翻譯: English 中文 GB

作門徒的代價

路加福音 9:23-26
23 耶穌又對眾人說:
 “若有人要跟從我,

24 因為凡要救自己生命的(“生命”或作“靈魂”。下同。),必喪掉生命﹔
  凡為我喪掉生命的,必救了生命
25 人若賺得全世界,卻喪了自己,賠上自己,有什麼益處呢?

26 凡把我和我的道當作可恥的
  人子在自己的榮耀堙A并天父與聖天使的榮耀堶偭{的時候,
  也要把那人當作可恥的。

路加福音 9:57-62
57 他們走路的時候,有一人對耶穌說:
  “你無論往哪堨h,我要跟從你。”
58 耶穌說:“狐狸有洞,天空的飛鳥有窩,
  只是人子沒有枕頭的地方。”

59 又對一個人說:“跟從我來”,那人說:
  “主,容我先回去埋葬我的父親。”
60 耶穌說:“任憑死人埋葬他們的死人
  你只管去傳揚神國的道。”

61 又有一人說:“主,我要跟從你。
  但容我先去辭別我家堛漱H。”
62 耶穌說:“手扶著犁向後看的
  不配進神的國。”

路加福音 14:25-33
25 有極多的人和耶穌同行。他轉過來對他們說:
26 “人到我這堥荂A
   若不愛我勝過愛自己的父母、妻子、兒女、弟兄、姐妹和自己的性命
   就不能作我的門徒。(“愛我勝過愛”原文作“恨”。)

27 凡不背著自己十字架跟從我的,也不能作我的門徒。

28 你們哪一個要蓋一座樓,
  不先坐下算計花費,
  能蓋成不能呢?
29 恐怕安了地基,不能成功,看見的人都笑話他,
30 說:‘這個人開了工,卻不能完工。’

31 或是一個王出去和別的王打仗,
  豈不先坐下酌量,
  能用一萬兵去敵那領二萬兵來攻打他的嗎?

32 若是不能,就趁敵人還遠的時候,
  派使者去求和息的條款。

33 這樣,你們無論什麼人,若不撇下一切所有的
 就不能作我的門徒。

有關寓言:

注釋

舍己
每個人都有他自己的愿望、目標和對生活的希望。但門徒則放棄這些,并用耶穌的愿望、目標和希望取而代之。這包括生活的全部。要跟隨耶穌,在說到職業、地點、歡樂、家庭、朋友、時間、態度、行動、生活方式時,我們也許要放棄我們自己的愿望、目標和希望──我們說什麼、想什麼、感覺什麼、做什麼,正如耶穌說的那樣:“不要成就我的意思,只要成就你的意思。”【路加福音 22:42b】

背起我們的十字架
耶穌順服神的旨意,背起十字架。在跟隨主時,將會有很多擔子要擔。我們蒙召不是要過舒適的生活,而是要過敬虔的生活──一個以神為中心的生活。

跟從基督
基督徒的生活不只是要作“好人”和不犯罪,基督徒的生活還包括順服基督,以基督為主。一個“好”非基督徒和一個真正的信徒間的區別是什麼呢?其區別之一就是信徒順服基督,以基督為主。但基督徒的生活甚至不止于此。一個門徒要跟隨耶穌。跟隨耶穌包括并超過了只是順從他。一個仆人順從他的主人,但一個兒子要效仿他父親的榜樣。是的,兒子要順從,但隨著他的成熟,父親還希望他跟隨他的榜樣。基督徒的生活也同樣。在跟隨耶穌系列媢鼣o一點有更詳細的討論和特別的應用。

喪掉我們的生命
基督徒許要放棄屬世的野心,把他們的生命浪費在耶穌上,正像馬太福音第二十六章堥滬荍潀o貴重的香膏浪費在耶穌身上的女人那樣。世界所能給我們的任何事都比不上一生事奉主耶穌基督所得的賞賜。

不以福音為恥
雖然基督徒在傳講耶穌和他的使徒的教導時要有智慧和恩慈,但我們當然不能因經上所寫的為恥或感到不好意思。因為世界會羞辱基督徒。那正是基督徒生活的一部分。但保羅寫到:“我不以福音為恥﹔這福音本是神的大能,要救一切相信的,先是猶太人,後是希利尼人。”【羅馬書 1:16】充滿信心是深信的一個特徵。充滿信心也傳遞著深信,這會感染聽信息的人。“所以你們不可丟棄勇敢的心,存這樣的心必得大賞賜。”【希伯來書 10:35】

“去”與“是”
在跟隨基督時,要背十字架,要面對羞辱,要作出犧牲。但有些人在跟隨時不完全投入。他們把的投入限制在只是從一個地方到另一個地方“”。他們把作門徒限制在去機構化的教會,去神學院,去差傳。但跟隨耶穌不只是“去”和“到”。跟隨耶穌在于“成為”和“是”。這些地方所需要的不只是一個人。這些地方需要的是像基督的人。比如耶穌在說到法利賽人的假冒為善時說:“因為你們走遍洋海陸地,勾引一個人入教。既入了教,卻使他作地獄之子,比你們還加倍。”【馬太福音 23:15b】因此讓我們不要太看重到這堜峔鴩綵堨h,而要看重怎麼才能像耶穌那樣。

