的沒有憂慮的精神狀態。


遵行真理

約翰二書 1:4 我見你的兒女,有照我們從父所受之命令遵行真理的,就甚歡喜。

使徒最大的喜樂是什麼呢?顯然,是看到別的基督徒遵行真理。特別是看到那些我們曾經親自訓練過的人。保羅寫到:“我們的盼望和喜樂,并所夸的冠冕,是什麼呢?豈不是我們主耶穌來的時候,你們在他面前站立得住嗎?因為你們就是我們的榮耀,我們的喜樂。”【帖撒羅尼迦 2:19-20】他還寫到:“我所親愛所想念的弟兄們,你們就是我的喜樂,我的冠冕。我親愛的弟兄,你們應當靠主站立得穩。”【腓立比書 4:1】

一個基督徒所能經歷到的最大的喜樂就是看到那些他們親自影響過的人遵行真理。反之,一個基督徒的最大的不幸就是看到他們墮落。


我們大家要彼此相愛

約翰二書 1:5 太太啊,我現在勸你,我們大家要彼此相愛。這并不是我寫一條新命令給你,乃是我們從起初所受的命令。

這是約翰的書信中最為常見的命令。比如“我們應當彼此相愛,這就是你們從起初所聽見的命令。”【約翰一書 3:11】還有“神的命令就是叫我們信他兒子耶穌基督的名,且照他所賜給我們的命令彼此相愛。”【約翰一書 3:23】

正確的教義和正確的神學固然重要,歷史上基督徒弟兄之間的愛往往在正確教義的名義下成為犧牲品。如果你的信是由你對基督徒弟兄的愛來衡量的,你達到標准了嗎?


愛就是照他的命令行

約翰二書 1:6 我們若照他的命令行,這就是愛。你們從起初所聽見當行的,就是這命令。

我們用什麼來表達對神的愛呢?用順從!耶穌說:“有了我的命令又遵守的,這人就是愛我的。”【約翰福音 14:21】

“神的命令就是叫我們信他兒子耶穌基督的名,且照他所賜給我們的命令彼此相愛。”【約翰一書 3:23】那些生活方式與這些命令相符的就表現出他們愛神。

愛基督徒弟兄不只是“喜歡”與某些人待在一起。也不只是發自內心的喜愛的感覺。雖然愛會有這樣的結果。基督徒的愛包含有行動,包含有使基督徒弟兄得到造就的應用。


敵基督的

約翰二書 1:7 因為世上有許多迷惑人的出來,他們不認耶穌基督是成了肉身來的。這就是那迷惑人,敵基督的。

約翰在約翰一書堣]提到這個問題說:“凡靈認耶穌基督是成了肉身來的,就是出于神的。從此你們可以認出神的靈來。凡靈不認耶穌,就不是出于神。這是那敵基督者的靈。你們從前聽見他要來,現在已經在世上了。”【約翰一書 4:2-3】

約翰所特指的這個偏異的神學就是“幻影說”,他們自稱信耶穌,但認為他不可能有物質的肉身,因為古希臘的哲學家們相信物質固有的是有罪的。幻影說看上去好像是在榮耀基督,但其實引進了關于他的錯誤神學。

這不是在于他關于道德的教訓,而在于他肉身的性質。保羅告訴我們基督的肉身性質是福音的核心。

“我當日所領受又傳給你們的,第一,就是基督照聖經所說,為我們的罪死了。而且埋葬了。又照聖經所說,第三天復活了。”【哥林多前書 15:3-4】

這些事表明基督的性質對早期基督徒的信仰來說是多麼的重要。基督教不只是由基督的教訓來定義的,基督究竟是誰也是其重要的組成部分。否認基督肉身的物質性是異端。所以要當心假宗教,比如伊斯蘭和異教,它們聲稱信耶穌,但對他的描繪卻不同于聖經的歷史記載。

然而,雖然約翰認為基督肉身的性質是如此的重要,關于這一點的神學在基督徒中卻不盡相同。比如,基督的肉身是不是與我們一樣是“亞當的”肉身──可以像我們一樣受到試探?還是一種全無罪性的,因而不可能像我們一樣受到試探的肉身?


