翻譯: English 中文 GB

施洗約翰

“天國近了,你們應當悔改。” 馬太福音3:2

約翰於公元二十八年開始傳道。

約翰傳道的目的

路加福音1:16,17里天使描述他的傳道
他要使許多以色列人回轉,歸於他們的神。
他必有以利亞的心志能力,行在主的前面,
叫為父的心轉向兒女,
叫悖逆的人轉從義人的智慧。
為主預備合用的百姓。(瑪拉基書4:6)
對以利亞的描寫可追溯到列王記上17章和18章。以利亞是神在北王國,也就是以色列國,的先知,他的任務是要叫人放棄對巴力的崇拜而回到神那里。

路加福音3:4-6里約翰描述他自己的傳道

正如先知以賽亞書上所記的話,說:
“在曠野有人聲喊著說
預備主的道
  • 修直他的路。
  • 一切山窪都要填滿,
  • 大小山岡都要削平。
  • 彎彎曲曲的地方要改為正直,
  • 高高低低的道路要改為平坦。
  • 凡是血氣的,都要見神的救恩。’” (以賽亞書40:3-5)
    削平山岡,填滿山窪是指要羞辱高傲的,扶持卑賤的。在耶穌與人的關系里我們也能看到這一點。高傲的需得羞辱,而卑微的需要認識到自己的價值,感到自己是被愛的以預備他們接受福音。改直彎彎曲曲的地方,修平高高低低的道路是指態度、關念的改變,同時也是指行為的改變。這兩者當然是息息相關的。我們說人“改正”是指他在他的生活里去掉了一些壞習慣或不良行為。但扭曲的關念會導致不良的行為,并為其辯解。所以約翰要人矯正思想。直路是簡單的路,是兩點之間最近的。如果人不是徑直地走向神,那么他就走在一條彎曲的路上。同樣不平的道路也會妨礙人走向神。一條筆直的路如果高低不平也會使交通變得緩慢。通向生命的道路是平坦筆直的 但它又是窄的,耶穌說:
    馬太福音7:13 “你們要進窄門。因為引到滅亡,那門是寬的,路是大的,進去的人也多。”
    有各種各樣的信仰和宗教使你落在地獄里。只有在由聖經定義的基督教里纔有生命。它不僅是猶太人或某個高貴的部分的,而更是全人類的。

    這意味著:人要為接受耶穌為君主和救主而做好准備,否則就認識不了他的信息和他本人。

    約翰教人悔改的例子

    羞辱高傲的和修直彎曲的路
    路加福音3:7,8 約翰對那出來要受他洗的眾人說:“毒蛇的種類!誰指示你們逃避將來的忿怒呢?你們要結出果子來,與悔改的心向稱,不要自己心里說:‘有亞伯拉罕為我們的祖宗。’我告訴你們,神能從這些石頭中,給亞伯拉罕興起子孫來。”
    今天有些人將他們的信心建立在他們的宗教出身。以為只要他們的父母是基督徒,他們自己就是由神生的。或因為他們參加了某個教會,就以為這個關系就能使他們得救。但如果他們的行為與神的孩子不符,那么如保羅所說:“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有。也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心里嗎?”歌林多後書13:5 “你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺。無論是淫亂的,拜偶像的,奸淫的,作孌童的,親男色的,偷竊的,貪婪的,醉酒的,辱罵的,勒索的,都不能承受神的國。” 歌林多前書6:9,10

    猶太人為他們的血統和猶太出身而特別地傲慢,視外邦人為狗和“石頭”,而神卻將外邦人將變成亞伯拉罕的子孫。(加拉太書3:29)而在彼得前書2:4,5里基督和基督徒都被稱為“活石”)

    教人懼怕神的審判(火與硫磺式的傳道)

    路加福音3:9 “現在斧子已經放在樹根上,
    凡不結好果子的樹,就砍下來丟在火里。”
    現在福音派教會里就不太情愿用這種方式傳道。部分原因是怕得罪人,部分原因是對人的行為與人的得救狀態的關系的誤解。(見約翰一書查經)耶穌在約翰福音第十五章里以同樣的方式說: “人若不常在我里面,就像枝子丟在外面枯干,人拾起來,扔在火里燒了。” 約翰福音15:6 (另見 不結果的無花果樹的寓言。)

