翻譯: English 中文 GB

有需的朋友

路加福音 11:5-13 耶穌又說:“你們中間誰有一個朋友,半夜到他那堨h說:‘朋友,請借給我三個餅。因為我有一個朋友行路,來到我這堙A我沒有什麼給他擺上。’那人在堶惘^答說:‘不要攪擾我,門已經關閉,孩子們也同我在床上了,我不能起來給你。’我告訴你們:雖不因他是朋友起來給他,但因他情詞迫切地直求,就必起來照他所需用的給他。我又告訴你們:你們祈求,就給你們﹔尋找,就尋見﹔叩門,就給你們開門。因為凡祈求的就得著﹔尋找的就尋見﹔叩門的就給他開門。你們中間作父親的,誰有兒子求餅,反給他石頭呢?求魚,反拿蛇當魚給他呢?求雞蛋,反給他蠍子呢?你們雖然不好,尚且知道拿好東西給兒女,何況天父,豈不更將聖靈給求他的人嗎?”


問題討論

試說一說這樣的情形:有人不斷地向你要某個東西,最後你不耐煩了,就把他所要的東西給了他。或者你把別人弄煩了,結果就把你所要的東西給了你。
這個朋友要的是哪種東西?為什麼?
他是怎麼求的?
按照第一部分,我們應該如何向神求我們想要的東西?
第二部分是應許還是原則?你得到所有你所求的東西了嗎?這堜珒ㄜ猁漪O什麼樣的態度?
在第三部分堙A為什麼父母有時會不愿給孩子他們所求的東西?
他們所求的是什麼樣的東西?
世上有“好”父母嗎?你的父母呢?
求聖靈是什麼意思?


注釋

耶穌是在他的門徒們求他教他們禱告的時候講的這個寓言。所以耶穌在這婸〞漕D指的主要是向神要東西。耶穌在這堭苭L們的方式是從兩個完全不同的角度看這個問題,而在其間陳述了這個問題的一般原則。

第一部分:不情愿的施者

有沒有感到過向神求東西就像拔牙一樣?有沒有感到過神就像一個在房子睡著了的人一樣,我們得喚醒他去行動?那樣的人不止你一個,就連大衛王都這樣向神禱告:

詩篇7:6 耶和華啊,求你在怒中起來,挺身而立,抵擋我敵人的暴怒﹔求你為我興起,你已經命定施行審判。

詩篇 44:23 主啊,求你睡醒,為何盡睡呢?求你興起,不要永遠丟棄我們。

為什麼神要這麼做呢?如果他知道我們的需要的話,為什麼我們還要禱告才能使我們的需要得到滿足呢?為什麼他不主動地來滿足我們的需要呢?然而,他就像一個人睡著了一樣,似乎不知道我們的需要,好像得我們去提醒他我們的需要一樣。

也許,其原因就在于神就是這樣造我們的。因為要求我們去求,就把我們放在我們的角色堙A我們必須承認我們對神的依賴,這不但提醒我們自己的角色,同時把榮耀歸給神。那麼神為什麼要做出不情愿的樣子呢?也許是要濾掉那些不是出于堅定的信的求告。立刻回答我們所求的每一個細瑣的事無助于使我們更深地去想一想我們所求的是不是真是對的,或真正需要的。也會減弱我們對神的回應的感激──我們被寵壞了。

他的意思不是說神是我們可以用來實現自己愿望的機器,我們只要把我們的愿望重復若干次就能實現自己的愿望。而是說,我們嚴肅地去禱告,不要用老套子或儀式。

我們應該求真正需要的東西。這個人所求的不是玩具。他所求的是一個實際的、真正的需要。我們所求的許多東西不是我們需要的,而是我們的奢望。然而,有許多合理的,屬靈的需要卻被人忽視了,人們不去為之禱告﹔反之,人們往往為他們的奢望殷勤地禱告。