你們要小心

約翰二書 1:8 你們要小心,不要失去你們(有古卷作“我們”)所作的工,乃要得著滿足的賞賜。

有了前一節,他在這堳的是要不斷地儆醒關于基督我們自己和我們的基督徒弟兄信的究竟是什麼。

同樣,保羅告誡提摩太說:“你要謹慎自己和自己的教訓,要在這些事上恆心﹔因為這樣行,又能救自己,又能救聽你的人。”【提摩太前書 4:16】如果假教義滲透到基督徒弟兄堙A就會妨礙事奉的有效性,因而妨礙其賞賜。

在加拉太書堨i以找到這樣一個例子,在那封書信堳O羅與奉割禮的異端爭奪加拉太基督徒的心。他的儆醒是一好榜樣。我們看到今天很多基督徒只是挂名而已,但如果我們儆醒、耐心地去事奉他們,他們也許能夠得救。

我們有箴言堛滬鴢h:“你要詳細知道你羊群的景況,留心料理你的牛群﹔因為貲財不能永有,冠冕豈能存到萬代。”【箴言 27:23-24】


不要走得太遠

約翰二書 1:9 凡越過基督的教訓,不常守著的,就沒有神﹔常守這教訓的,就有父又有子。

約翰說的是不要越過聖經的真理的界限去發明教義。保羅說:“不可過于聖經所記。”【哥林多前書 4:6b】也就是說不要把聖經之後的神學家所寫的作為我們信仰的基礎,或將其放在與聖經等同的地位。因為他接下來在同一節婸﹛G“免得你們自高自大,貴重這個,輕看那個。”【哥林多前書 4:6c】那往往是教派分歧的基礎,更不用說是異端的根源──就是一個人把他自己的觀點抬高到超過聖經的程度。“神的言語,句句都是煉淨的,投靠他的,他便作他們的盾牌。他的言語,你不可加添。恐怕他責備你,你就顯為說謊言的。”【箴言 30:5-6】

愛基督徒弟兄是衡量真正基督徒的一個標准,正確的教義也是一個標准。因為約翰還寫到:“我們是屬神的,認識神的就聽從我們﹔不屬神的就不聽從我們。”【約翰一書 4:6】


教義是重要的

約翰二書 1:10 若有人到你們那堙A不是傳這教訓,不要接他到家堙A也不要問他的安。

他指的是那些名為基督徒弟兄,但其實是假教師的人。不要與這樣的人親近。不要像接待弟兄那樣接待他。注意到面對法利賽人的假教師耶穌是多麼富有衝突性。保羅在他給加拉太人的信媢鴭^割禮異端是多麼的不客氣。

但這指的不是我們與非基督徒的交往,而是那些名為“基督徒”的叛教者。保羅寫到:“因為審判教外的人與我何幹?教內的人豈不是你們審判的嗎?至于外人,有神審判他們。你們應當把那惡人從你們中間趕出去。”【哥林多前書 5:12-13】

但是,在作出這種審判的時候要格外小心。而且我認為只應把這種審判用到極其明顯的情況堙C因為約翰的主要命令是要愛基督徒弟兄,包括那些信心還不成熟的。換句話說,在你嘗試應用這節經文的時候,“不要把嬰兒和洗澡水一起潑出去。”


不要與惡為友

約翰二書 1:11 因為問他安的,就在他的惡行上有分。

保羅同樣告誡提摩太說:“給人行按手的禮,不可急促﹔不要在別人的罪上有分,要保守自己清潔。”【提摩太前書 5:22】你認可或不認可誰,神將會讓你為之負責。所以,“那暗昧無益的事,不要與人同行,倒要責備行這事的人。”【以弗所書 5:11】