    悔改的具體應用路加福音3:10-14

  • 對眾人“有兩件衣裳的,就分給那沒有的。

  • 有食物的也當這樣行。”
    為同屬人類的人提供所需是人的責任。但這并不是說應以滿足他人的貪欲為己任。許多人貪圖的并不是他們真正需要的。同時他也不是在宣揚共產主義,要平均分配一切(其實這在“共產主義國家”也從來沒有真正實行過)。這里所講的是要滿足基本的需要。
  • 對稅吏:“除了例定的數目,不要多取。”
  • 稅吏受眾人憎惡不僅是因為他們偷竊稅銀,更因為他們被認為是在為羅馬人做事。當時猶太人受羅馬人統治,認為羅馬人是屬於敵對神的異教外邦人。但正象耶穌和使徒們一樣,約翰不是奮銳黨人。他沒有政治上的企圖。他認為羅馬統治是神的主權之下,就如先知受巴比倫人擄掠一樣。

    然而除了例定的數目,還要多取,在商業界,甚至在職業基都徒里并不鮮見。你所提供的服務真的值那么多嗎?還是你在不知的情況下勒索錢財或偷竊工錢?還有一種就是有錢人苛扣雇員的工資或拖欠工資,雅各寫道:

    “你們這些富足人哪,應當哭泣,號啕,因為將有苦難臨到你們身上。你們的財物壞了,衣服也被蟲子咬了。你們的金銀都長了鏽。那鏽要証明你們的不是,又要喫你們的肉,如同火燒。你們在這末世,只知積攢錢財。工人給你們收割庄稼,你們虧欠他們的工錢。這工錢有聲音呼叫。并且那收割之人的冤聲,已經入了萬軍之主的耳了。你們在世上享美福,好宴樂,當宰殺的日子竟嬌養你們的心。” 雅各書5:1-5
    這些兵丁可能是猶太人,雖然不能排除象去找耶穌的百夫長那樣的軍人。因為有外邦人是信徒。但他們更可能是希律的警察部隊里的,他們與稅吏一同做事,因而受到與稅吏同樣的試探。用他們的武力,可以像黑手黨一樣搶奪錢財,他們以通過要造謠中傷的威脅來訛詐富人而著稱。

    所以我們看到人對的態度是為合宜地接受主而做准備的一個基本因素。這里主要的誡鑒就是知足。如果人是否知足取決於他的富有程度,那么他可能就還沒有為接受主做好准備。

    約翰斥責希律

    正如以利亞有亞哈王和耶洗別,約翰有希律王和希羅底。希羅底原是希律的兄弟腓力之妻,她離了婚嫁給希律。盡管摩西律法在一定程度上允許離婚再結婚,但人不可娶與自己兄弟離了婚的女人。

    利未記18:16  “不可露你弟兄妻子的下體,這本是你弟兄的下體。”
    利未記20:21  “人若娶弟兄之妻,這本是污穢的事,羞辱了他的弟兄,二人必無子女。”(從利未記的上下文可以看出,犯此罪的是要定死罪的。)
    主更是不許離婚後再與別人結婚,但許多基督徒覺得他們可以離婚再結婚,而很少有人公開地站出來反對。(見婚姻,離婚與通奸)但如果你在宗教圈子里提出這個問題,你有可能會掉腦袋!