第二部分:一般原則

“你們祈求,就給你們”不是一個應許,而是一個原則。耶穌這麼說是在寓言的意義上使用了夸張的手法,這在他講道中很常見,符合那個文化所使用的修辭手段──比如在所羅門的箴言所表現出的那樣。作為一個一般性的原則,的確如果你尋找就能尋見,叩門就給你開門,但他指的不是每一件具體的事。神沒有保証你可以用任何方式向他求任何東西,你都能得到,就連這個寓言都暗示了這一點。但一般來說,他會給那些求的人。這意在激勵人們嚴肅地向神求所必需的東西,而不是把神當作實現自己愿望的機器。

第三部分:父親的出發點

第三部分旨在從父親的出發點描繪施予。孩子們常常覺得他們的父母不愿遷就他們的要求。但父母往往比孩子更懂得什麼對孩子好。無條件地滿足孩子的一切要求會導致他們的敗壞。但如果所求的是必需的和有益處的(魚,雞蛋),父母會更認真地考慮這些請求的。

耶穌在此把他對人性的看法說得很明白──不好,也就是惡的。他對此很明白,盡管社會上其它的人不以為然。有一個人來對找他,稱他為:“良善的夫子”(路加福音 18:18),耶穌回答說:“除了神一位之外,再沒有良善的。”世上沒有“好”人。因為我們的惡行,我們都是惡的。但有意思的是,盡管這一事實,神還是把愿意將好東西給自己兒女這種固有的本性賜給了這些不好的父母。

與此作為對比,你覺得我們的好天父會把什麼給他的兒女呢?更好的東西。注意他最後說:“將聖靈給求他的人。”這是屬靈的恩賜,是所有賜給我們的東西堻怑垠n的。許多人為能看見的,物質上的東西禱告。但最重要,最實質的,最耐久和最能造就我們的是屬靈的東西。

內在地永恆地接受聖靈

關于聖靈的恩賜,要考慮到當時的情形。因為經上寫到:

節期的末日,就是最大之日,耶穌站著高聲說:“人若渴了,可以到我這堥茬隉C信我的人,就如經上所說:‘從他腹中要流出活水的江河來。’”耶穌這話是指著信他之人要受聖靈說的。那時還沒有賜下聖靈來,因為耶穌尚未得著榮耀。約翰福音 7:37-39
直到當時,還沒有人像始于五旬節的那樣,在永恆的意義上接受聖靈。新約是在耶穌被榮耀之後,在他復活并升天之後,才開始的。在五旬節上,彼得在他自己接受了聖靈後說:
“你們各人要悔改,奉耶穌基督的名受洗,叫你們的罪得赦,就必領受所賜的聖靈﹔因為這應許是給你們和你們的兒女,并一切在遠方的人,就是主我們神所召來的。”使徒行傳 2:38,39
聖靈是在一個人信了之後接受的。
“你們既聽見真理的道,就是那叫你們得救的福音,也信了基督,既然信他,就受了所應許的聖靈為印記。這聖靈,是我們得基業的憑據(原文作“質”),直等到神之民(“民”原文作“產業”)被贖,使他的榮耀得著稱贊。”以弗所書 1:13,14
那些在舊約堛漱H,甚至他自己的門徒在五旬節之前都沒有得到這樣的應許。在五旬節之後,這取決于一個人的得救狀態。“人若沒有基督的靈,就不是屬基督的。”羅馬書 8:9

聖靈不使我們稱義,但他給指引我們,給我們能力去事奉,去潔淨我們的生命。聖靈是過基督徒的生活所離不開的。

外在地接受聖靈

如果一個人對福音還沒有足夠的理解,或雖然理解,但還沒有完全地信服,那麼禱告接受聖靈會怎麼樣呢?他也會得到。但不是在內心堙C聖靈對一個慕道者來說是安慰者和向導。聖靈伴隨慕道者,就像日間的云柱和夜間的火柱領著以色列人穿過曠野到達應許之地一樣,他把慕道者領向基督。許多慕道者可以見証這種與聖靈的經歷,雖然他們尚未得救。