與此相反,“人因為先知的名接待先知,必得先知所得的賞賜。人因為義人的名接待義人,必得義人所得的賞賜。”【馬太福音 10:41】


盼望見到你們

約翰二書 1:12 我還有許多事要寫給你們,卻不愿意用紙墨寫出來。但盼望到你們那堙A與你們當面談論,使你們的喜樂滿足。

保羅類似地給帖撒羅尼迦人寫到:“弟兄們,我們暫時與你們離別,是面目離別,心堳o不離別,我們極力地想法子,很愿意見你們的面。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:17】

雖然互聯網是一個方便的通迅方式,但這并不能取代面對面的事奉。耶穌沒有只通過代理人把道傳給我們,而是成為一個人,直接與我們見面。他沒有住在宮殿堙A通過傳令人給我們發布命令,而是親自訓練門徒,直接與人接觸。而且耶穌的事奉不局限于眾多的人,他還事奉個別的人。(另見,醫治患血漏的女人

面對面地接觸還可體現出個人的價值。給眾多的人事奉或單單通過書信事奉,往往會貶低個人的重要性。有誰全靠電子郵件養育自己的孩子呢?如果可能的話,不要把你的基督徒弟兄關系和事奉局限于非個人的形式堙C不要只是“去教會”,而要與個人建立起關系。


問安

約翰二書 1:13 你那蒙揀選之姊妹的兒女都問你安。

把所學的付之于應用,我想借此機會說:“向尋求和事奉主的人問安。向你敬禮。”

新約堣j多數的書信都是以問安開始和(或)結尾。但今天的基督徒往往忽略了這些,因為今天人們在問安時,心媟Q的和嘴上說的往往不一致。比如現在人會說:“嗨!你好嗎?”但其實并不真想得到別人的答復。但在當時,問安不像這麼輕率,我們在第十一節看到不要向假教師問安,“因為問他安的,就在他的惡行上有分。”

聖經在這堜狳洏峈滿妍搹w”一詞是希臘文“ασπαζομαι”,意思是敬禮,問安,歡迎,祝好。快樂地迎接,歡迎,這正好與我們約翰三書的查經銜接上,那本書以更細致的問安開始。


Sep 07,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2John (web)

I. Abide in God's Commandments

1:1 The elder, to the chosen lady and her children, whom I love in truth;
and not I only, but also all those who know the truth;
1:2 for the truth's sake, which remains in us, and it will be with us forever:
1:3 Grace, mercy, and peace will be with us,
from God the Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ,
the Son of the Father, in truth and love.

1:4 I rejoice greatly that I have found some of your children walking in truth,
even as we have been commanded by the Father.

1:5 Now I beg you, dear lady, not as though I wrote to you a new commandment,
but that which we had from the beginning, that we love one another.
 

1:6 This is love, that we should walk according to his commandments.
This is the commandment, even as you heard from the beginning,
that you should walk in it.

II. Abide Not with False Teachers

1:7 For many deceivers have gone out into the world,
those who don't confess that Jesus Christ came in the flesh.
This is the deceiver and the Antichrist.

1:8 Watch yourselves, that we don't lose the things which we have accomplished,
but that we receive a full reward.

1:9 Whoever transgresses and doesn't remain in the teaching of Christ, doesn't have God.
He who remains in the teaching, the same has both the Father and the Son.
1:10 If anyone comes to you,
and doesn't bring this teaching, don't receive him into your house,
and don't welcome him,

1:11 for he who welcomes him participates in his evil works.

1:12 Having many things to write to you, I don't want to do so with paper and ink,
but I hope to come to you, and to speak face to face, that our joy may be made full.
1:13 The children of your chosen sister greet you. Amen.


Discussion Questions

vs 1-3 Why do you suppose John mentions "truth" so many times in these verses?
vs 4-6 How is Biblical love related to obedience?
vs 7 What kind of deceivers was John referring to?
What kinds of deceivers are their today?
vs 8 What is there to lose? And how can we avoid losing it?
vs 9 How might you use this verse to measure one's salvation status?
vs 10,11 What about if Jehovah Witnesses or Mormons come knocking at your door?
How would you react?
vs 12 What edification is there in face to face communication?