    約翰宣告基督

    路加福音3:16,17 約翰說,我是用水給你們施洗,但有一位能力比我更大的要來,我就是給他解鞋帶也不配。他要用聖靈與火給你們施洗。 他手里拿著簸箕,要揚淨他的場,把麥子收在倉里,把糠用不滅的火燒盡了

    鑒於在新約下所得到的對罪的饒恕,約翰的施洗集中在悔改上。但它在本質上與耶穌的施洗有所不同,正如水和靈是不同的一樣。耶穌要給予的將會更大,而這是約翰所無法給的。

    約翰不認為自己是在宣告聖誕老人式的人物。在他想到基督時,他頭腦里出現的是火。那么約翰說:“用聖靈與火給你們施洗”是什么意思呢?我從上下文得出的印象是他在說基督將給有些人用聖靈施洗。這些是他要收到倉里的麥子。其它的他要以他的憤怒用地獄里那不可止息的烈焰給他們施洗。這些就是那些約翰在几節以前所說的那些不結好果子的。“現在斧子已經放在樹根上,凡不結好果子的樹,就砍下來丟在火里。” 路加福音3:9




    庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
    問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
    索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
    查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

    Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:12 EDT

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

The Ministry of John the Baptist

"Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is near." Matt 3:2

John's ministry started about 28 A.D.

The Purpose of John's Ministry

An Angel describes his ministry in Luke 1:16,17
Many of the people of Israel will he bring back to the Lord their God.
And he will go on before the Lord, in the spirit and power of Elijah,
'to turn the hearts of the fathers to their children
and the disobedient to the wisdom of the righteous--
to make ready a people prepared for the Lord.' (Malachi 4:6)
The reference to Elijah goes back to 1Kings chapters 17 and 18, in which the prophet Elijah, who was God's prophet in the Northern Kingdom (Israel as opposed to Judah), and whose task was to turn the people back to God away from Baal worship.

John describes his own ministry in Luke 3:4-6

As is written in the book of the words of Isaiah the prophet:
"A voice of one calling in the desert,
'Prepare the way for the Lord,
  • make straight paths for him.
  • Every valley shall be filled in,
  • every mountain and hill made low.
  • The crooked roads shall become straight,
  • the rough ways smooth.
  • And all mankind will see God's salvation." (Isaiah 40:3-5)
    The leveling of mountains and valleys refers to humilating the proud and lifting up the humble. We see this also in Jesus' relationships with people. The proud need to be humiliated and the lowly need to have a sense of significance and of being loved in order to prepare them for the good news. The crooked roads becoming straight refer to both a change of attitudes, ideas and behavior. These are of course all related. We speak of a person "going straight" as one who eliminates some sinful habit or behavior in their life. But there are crooked ideas which lead to such crooked behavior, or perhaps justify such behavior. Thus John also wants people to be straight in their thinking. A straight road in simpler and provides the shortest distance between two points. If a person is not always heading straight towards God, he is on a crooked road. In a similar way a rough road also hinders one's progress towards God. A road may be straight, but if it is rough it slows down travel. The road to life is straight and smooth. But it is philosophically narrow, as Jesus said:
    Mt 7:13 "Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it."
    There are all kinds of beliefs and religions that will end you up in hell. But only in Biblical Christianity is there life. It is not simply for Jews or for any particular elite group, but for all mankind.

    Implication: People must be prepared to meet Jesus as Lord and Savior else they will appreciate neither his message nor person.

    Examples of John Preaching Repentance

    Humiliating the Proud and Making the Crooked Ways Straight
    Luke 3:7,8 John said to the crowds coming out to be baptized by him, "You brood of vipers! Who warned you to flee from the coming wrath? Produce fruit in keeping with repentance. And do not begin to say to yourselves, 'We have Abraham as our father.' For I tell you that out of these stones God can raise up children for Abraham.
    There are people today that place their confidence in their religious upbringing. Their parents were Christians and therefore they assume that they themselves are born of God. Or they may belong to a church assuming they are saved merely be association. But if their behavior is not consisent with that of a child of God then as Paul said, "Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you-- unless, of course, you fail the test?" 2Corinthians 13:5 Or "Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God." 1Cor 6:9,10

    The Jews in particular were proud of their genetics and their Jewishness, reckoning Gentiles to be mere dogs and "stones", which God indeed did raise to become sons of Abraham (Galatians 3:29) and both Christ and Christians are reckoned as stones in (1Peter 2:4,5)

    Preaching Fear of God's Judgment (Fire & Brimstone Preaching)

    Luke 3:9 "The ax is already at the root of the trees,
    and every tree that does not produce good fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire."
    There is a general reluctance these days within the Evangelical community to preach in this manner. Part of this is due to the fear of offending people, and part due to a misconception of the correlation between a person's behavior and their salvation status. (See also the 1st John Study) Jesus speaks in a very similar manner in John 15 saying "If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned."John 15:6 (See also the parable of the barren fig tree.)