Rap

Suppose at midnight you go to a friend
Ask of him three loaves of bread to lend
For you say a friend has come over your house
And you have nothing to eat, not even a mouse
But the one inside says, "Don't bother me.
The door is locked and I can't find my key.
I can't get up, we're all in bed
I'm not going to give you any bread."
But as he continued to plead more and more
I tell you the man will open the door.
Not because he was his friend
But just to make his pleading end
So I say: Ask and it will be given to you
And if you seek, you'll find what is true
Knock and you'll suddenly find you're inside
Just as the man did because he had tried
Which of you fathers, if your son has a wish,
Will give him a snake if he asks for a fish?
Or give him a scorpion if he asks for an egg?
Is that what you'd give if your son did beg?
If you then, being evil, know how to give
Good gifts to your children to help them live
How much more will God make it his task
To give his Spirit to those who ask!


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
The Friend in Need

Luke 11:5-13 He said to them, "Which of you, if you go to a friend at midnight, and tell him, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves of bread, for a friend of mine has come to me from a journey, and I have nothing to set before him,’ and he from within will answer and say, ‘Don’t bother me. The door is now shut, and my children are with me in bed. I can’t get up and give it to you’? I tell you, although he will not rise and give it to him because he is his friend, yet because of his persistence, he will get up and give him as many as he needs. "I tell you, keep asking, and it will be given you. Keep seeking, and you will find. Keep knocking, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives. He who seeks finds. To him who knocks it will be opened. "Which of you fathers, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, he won’t give him a snake instead of a fish, will he?  Or if he asks for an egg, he won’t give him a scorpion, will he? If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him?"  (web)


Discussion Questions

Describe a situation in which someone kept asking you for something and then out of exasperation you give them it. Or describe one in which you exasperated someone else into giving you something.
What kind of thing did the friend as for? And why?
In what manner did he ask for it?
What does this first section teach about how we should approach God with our requests?
Is the second section a promise or a principle? Have you received everything you asked for? What attitude is being promoted here?
In the third section, why might parents be reluctant to given into their children's demands?
What kind of things are being asked for?
Are there any "good" parents in the world? How about your own?
What does it mean to ask for the Holy Spirit?


Comments

The context of this parable is that Jesus was asked by his disciples to teach them to pray.  So the asking Jesus speaks of here is mainly applied to asking God for stuff. The manner in which Jesus instructs them here is to give two opposite perspectives separated by a statement of the general principle.

The first statement: The Reluctant Giver

Ever have the sense that asking God for stuff is like pulling teeth? Ever have the sense that God is like the man asleep in house and we're trying to arouse him to action? You're in good company, for even King David prayed to God that way:

Ps 7:6 Arise, O LORD, in your anger; rise up against the rage of my enemies. Awake, my God; decree justice.

Ps 44:23 Awake, O Lord! Why do you sleep? Rouse yourself! Do not reject us forever.

Why does God behave this way? For if He knows there's a need, why do we even have to pray for it to be met? Why doesn't he just take iniative and meet it? But instead He acts like a man asleep, as if unaware of our needs, as if we have to remind him of our needs.

It may be simply because of what God has made us to be. By requiring us to ask, this puts us in a role where we have to acknowledge our dependence upon God, both to remind us of our role and to bring glory to God. But then why does He put on an appearance of reluctance? Possibly in order to filter out those requests which are not born of conviction. Quickly answering every trivial thing we ask will not help us to think deeply as to whether we have really asked for the right thing or whether we really need what we asked for. And it would lessen our appreciation of God's response - we get spoiled.

He doesn't mean to say that God is a wishing machine and that by repeating our wishes a certain number of times, we get what we wished for. But rather, we should pray for things seriously and not in a trite or ritualistic manner.

And we should ask for things that are actually needed. The man was not asking for toys. He was asking concerning a practical, real need. Much of what we ask for are not needs, but desires. However, there are many legitimate needs, being spiritual in nature, which are neglected and people don't pray for, while at the same time people are often diligent in praying for their desires.