Comments

Whom I Love in the Truth

2John 1:1 THE ELDER,
To the elect lady and her children, whom I love in truth, and not only I, but also all those who have known the truth

The author of the letters of 1,2,3John is the apostle John apparently most favored in Jesus' eyes as he was known as the disciple whom Jesus loved. (John 20:2; John 21:7,20) And we find the rhetoric, the style of writing, and the emphasis John uses in his letters similar. And so also we have confirmation of its authenticity by the testimony of Irenaus who was a disciple of Polycarp who was a disciple of the apostle John.

John was an apostle, but he was also one of the elders of the Church, as was Peter who wrote, "The elders who are among you I exhort, I who am a fellow elder and a witness of the sufferings of Christ, and also a partaker of the glory that will be revealed" 1Peter 5:1

While the identity of the "lady" is not given, by "elect" John is expressing his confidence of her salvation status. Perhaps this simple fact can be taken as a lesson to those who think one's "election" status is unknowable. For identifying one's election status (which is the subject of much of John's letters) is not as mysterious as some make it out to be.

"her children" may refer simply to her physical offspring, or possibly those she's led to Christ and has discipled. But if it is her own children it is strange that, if she is married, why John didn't speak of her husband. But given that later he alludes to them being not mere infants, it could be that she is a widow. And perhaps that's the reason why he's dealing with her directly rather then through her husband. Not that I want to read too much into it, but rather to mention the various possibilities.

"I love in the truth" sounds romantic by todays standards, where the word "love" is often presumed to have sexual overtones. But John commonly spoke of love in a much different sense, both concerning what Jesus said of it in his gospel and throughout John's letters. And in particular here qualifying it as being with respect to the truth. By that he wasn't referring to sincerity, but rather to the truth of the Word of God.

All who have come to know the truth of God's word have a common appreciation for one another's love for the truth. Is this your experience? Might it be a good idea to express that to others?


The Truth Abides in Us

2John 1:2 because of the truth which abides in us and will be with us forever:

Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, "If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed." John 8:31 Having the truth of God's Word abiding in us is to allow it to dominate our thoughts, forming the basis of our convictions and the reason for our actions. For we have "been born again, not of corruptible seed but incorruptible, through the word of God which lives and abides forever."1Peter 1:23


Grace in Truth and Love

2John 1:3  Grace, mercy, and peace will be with you from God the Father and from the Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of the Father, in truth and love.

"Truth" is mentioned 4 times in the first three verses. Perhaps one reason for this emphasis is because of his warnings later on of false teachers.

Realize that this verse is not simply a greeting. It is a prayer. So here's something we can pray for others. Pray that they will experience God's grace, mercy and peace.

God's grace is that character quality whereby he does good for those who don't deserve it. For we all fall short of God's standard from time to time.

God's mercy is that character quality whereby he provides for those in a pitiable state.

And God's peace is that state of mind free from concerns in view of God's sovereignty and graciousness.


Walking in Truth

2John 1:4 I rejoiced greatly that I have found some of your children walking in truth, as we received commandment from the Father.

What was the apostle's greatest joy? Apparently it was seeing other Christians walking in the truth. And this is particularly the case concerning those we've personally discipled. Paul writes, "what is our hope, our joy, or the crown in which we will glory in the presence of our Lord Jesus when he comes? Is it not you? Indeed, you are our glory and joy." 1Th 2:19,20 and "Therefore, my beloved and longed-for brethren, my joy and crown, so stand fast in the Lord, beloved." Php 4:1

The greatest joy a Christian can experience is in seeing those they've personally influenced live a life in accordance with the truth. And conversely the Christian's greatest discouragement is in seeing them fall.