    Practical Applications of Repentance (Luke 3:10-14)

  • General: "The man with two tunics should share with him who has none,

  • and the one who has food should do the same."
    It is the duty of man to provide for the needs of his fellow man. This is not to say that it is his duty to necessarily  provide for his desires. For many desire things they don't really need. Nor is he preaching communism in which everything is shared equally (which has also never actually been practiced even in "communist countries" anyhow). But rather to make sure that basic necessities are taken care of.
  • Tax Collectors: "Don't collect any more than you are required to"
  • Tax Collectors were generally despised not simply because of their tendency to pilfer taxes for themselves, but also simply because they were viewed as working for the Romans. The Jews were living under the occupation of the Romans and viewed them as Gentiles of a foreign religion hostile to God. But just as Jesus and the apostles, John was not a Zealot. He was not politically motivated. He viewed the Romans as governing in accordance with God's sovereignty, just as the prophets had under the Babylonians captivity.

    However this collecting more than you are required may be a common practice in the business community, not to mention even among professional Christians. How much money do you really deserve for the services you render, or are you unknowingly extorting money or pilfering your wages? Then there are those among the rich that don't pay employees enough or in a timely manner

    The soldiers were probably Jewish, although one cannot rule out Gentile soldiers likened to the Centurion whom comes to Jesus. For there were Gentile believers. But most likely these are Herod's police force, which worked along with tax collectors, and were also subject to the same kind of temptations as tax collectors. For with their arms they could extort money, much like the mafia, and they were known also to blackmail rich people through with threats of slander.

    Therefore we see that one's attitude towards MONEY is an essential ingredient in preparing one to receive the Lord properly. The main exhortation in this is simply CONTENTMENT. If one's contentment is based upon one's wealth then one may not be prepared to meet the king.

    John Rebukes Herod

    Just as Elijah had his King Ahab and Jezebel so John had his King Herod and Herodias. Herodias was formerly the wife of his brother Philip whom she divorced to marry Herod. Although the Law of Moses did allow remarriage after divorce to a degree, for example a man could not marry the divorced wife of his brother.

    Lev 18:16  "'Do not have sexual relations with your brother's wife; that would dishonor your brother."
    Lev 20:21  "'If a man marries his brother's wife, it is an act of impurity; he has dishonored his brother. They will be childless." (The context of Leviticus seems to indicate by this that the death penalty applies)
    And much as the Lord spoke even more strictly about remarriage after divorce, yet many in the Christian community feel they can remarry after divorce in an unrestricted manner and few publically take a stand against it. (See  also Marriage, Divorce, & Adultery) But if you bring up this issue in the religious community, you may lose your head!

    John Announces the Christ

    Lk 3:16,17 "I baptize you with water. But one more powerful than I will come, the thongs of whose sandals I am not worthy to untie. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and with fire.  His winnowing fork is in his hand to clear his threshing floor and to gather the wheat into his barn, but he will burn up the chaff with unquenchable fire."

    John's baptism was focussed on repentance in view of the forgiveness of sins to be obtained under the New Covenant. But it was characteristically different than the baptism which Jesus was to provide, just as water is different than Spirit. There is something greater that Jesus will offer that John cannot provide.

    John did not view himself as announcing some kind of Santa Claus figure. He had the fire on his mind when he thought of Christ. But what did John mean by "baptize you with the Holy Spirit and with fire."? From the context I get the distinct impression that what he means is that Christ will baptize some in the Holy Spirit. These will be the wheat gathered into his barn. The others will be baptized in the unquenchable fire of hell in accordance with his wrath. These are those who those who are unfruitful as John already said a few verses before, "The ax is already at the root of the trees, and every tree that does not produce good fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire." Luke 3:9


    (Verses quoted from the NIV version)
    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015