The second statement: The general principle

"Ask and it will be given to you" is not a promise but a principle. Jesus is speaking by way of hyperbole in a proverbial sense, which is common in his sermons, and in accordance with the types of figures of speech used in that culture - such as the proverbs of Solomon illustrate. As a general priniciple, it is true that if you ask you will received and if you seek you will find and if you knock the door will be opened. But he is not referring to every particular case. God is not promising that you can ask him for anything and in any manner, and you will receive it, as even the parable above implies. But rather that he generally gives to those who ask. This is meant to motivate people to ask God for essential things seriously. And not to portray God as a wishing machine.

The third statement: The father's perspective

The third statement is meant to portray the Father's perspective in giving. Often children feel their parents are reluctant to give in to all their demands. But parents often know better what is good for their children than the children. Giving into all the demands of the children could result in their own destruction. But if the request is for something essential and edifying (a fish, an egg), parents take these more seriously.

Jesus makes his view of human nature abundantly clear - it is evil. He is very explicit about this, even when others in the society are not. There was a man who came up to him and said, "Good Teacher" (Luke 18:18), and Jesus replied, "No one is good-- except God alone." There are no such things as "good" people. We are all evil in terms of our behavior. But isn't it interesting that despite that fact, God has made it innate within evil parents to know how to give good gifts to their children.

In contrast, what would you expect from the good Father to give to his children? Even better things. Notice he ends with "give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!" This was a spiritual gift, yet the most essential of all gifts. Most people pray for visible, physical things. But the most important, essential, enduring and edifying things are spiritual.

The Internal Permanent Reception of the Holy Spirit

Concerning the gift of the Holy Spirit, realize what the situation was. For it is written:

On the last and greatest day of the Feast, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, "If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him." By this he meant the Spirit, whom those who believed in him were later to receive. Up to that time the Spirit had not been given, since Jesus had not yet been glorified. John 7:37-39
Up to this point, no one had receive the Holy Spirit in a permanent sense as they would starting in Pentecost. The New Covenant had not been intiated yet until Jesus was glorified, which would follow his resurrection and ascension. But at Pentecost Peter, after having received the Holy Spirit himself, says:
"Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off-- for all whom the Lord our God will call." Acts 2:38,39
The Holy Spirit is received after a person believes.
"And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God's possession-- to the praise of his glory" Eph 1:13,14
This promise was not available to those in the Old Testament nor even to his own disciples until Pentecost. And after Pentecost, it was associated with a person's salvation status. "if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he does not belong to Christ." Rom 8:9

The Holy Spirit doesn't justify us, but rather He gives us guidance and the power to minister and to purify our lives. The Holy Spirit is essential in living the Christian life.

The External Reception of the Holy Spirit

But what if someone who either doesn't understand the gospel sufficiently, or understands it, but is not fully convinced, prays to receive the Holy Spirit? He may also receive it. But not in an internal sense. The Holy Spirit also plays a "Paraclete" role with seekers. "Para" meaning to come along side. In this role he is like the fire by day and cloud by night that led the Israelites through the desert to the promise land. So he leads the seekers into a relationship with Christ. And many seekers can testify the experience of the Holy Spirit, while still being unsaved.


Rap

Suppose at midnight you go to a friend
Ask of him three loaves of bread to lend
For you say a friend has come over your house
And you have nothing to eat, not even a mouse
But the one inside says, "Don't bother me.
The door is locked and I can't find my key.
I can't get up, we're all in bed
I'm not going to give you any bread."
But as he continued to plead more and more
I tell you the man will open the door.
Not because he was his friend
But just to make his pleading end
So I say: Ask and it will be given to you
And if you seek, you'll find what is true
Knock and you'll suddenly find you're inside
Just as the man did because he had tried
Which of you fathers, if your son has a wish,
Will give him a snake if he asks for a fish?
Or give him a scorpion if he asks for an egg?
Is that what you'd give if your son did beg?
If you then, being evil, know how to give
Good gifts to your children to help them live
How much more will God make it his task
To give his Spirit to those who ask!

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Apr 16,2010