任憑死人埋葬他們的死人
這個人的父親當時很可能還沒有死,但這個人在【路加福音 9:59】堥D耶穌說等他的父親死了以後再來跟隨耶穌。這堛滌暋D在于一個人在家庭堛熙d任。沒有耶穌,盡我們屬世的責任就好像死人埋葬死人。這不是說人不應該盡他們屬世的責任,但首先要有生命。什麼更重要呢,是埋葬某個死去的人,還是使死人復活?如果他先跟隨了耶穌,他可以把生命帶回他的家庭。否則沒有耶穌,此生是空虛的。今生是死的,等待埋葬。我常常聽人們說要跟隨耶穌或過基督徒生活,但要等到他們盡了其它責任之後。他們真的不明白。如果你不跟隨耶穌,你是死的。死人埋葬死人是沒有意義的。

手扶著犁向後看的
向後看是在扮演羅得的妻子。這些是半途的基督徒,不是全心地想在他們的基督徒生活媔i步。他們中有些人就像彼得說的那樣:“俗語說得真不錯:‘狗所吐的,它轉過來又吃﹔豬洗淨了,又回到泥堨h滾。’這話在他們身上正合式。”【彼的後書 2:22】但保羅寫到:“弟兄們,我不是以為自己已經得著了。我只有一件事,就是忘記背後,努力面前的,”【腓立比書 3:13】如果我們不全心地一直走到應許之地,那麼我們就不配得它,并且將死在曠野。

【路加福音 9:62】《新國際版》(NIV)說:“fit for service in the kingdom of God”但希臘文只是說:“fit for the kingdom of God”大多數其它版本也是這樣翻譯的。因為這種人不但不能在神的國事奉,他們根本就進不了神的國。
恨自己的家人
耶穌說要恨自己家的人是什麼意思呢?我認為他說的是一個人相對于基督的態度。

“一個仆人不能事奉兩個主。不是惡這個愛那個,就是重這個輕那個。”【路加福音 16:13】

我們對耶穌的投入應該遠遠超過對我們的家庭的投入,以至于這好像是在對比愛和恨一樣。

“愛惜自己生命的,就失喪生命。在這世上恨惡自己生命的,就要保守生命到永生。”【約翰福音 12:25】

還如果我們把“生命”換成“家庭”,這句話就成了:“愛惜自己家庭的,就失喪家庭。在這世上恨惡自己家庭的,就要保守家庭到永生。”很多人用“愛”他們的家庭過于愛耶穌而把他們的家庭徑直領進地獄。我們能夠為我們的家庭和我們自己所做的最好的事就是跟隨耶穌。因此,讓我們跟隨和服從耶穌,無論我們的家庭說什麼。


Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

The Cost of Discipleship

Lk 9: 23  He said to all, "If anyone desires to come after me,
  • let him deny himself,
  • take up his cross, and
  • follow me.

  • 24  For whoever desires to save his life will lose it,
    but whoever will lose his life for my sake, the same will save it.
    25  For what does it profit a man if he gains the whole world,
    and loses or forfeits his own self?

    26  For whoever will be ashamed of me and of my words,
    of him will the Son of Man be ashamed, when he comes in his glory,
    and the glory of the Father, and of the holy angels.

    Lk 9:
    57  As they went on the way, a certain man said to him,
    "I want to follow you wherever you go, Lord."
    58  Jesus said to him, "The foxes have holes, and the birds of the sky have nests,
    but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head."

    59  He said to another, "Follow me!" But he said,
    "Lord, allow me first to go and bury my father."
    60  But Jesus said to him, "Leave the dead to bury their own dead,
    but you go and announce the Kingdom of God."

    61  Another also said, "I want to follow you, Lord,
    but first allow me to bid farewell to those who are at my house."
    62  But Jesus said to him, "No one, having put his hand to the plow,
    and looking back, is fit for the Kingdom of God."

    Lk 14:
    25  Now great multitudes were going with him. He turned and said to them,
    26  "If anyone comes to me, and doesnít hate his own father, mother, wife, children, brothers, and sisters, yes, and his own life also, he canít be my disciple.
    27  Whoever doesnít bear his own cross, and come after me, canít be my disciple.
     

    28  For which of you, desiring to build a tower,
    doesnít first sit down and count the cost,
    to see if he has enough to complete it?
    29  Or perhaps, when he has laid a foundation, a
    nd is not able to finish, everyone who sees begins to mock him,
    30  saying, ĎThis man began to build, and wasnít able to finish.í

    31  Or what king, as he goes to encounter another king in war,
    will not sit down first and consider whether he is able with ten thousand
    to meet him who comes against him with twenty thousand?
    32  Or else, while the other is yet a great way off,
    he sends an envoy, and asks for conditions of peace.