Love One Another

2John 1:5  And now I plead with you, lady, not as though I wrote a new commandment to you, but that which we have had from the beginning: that we love one another.

This is the most common command in John's letters. Note 1John 3:11 "For this is the message that you heard from the beginning, that we should love one another" and 1John 3:23 "this is His commandment: that we should believe on the name of His Son Jesus Christ and love one another, as He gave us commandment."

While right doctrine or right theology is important, historically love for fellow Christians has often been sacrificed in the name of right doctrine. If your faith were evaluated based upon your love for other Christians, how would you measure up?


Love is to Obey

2John 1:6 This is love, that we walk according to His commandments. This is the commandment, that as you have heard from the beginning, you should walk in it.

How do we show love to God? By obedience! Jesus said, "He who has My commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves Me."John 14:21

"And this is His commandment: that we should believe on the name of His Son Jesus Christ and love one another" 1John 3:23 Those who live a lifestyle consistent with these commandments show that they love God.

Loving other Christians is not simply a "preference" to hang around certain people. It is not simply an internal feeling of affection. Though that may result. Christian love involves action. It involves applications that lead to edification of other Christians.


An AntiChrist

2John 1:7 For many deceivers have gone out into the world who do not confess Jesus Christ as coming in the flesh. This is a deceiver and an antichrist.

This was an issue John mentioned also in 1John 4:2,3 "By this you know the Spirit of God: Every spirit that confesses that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is of God, and every spirit that does not confess that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is not of God. And this is the spirit of the Antichrist, which you have heard was coming, and is now already in the world."

The particular deviant theology John was alluding to was that of the "docetists", who while claiming to believe in Jesus, held that he could not have come in a body of physical flesh, as the Greek philosophers held that whatever is physical is innately evil. Thus while the docetists appeared to honor Christ, they did so by introducing false doctrines about him.

This wasn't about his moral teachings, but rather simply about his physical nature. Paul declared the physical nature of Christ to be central to the gospel.

"For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:" 1Cor 15:3,4

These things reveal how central the nature of Christ was to the early Christian faith. It was not simply the teachings of Christ that defined Christianity, but the person of Christ as well. To deny the physical nature of Christ was heresy. So beware of false religions, like Islam and the cults, which claim to believe in Jesus and yet portray him differently than the historic record of scripture.

Yet even with respect to this doctrine concerning the nature of Christ's body which John considered so significant, there is a division of opinions in the Christian community. For did Christ come in "Adamic" flesh as we have - being prone to temptations as we are? Or did he come in flesh free from a sinful nature and thus was not subject to the kinds of temptations we face?


Watch Out!

2John 1:8  Look to yourselves, that we do not lose those things we worked for, but that we may receive a full reward.

Given the previous verse, what he is referring to is to keep a constant vigilance over what we and our fellow Christians believe about Christ.

Similarly Paul exhorted Timothy saying, "Watch your life and doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers." 1Tim 4:16  For if false doctrine creeps into the Christian community, it hinders the effectiveness of ministry and thus its rewards.

An example of this is found in the book of Galatians where Paul battled the cult of the circumcision for the hearts of the Galatian Christians. His vigilance there is a good example to follow. And realize that many today are Christian in name only, but may be saved by ministering to them being watchful and persevering.

Thus also we have the principle from Proverbs 27:23,24"Be sure you know the condition of your flocks, give careful attention to your herds; for riches do not endure forever, and a crown is not secure for all generations."


Don't Go Too Far

2John 1:9  Whoever transgresses (or "whoever runs ahead" or "goes too far") and does not abide in the doctrine of Christ does not have God. He who abides in the doctrine of Christ has both the Father and the Son.

