翻譯: English 简体中文

勸勉基督徒的合一

基督徒的合一 實踐者 感覺者 成 熟 思考者

隨著信徒在基督堛漲釆禲A他們學會欣賞基督身體內屬靈恩賜的多樣性。成熟信徒的合一,通過把聖經應用到生活堙A逐漸以基督的諸多啟示和完成他的目的為中心。這些是自然相關的,因為耶穌說:“有了我的命令又遵守的,這人就是愛我的。愛我的必蒙我父愛他,我也要愛他,并且要向他顯現。”【約翰福音 14:21】

然而,這種多樣性被看作是對不成熟的人的威脅。不成熟的信徒往往喜歡與具有類似恩賜和性格的人聚在一起,就像鹽柱一樣,使他們對基督教的定義合乎他們特有的生活方式和特點,而不是從聖經堭o出關于基督徒生活的概念。為了要保持“合一”,他們試圖限制任何縱向或橫向的多樣性。比如,不成熟的思考者要求感覺者們若想變得值得交往必須放棄他們的情感,變成思考者。類私地,那些癡迷自己對基督的主觀“感覺”人,要求思考者放棄他們的思考才配與他們交往。因此兩者之間,以及所有介于兩者之間的人就有一個橫向的壓力。

不成熟的信徒往往因為非應用的問題產生分歧。比如,預定歸宿與自由意識就是一個讓加爾文主義者和靈恩派的感覺者爭吵不休的問題。還有很多這樣的問題,如洗禮的方法,創造論與神控進化論,教會學,關于末日的具體細節,等等。但隨著信徒在基督堻v漸成熟,他們更著重于把聖經應用到現實生活堙C他們著重于按照聖經,他們在生活中的目的和責任是什麼。他們更以聖經為基礎來定義基督。不是主觀地造一個合乎自己形像的“基督”,而是讓自己順應聖經堛滌繴。因為聖經堨u有一位基督,神的道的實踐者在變得越來越像基督時,互相間也會變得越來越像,同時保持他們各自恩賜的多樣性。因為雖然聖經只有唯一的解釋,但卻有諸多的應用。

注意到一個不成熟的“感覺者”與“思考者“之間的距離和他們與成熟的“實踐者“之間的距離是相等的。因此,就如感覺者和思考者之間有壓力和衝突一樣,在感覺者和實踐者之間,思考者和實踐者之間也有衝突。但向上的壓力有益于造就,正如在一個家庭埵赤灡肊狳到的壓力一樣。父母總是給孩子施加壓力使他們成熟起來,同時壓制屬于橫向衝突的兄弟姐妹之爭。

如我所提到的,不成熟的群體堣ㄨ社y橫向的多樣化。但他們同樣不鼓勵縱向的多樣化。就是說,他們不鼓勵成熟。因為從不成熟的觀點出發,成熟也將與橫向的多樣性一樣帶來同樣多的“衝突”。因此,很多教會不鼓勵信徒們在基督埵釆羺_來。他們壓制信徒們行使屬靈的恩賜。最多只能在群體堥犖堮汗蝒滬S圍之內。

為了壓制信徒們的造就,教會用的一招就是在“神職人員”與“俗人”之間造一個精英主義的區分。在“思考者”中,有些教會只有講課的形式,其中對“俗人”來說,基督徒的生活只限于坐在那媗弁威黎H員講課。在“感覺者”中,成熟被等同于從禁忌中釋放出來。思考是不受鼓勵的。嚴肅的查經會被看作太理論化,甚至是墨守律法。認真地把聖經付之于應用也同樣。應用被限制在表達人的感受或簡單地對象徵性的問題喊喊口號。對不成熟的思考者也同樣。像小孩一樣的謙卑被像小孩一樣的不成熟舉止取而代之。

反之,讓我們欣賞在基督的身體媊暔F恩賜和性格的多樣性,同時鼓勵在基督堛漲釆禲C因為,“他所賜的,有使徒,有先知,有傳福音的,有牧師和教師。為要成全聖徒,各盡其職,建立基督的身體,直等到我們眾人在真道上同歸于一,認識神的兒子,得以長大成人,滿有基督長成的身量。”【以弗所書 4:11-13】


2020年09月28日

An Exhortation on Christian Unity

As believers mature in Christ they learn to appreciate the diversity of giftedness within the body of Christ. Unity among the mature becomes centered around the manifold revelation of Christ and the fulfilling of His purposes by applying the Bible to life. These are naturally related as Jesus said, "Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him." (John 14:21)

However, such diversity often is seen as a threat to the immature. Immature believers of like giftedness and personality will gather together like pillars of salt and simply conform their definition of Biblical Christianity to their particular lifestyle and characteristics, rather than deriving their concept of the Christian life from the Bible. In order to keep a sense of "unity" they try to limit any diversity in the vertical and horizontal direction. For example, the immature Thinkers will demand the Feelers to give up their feelings and become thinkers before they are considered worthy of fellowship. Similarly, those who are obscessed with their own subjective "feelings" about Christ demand the thinkers to get out of their minds and give up their thinking before they are considered worthy of their fellowship. Thus there is a horizontal pressure between these two and all who lie in between.

Immature believers tend to divide over non-application oriented issues. Predestination versus free will is an example of an issue which divides Calvinist Thinkers and Charismatic Feelers, for example. And there are many such issues as methods of baptism, creationism vs. theistic evolution, ecclesiology, details concerning the end times, and so forth. But as believers mature in Christ, they focus more upon real- life applications of the Bible. They focus on what is their purpose and responsibility in life according to the Bible. They define Christ more based upon the Bible. And rather than subjectively conforming a "Christ" to their own image, they conform themselves to the Biblical Christ. Inevitably, since there is only one Biblical Christ, the doers of the Word become more and more like each other as they approach His likeness, while retaining the diversity of their giftedness. For the Bible has one interpretation, but many applications.

Notice also that the distance between an immature "feeler" and a "thinker" is the same as between the feeler and a mature "doer". Thus just as there is pressure and conflict between the feeler and thinker, so there is conflict between the feeler and the doer, as there is also between the thinker and the doer. But the upwards pressure is for edification, as one experiences it growing up in a family. Parents will always put pressure on their children to mature, but at the same time discourage sibling rivalry - the horizontal conflicts.

As I mentioned, immature groups will discourage horizontal diversity. But they will also discourage vertical diversity. That is, they will discourage maturity. For maturity will bring out just as much "conflict" from an immature point of view, as horizontial diversity. Thus, many churches discourage believers from maturing in Christ. They suppress believers from exercising their spiritual gifts. Or they only allow such within the limits of the particular giftedness of that group.

One technique churches use to discourage the edification of the believers is to make an elitist division between "clery" and "laity". Among the "Thinkers", you will have churches which have a simply a lecture format in which the Christian life for the "laity" consists simply of sitting and listening to lectures given by the professional elite clery. Among the "Feelers", maturity is equated with the release of one's inhibitions. One is discouraged from thinking. Serious Bible study may be considered too theoretical or even legalistic as is serious application of the Bible. Applications are limited to the expression of one's emotions or simply to "flag-waving" symbolic issues as also with the immature thinkers. And childlike humility is equated with behaving in an immature childish manner.

Rather, let us appreciate the diversity of giftedness and personality that exists in the body of Christ, while encouraging maturity. For, "It was he who gave some to be apostles, some to be prophets, some to be evangelists, and some to be pastors and teachers, to prepare God's people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ." (Eph 4:11-13)


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources
Jul 29,2015