    33  So therefore whoever of you who doesnít renounce all that he has,
    he canít be my disciple.

    Related Parables:

    Comments

    Self-Denial
    Each person has their own particular desires and goals and expectations in life. But a disciple gives up these and replaces them with Jesus' desires and goals and expectations. These incorporate all of life. To follow Jesus, we may have to deny our own desires, goals, expectations when it comes to: vocation, location, pleasures, family, friends, time, attitudes, activities, lifestyle  - what we say, think, feel and do, just as Jesus said, "Not my will but Your's be done".

    Taking up our Cross
    Jesus took up the cross in submission to God's will. In following the Lord there are many burdens to bear. We are not called to an easy life but to a godly life - a life in which God is the center.

    Follow Jesus
    The Christian life is not just a matter of being "good" and not sinning for it also incorporates submitting oneself to the Lordship of Christ. What is the difference between a "good" non-Christian and a true believer? One difference is that the believer submits to Christ as Lord. But the Christian life even goes beyond this. A disciple is a follower of Jesus. The idea behind following Jesus incorporates and goes beyond the idea of  just submitting and obeying Him. A slave submits to his master, but a son follows his father's example. Yes, a son is expected to obey, but as he matures, the father expects him to follow his example. So also in the Christian life. See "The Following Jesus Series" for an elaboration on this and particular applications.

    Losing our life
    The Christian needs to let go of their worldly ambitions and waste their lives on Jesus, much as the woman in Matthew 26 who wasted her expensive perfume on Jesus. There is nothing that the world can offer which can compare with the rewards of a life of service to the Lord Jesus Christ.

    Shamelessness
    Though Christians should be wise and gracious in presenting the teachings of Jesus and his apostles to others, we certainly should not be ashamed of or feel embarrased by what has been written. For the world will subject Christians to humilation. That's just a part of the Christian life. But Paul writes: "I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile." Rom 1:16 Confidence is characteristic of conviction. And confidence also communicates conviction, which affects the receiving of the message. "So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded." Heb 10:35

    "Going" vs "Being"
    In following Christ there are crosses to bear, humilation to face, and sacrifices to make. But some will make half-way commitments to follow. There are those who limit their commitment to simply "going" from one place to another. They limit discipleship to things like going to an institutional church, going to seminary, or going to a mission field. But following Jesus is not simply about "going" and "arriving". It's about "becoming" and "being". These locations don't need simply another body. They need Christlike ones. For Jesus spoke of the hypocrites among the Pharisees saying, "You travel over land and sea to win a single convert, and when he becomes one, you make him twice as much a son of hell as you are." Mat 23:15 Therefore let's be less concerned about going to this place or that place, and let's be more concerned about being like Jesus.

    Let the dead bury their dead
    It is most likely that the man's father had not yet died, but that this man in Luke 9:59 was asking to wait until his father died and then he would follow Jesus. At issue here are cultural responsibilities within one's family. Without Jesus, the fulfilling of our earthly responsibilities is like dead people burying dead people. This is not to say that one should not fulfill their earthly responsibilities, but life comes first. Which is more important, burying someone who is dead, or bringing the dead to life? If he first followed Jesus, he could bring life back to his family. Otherwise without Jesus, this life is vain. It is is one of death, waiting to be buried. Many times I've heard people say that will follow Jesus or live the Christian life but only after they've fulfilled some other responsibilities. They just don't get it. If you aren't following Jesus you are dead. And only in vain does the dead bury their dead.

    Putting one's hand to the plow and looking back
    To look back is to play to role of Lot's wife. These are halfway Christians, not committed to progressing forward in their Christian life. Among them are those Peter refers to in 2Pet 2:22 Of them the proverbs are true: "A dog returns to its vomit," and, "A sow that is washed goes back to her wallowing in the mud." But Paul writes: "This one thing I do: Forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead." Php 3:13 If we're not committed to going all the way to the promise land, then we are unfit for it and will die in the desert.

    In Luke 9:62 the NIV says "fit for service in the kingdom of God", but the Greek just says "fit for the kingdom of God", which is how most other versions translate it. For not only are such people not fit for service in the kingdom, they are also not suitable for entrance into the kingdom.
    Hating one's family
    What did Jesus mean by hating one's family? I think he is speaking about one's attitude relative to Christ.
    Luke 16:13  "No servant can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other."
    Our devotion to Jesus should be so much greater than our devotion to our family that it is like contrasting love and hatred.
    John 12:25  "The man who loves his life will lose it, while the man who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life."
    What if we were to replace "life" with "family". This would say "The man who loves his family will lose it, while the man who hates his family in this world will keep it for eternal life." Many lead their families straight into hell by "loving" them more than Jesus. The best thing we can do for our families and for ourselves is to follow Jesus. So let us follow and obey Jesus, regardless of what our families say.


    NIV used in comments
    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015