John is speaking of transgressing the boundaries of scriptural truth and thus inventing doctrines. Paul mentions in 1Cor 4:6 "Do not go beyond what is written." The idea is not to make the writings of post-Biblical theologians the foundation of our faith or on the level of scripture. For he goes on to say in the same verse "Then you will not take pride in one man over against another." Yet that is often the basis of denominational divisions, not the mention the source of cults - namely one man making too much of his own ideas over and against scripture. "Every word of God is flawless; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him. Do not add to his words, or he will rebuke you and prove you a liar." Pr 30:5,6

While love for fellow Christians is a measure of a genuine Christian, so also is right doctrine. For John also writes in 1John 4:6 "We are of God. He who knows God hears us; he who is not of God does not hear us."


Doctrine is Important

2John 1:10  If anyone comes to you and does not bring this doctrine, do not receive him into your house nor greet him;

He's referring to those allegedly Christian brethren coming as false teachers. Don't be friendly with such people. Don't welcome them as brethren. Notice how confrontational Jesus was concerning the false teachings of the Pharisees. And notice how hostile Paul is towards the cult of the circumcision in his letter to the Galatians.

But this is not referring to our associations with non-Christians, but rather concerning alleged "Christians" who are apostate. For Paul writes, "What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside. Expel the wicked man from among you." 1Cor 5:12,13

HOWEVER, be very careful in making such judgments. And I would say to reserve them only for the most obvious cases. For John's main command is to love fellow Christians, and that includes those who are immature in the faith. In other words, while you attempt to apply this verse, "Don't throw out the baby with the bath water!"


Be Unfriendly to the Evil

2John 1:11  for he who greets him shares in his evil deeds.

Paul gave Timothy a similar warning, "Do not lay hands on anyone hastily, nor share in other people's sins; keep yourself pure." 1Tim 5:22 God will hold you accountable for whom you do and do not endorse. Therefore "have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them."Eph 5:11

Conversely "He who receives a prophet in the name of a prophet shall receive a prophet’s reward. And he who receives a righteous man in the name of a righteous man shall receive a righteous man’s reward." Mt 10:41


Hope to See You

2John 1:12  Having many things to write to you, I did not wish to do so with paper and ink; but I hope to come to you and speak face to face, that our joy may be full.

John repeats this is his third letter saying, "I had many things to write, but I do not wish to write to you with pen and ink; but I hope to see you shortly, and we shall speak face to face." 3John 1:13,14 Similarly Paul wrote the Thessalonians saying, "But we, brethren, having been taken away from you for a short time in presence, not in heart, endeavored more eagerly to see your face with great desire."1Th 2:17

Some times joy can be made full through writing, as John says in 1John 1:4 "these things we write to you that your joy may be full." But much as the internet can be a convenient form of communication, this cannot replace face to face ministry. Jesus didn't simply give us the word through proxy, but became a man and met us face to face. And he didn't simply come to live in a palace, giving commands through messengers, but ministered personally doing personal discipleship and coming into direct contact with people. And Jesus didn't simply limit his ministry to the masses. He met face to face with individuals. (See also Healing the Hemorrhaging woman at http://www.bcbsr.com/survey/jcm15.html)

This personal contact also communicates the value of the individual. Ministering to large groups or indirectly through writings alone, may tend to devalue the importance of the individual. Afterall, who raises their children via email? So if you can, don't limit your Christian fellowship and ministry to relatively impersonal forms. And don't just "go to church". Establish relationships with individuals.


Greetings

2John 1:13  The children of your elect sister greet you. Amen.

And so by way of application may I say, Greetings to you who seek and serve the Lord. I salute you.

Most of the New Testament letters start and/or end with greetings. But Christians today often overlook these because today when it comes to greetings people often don't mean what they say. For example today someone my say, "Hi! How are you doing?", but not expect the person to answer the question. But back then greetings was not taken so lightly, as we had noticed in verse 11 concerning greeting false teachers, "he who greets him shares in his evil deeds".

Now the Greek word the Bible actually uses here for "Greet" is "aspazomai" which the lexicon defines as to salute one, greet, bid welcome, wish well to; to receive joyfully, welcome, which is good segue into our study of 3John which starts of with a more elaborate greeting.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015